We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Arts Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel des Arts Amsterdam
Ranked #263 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sidney, Ohio
Level Contributor
129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Recent family trip to Amsterdam. They had a family room that can accommodate 5 adults. Three beds are upstairs in a "loft". Fantastic view of the canal and right on the main line of trams coming out of central station. The location is handy and view is great but there can be some noise. The weather was cool and we were able to keep the windows closed. It might require a sound sleeper if the windows had to be open. Staff was very good. Breakfast was included but we never seemed to make it down. Easy to get anywhere you might want to go in central Amsterdam. Small fridge in the room was handy. Try to get a room on an upper floor to stay away from the noise. There is no elevator so be prepared to do some walking. The main bed was a queen (two twin beds next to eachother). I would return there next time.

Room Tip: If you like stairs and a more quite room, try to get an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frs2778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    52
    38
    22
    17
See reviews for
34
38
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Near Bristol
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This relatively small hotel is wonderfully situated in the heart of the old city centre.

The staircases are steep (and get steeper as you go higher) but not impossible even with a big case. I was pleased to see that the stairs are duplicated providing an alternative escape route in case of fire.

We stayed in a third floor room with great views over the canal and were very pleased by the good size of the room. We were also pleased to find memory foam mattresses which were far better than some beds I've encountered in some otherwise good hotels. The room was clean and the décor was gently quirky (I liked the gold cherub over the bed) rather than flashy or posh. One downside of staying at the front, however, was the large (it takes up 6 windows) in the building across the canal which ran all night - the light did make finding the bathroom easier so I suppose everything has an up side.

Breakfast, taken in the cellar, was adequate rather than great but the coffee was fresh and tasty.

I think the hotel was short staffed while we were there as we seemed to deal with the same helpful and friendly English lady whenever we came in. The shortage of staff was not reflected in poor service.

Overall we were very happy with this hotel I have given it four stars as a mark against other similar hotels. Don't expect all the bells and whistles of a large modern hotel but if you do choose to stay here you can seem the inside of an old traditional city centre Dutch house and walk to all the main sights.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have wonderful views - higher is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank somersettraveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

After having had a mix-up and our reservation being cancelled at another hotel, we searched the internet and found this hotel! We had a great family room over-looking a canal and the streetscape of Amsterdam. Our room was spacious for European standards and had a king-sized bed for us and a cool open loft for our kids with 3 single beds and a skylight. The room did not have air but we did open the large windows and the room was relatively quiet at night. The hotel staff were wonderful and we fell in love with the hotel dogs. Location was perfect- 5 minute walk to Red Light, Rembrandtplein, the Spui, Flowermarket on the corner. The best shopping district in Amsterdam is right behind the Hotel. An excellent place to eat freshly prepared food called La Place is right next door to the Hotel. The hotel is an old canal house so there are lots of stairs! Other than that it was fabulous and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnston4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Upon arrival i was pleased by the look of the hotel, the decor was lovely and fascinating art pieces inside. We were greeted by a lady who was very kind and easy to talk to, she even allowed us to keep our cases in the hotel as we had arrived before check in and wanted to explore amsterdam without having to drag bags around.
the hotel is like an old house, bags of character. filled with narrow staircases and winding corridors. We managed to find our room after dragging our cases up the stairs. I was abit shocked when i opened the bedroom door, I had expected it to be beautifully designed but found it was rather old and worn. The double bed was just two singles pushed together and the bedding was rather shabby. We were placed in the back of the hotel, when i opened the window i could see straight into someone elses bedroom! that night it rained the gutters couldnt take the water, we could here the water dripping onto the floor outside ALL night. wasnt able to sleep much. on the plus side we had a lovely bathroom with a massive shower big enough to fit a football team!
A thing to point out is when you go out in the evening you have to be back by 3am or else they lock you out! the man at check in let us know this, which was not an issue for us, but for some may be. Also felt like a child being given a curfew!
overall the stay was pleasant but i would look again on our next visit to find something more worth my money. i feel the front of the hotel makes it look better and more boutique than it actually is.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 13elenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Very friendly staff compared to other hotels in Amsterdam centre, but they were not that good with practical questions about the city, transport, museums, even few times gave misleading directions and tips these are trivial issues as long as one has a map and, maybe, Google Maps on some electronic device.
Hotel is clean and quiet, single rooms are not small, hot/cold water at any time of a day, no rats or any crawling or flying parasites

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mocialov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Thank you! We came and had a great time (Family - 2 adults, 2 kids 4 years old and under) and had a great visit. The staff are friendly, breakfast was great and we slept really well. The location was perfect, too!!!

Room Tip: We chose not to take a canal view room and it was SUPER quiet :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MmeH52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We booked our accommodation through Expedia which included breakfast. The man on reception at night told us our booking didn't include breakfast. We showed him our print out that said 'includes breakfast' and he said it was wrong. We told him that we paid for and have proof of accommodation including breakfast and he still refused to honour what we booked and proceeded to yell at us and told us to go away. The day staff were nice but no one would honour our booking. They said it was expedia's fault, which I feel they should have honoured the error, as it was between them and expedia. When someone pays for something it should be delivered.
Apart from the rude staff the hotel is good for an average hotel in a good location (about 7min walk to Dam square).

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#162 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#185 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#267 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#158 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Agora
Hotel Agora
#306 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Residence Le Coin
Hotel Residence Le Coin
#88 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Arts Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arts Amsterdam

Property: Hotel des Arts Amsterdam
Address: Rokin 154-156, 1012 LE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #263 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Arts Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel des Arts Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing