We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“would not recommend” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Arts Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel des Arts Amsterdam
Ranked #259 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“would not recommend”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Our family of 4 stayed in their loft room which allowed for 2 twin beds on one floor and then you went up some stairs for 3 twin beds. There was no a/c available and it was very warm, so we needed to have the windows open for air - the problem was the window faces the street (very noisy with trams, people and boats) and the University building across the way had a huge 6 window flashing TV promo, 24 hours a day! No one could get any sleep. The breakfast for 11 euros was extremely poor - hard boiled eggs improperly cooked, stale corn flakes and no toaster for bread. We had to go out after and find proper food. I found the staff friendly and had no problems with them. There was no soap, no tissues, ect. The towels were thread bare and need replaced badly. I can not recommend this hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debora E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    52
    38
    22
    17
See reviews for
35
39
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

First, the guy at the front desk was not very helpful and very rude. The room was terrible. I paid for a double room and got two single beds. The carpet was very dirty, no soap in the bathroom, no air conditioning, linens look like the were there since Noah built his ark.
The location of the hotel is fantastic but I will NEVER stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

stayed here with a group of friends and would definitely not recommend. Staff are extremely rude and inappropriate - knocking on our door telling us to be quiet because other guests were sleeping. It was 6pm and we were talking not screaming! Male owner kept popping out of corners to stare at us when we walked past and also proceeded to stand and stare after I had fallen down the very steep stairs (another compounding factor to this dreadfully run hotel). Owner didnt even bother to ask if I was ok. Rude and quite frankly perverted. No kettle, tea or milk in rooms. Breakfast consisted of a few slices of dodgy looking meat and stale bread certainly not worth €12 or getting out of bed for. Serious humour failure. If they put as much effort into breakfast as they did following their guests around the hotel then they may get somewhere. Complete disregard for their customers which is highly unfortunate due to the central location. Will NOT go back there, NOR recommend. Give your hard earned cash to those who appreciate it in the given economic climate!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kate6891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel and would not recommend to anyone who has a sense if humour .. The staff were rude, and the male manager would linger outside your room to prevent any laughing or talking too loud by banging the door . The stairs are lethal , very narrow and one of girls I travelled with fell down the stairs and the manager stood and watched! Breakfast is a small selection of bread ( no toaster) some ham and brioche . Definitely not worth 12 euros . Wifi is charged at 12euros which after paying over £1000 for 2 nights for 3 rooms is unacceptable . The hotel is in a great location which is a shame to receive such bad service . If you are a group consisting of fun then this hotel is not for you

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gemma26038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile


Horrible experience in room no 5 at the back of the hotel. No free WI fi,kettle but no tea or coffee. Not even a bar of soap and the bathroom could do with a good refurb. No place to sit and no reception area and the continental
breakfast did not include toast or a toaster. Avoid at all costs it's not cheap and I've stayed in better hostels . The only positive about this hotel is the location.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank val0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Ohio
Level Contributor
129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Recent family trip to Amsterdam. They had a family room that can accommodate 5 adults. Three beds are upstairs in a "loft". Fantastic view of the canal and right on the main line of trams coming out of central station. The location is handy and view is great but there can be some noise. The weather was cool and we were able to keep the windows closed. It might require a sound sleeper if the windows had to be open. Staff was very good. Breakfast was included but we never seemed to make it down. Easy to get anywhere you might want to go in central Amsterdam. Small fridge in the room was handy. Try to get a room on an upper floor to stay away from the noise. There is no elevator so be prepared to do some walking. The main bed was a queen (two twin beds next to eachother). I would return there next time.

Room Tip: If you like stairs and a more quite room, try to get an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frs2778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Bristol
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This relatively small hotel is wonderfully situated in the heart of the old city centre.

The staircases are steep (and get steeper as you go higher) but not impossible even with a big case. I was pleased to see that the stairs are duplicated providing an alternative escape route in case of fire.

We stayed in a third floor room with great views over the canal and were very pleased by the good size of the room. We were also pleased to find memory foam mattresses which were far better than some beds I've encountered in some otherwise good hotels. The room was clean and the décor was gently quirky (I liked the gold cherub over the bed) rather than flashy or posh. One downside of staying at the front, however, was the large (it takes up 6 windows) in the building across the canal which ran all night - the light did make finding the bathroom easier so I suppose everything has an up side.

Breakfast, taken in the cellar, was adequate rather than great but the coffee was fresh and tasty.

I think the hotel was short staffed while we were there as we seemed to deal with the same helpful and friendly English lady whenever we came in. The shortage of staff was not reflected in poor service.

Overall we were very happy with this hotel I have given it four stars as a mark against other similar hotels. Don't expect all the bells and whistles of a large modern hotel but if you do choose to stay here you can seem the inside of an old traditional city centre Dutch house and walk to all the main sights.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have wonderful views - higher is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank somersettraveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Residence Le Coin
Hotel Residence Le Coin
#97 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#170 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Agora
Hotel Agora
#308 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#195 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Nes
Hotel Nes
#261 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#269 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Arts Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arts Amsterdam

Property: Hotel des Arts Amsterdam
Address: Rokin 154-156, 1012 LE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Arts Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel des Arts Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing