We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“above the old bell”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
Ranked #189 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Oxford
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“above the old bell”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2005

This hotel was great! not sure about the reviews below, but me and 5 mates stayed there for 3 nights and found it perfect for exploring amsterdam. friendly staff happy to accomadate to your needs, even gave us a free beer on arrival! the room was clean, showers were hot and a nice location. so you cant really complain! possibly not for families, but is certainly a good hotel for groups of friends!

  • Stayed October 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick_King
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    103
    43
    17
    15
See reviews for
25
50
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2005

I've just read the previous reviews with interest - my friends and I stayed at the City Hotel in 2001, it's above the Old Bell Pub on Rembrandtplein. We found it clean and comfortable at the time - if it's the same place it must have gone right down hill (new ownership?). The place we stayed had a ground-floor entrance on a buzzer with video entry by the reception, rooms were all 1st floor or above. I really can't believe this place would have "doors kicked in" - the escape route would be terrible... Hmmm, I do recall my friends, with whom I met up with, were taken by their taxi driver to 2 other places called "The City Hotel" before getting to the right one... Are other reviewers confused. A quick goooogle and I've found an alternative place with the same name already - If you're staying at the place above the Old Bell pub you'll be ok!!

  • Stayed October 2001
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoadLite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2004

My boyfriend and I were desperately searching for a place to sleep walking the streets of Amsterdam at 12am one night. We found this place and it was much better than the place we had just left. For the money it was ok. They had skelton toy looking keys locking the door so of course we decided not to stay the following night. It just didn't seem very secure.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2004

We stayed here in August 2004 and had a terrible experience.

The 2 rooms we had were very simple and quite dirty, but it was cheap so we didn't mind that too much.

What we did mind was that my friend had all his valuables stolen from the room on our first night and that I got electrocuted by the exposed plug socket under the light switch.

Also the hotel's "central location" is quite an exaggeration.

  • Stayed July 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2004

robbers !!!

I do not want to blame someone without clear evidences. but due to the their behaviors and threats, they are the one.

At the last week of August , the door kicked and all my valuables gone.
This hotel and their extremly helpful (!) staff really suck

Never and never go there, even pass trough their street.


  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2004

we should have stayed from the 30th july till the 1st of aug but when we got there the place was grotty but three lads did not mind roughing it the rooms were dirty toilets were disgusting we all had a shower each then went out when we returned after only being gone only fifteen minutes to find the door had been kicked in and all our possessions gone i will never return and advise anybody to seriously think twice about staying here because the hotel management certainly knows who did the robbery even the police agreed

Helpful?
7 Thank jasonbirkenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2004

I styed here in June 2003 and I have to say that the location was perfect, walking distance to everything. The staff were really friendly.

Although the room wasn't that clean, there was loads of dust and fluff behind the bed.

I would definitely stay here again for a short break, for a longer break, I'd prefer a cleaner room.

If you don't like walking up a lot of stairs, I would recommend you ask for a room that isn't on the top floors.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#181 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#112 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#295 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#218 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#149 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#110 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Rembrandt Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Rembrandt Square

Property: City Hotel Rembrandt Square
Address: Utrechtsestraat 2, 1017 VN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — City Hotel Rembrandt Square 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City hotel is a cosy family owned hotel which exists already more than 100 years. The beautiful monumental building of the hotel is located in the heart of Amsterdam city centre, in one of the corners of the famous Rembrandt Square (Rembrandtplein in dutch) where the nice sculptures of the Night Watch are exhibited. The atmosphere is as if you were welcomed by family. The hotel is suitable for group of friends, families and youngsters. Children and babies are very welcome as well. A very generous continental Breakfast can be arranged upon request. The hotel is reachable 24/7, our receptionists are always happy to help and will make sure you will have a pleasant stay. The ambiance is full of an intensive spirit all day long and you can enjoy a wide range of popular bars, cafés, restaurants, nightclubs and shops. At a very short walking distance you can reach the Dam, the Flower Market, Waterloo Plein, or to take a tram to reach the principal museums like the Rijksmuseum and the Van Goch Museum. You can also turn to the close canal tour, at a few minute walk. Organised tours are also available to book at a visitor centre just less than a minute walk from the hotel. You have endless possibilities in a walking distance. The Hotel offers all types of rooms, from single occupancy to 8 persons rooms. Most of the rooms are private rooms with private shower and toilet but you can also choose for a lower price accommodation and share the shower and the toilet with another room. The rooms are very clean, cosy and full of light with an outstanding view. Towels and linen are included in the room price. City Hotel Policies & Conditions: Cancellation policy: 72 hours before arrival. Check in from 14:00 to 23:00 . Check out before 11:00 . Payment upon arrival by cash, credit cards. This property may pre-authorise your card before arrival. Taxes included. Breakfast not included - 10.00 EUR per person per day. General: 24 hour Reception. No curfew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your City Hotel Rembrandt Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing