We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local Bistro”
Review of Mata Hari

Mata Hari
Reserve with
Mata Hari is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #205 of 3,900 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $26
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
1 review
“Great local Bistro”
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic local hangout with good food and friendly staff. Friday and Saturday nights its packed with hip locals looking for a goid wine and food at fair price points. I highly recoimend.

Helpful?
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    159
    27
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NSW
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Casual relaxed vibe with good food”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Great location on the canal, would be lovely to sit outside in Summer. We were here during cold Winter and the inside was cosy and buzzing along without being frantic. Comfy arm chairs in one window make a lovely place to have a drink and watch the world go by, you can eat here too.
Service was friendly, food was delicious and the price more than reasonable.
Mainly local clientele with a mixed age group. Fun to go to as a couple or in a crowd.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beanie94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fair service terrible food!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I would not recommend this restaurant. Our group ordered the steaks with garlic butter etc.Two to be cooked well done and two medium. The well done steaks were more like medium, the flesh was red with blood juice and.the med ones were more like rare. All platters were served so cold the butter did not melt. We asked for the food to be re-cooked to our specification and to be served hot. Serving staff were very apologetic and said the problem would be rectified. We waited a further 15 mins to be re-served and the food exactly the same way. The manager was rude and told us we cost him 8 steaks, with no offer of a discount or goodwill gesture. We paid a fortune for 4 servings of lukewarm chips!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Sat by the side of one of the canals on the edge of the edge of the Red Light district, this was a great find and a lovely place to have a drink and a bite to eat on a late summer's evening.

The staff were good, everyone speaks excellent English, the beer and wine were reasonably priced and the mediterranean based food was both good and very reasonably priced.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Cosy affordable dinner near Red Light district”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

A great spot near the water, on the edge of Red Ligt district. It has a very domestic feel, it seems as if locals go there and not only tourists. It has nice and simply food and its really affordable. The service was great with really nice waitresses. We will certainly go back there once we're in Amsterdam.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MargaridavLopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mata Hari also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Mata Hari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing