We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added City Hotel to your Saves list
City Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Utrechtsestraat 2, 1017 VN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #179 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“perfect location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights with friends and a child. Second night we supposed to get a private apartment for X money, but they told us the next day that bathtub had broken (huh?) and that thay are giving us a big room and free breakfast for free, which we did not get in the first place. Hotel owner made a face, that we are making up the free breakfast, even though the reception-guy had promised us that. Later things got sorted out and they apologized. Anyway a perfect location for us and quite good value for this money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    94
    42
    16
    15
See reviews for
22
47
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The hotel was great ! We originally booked a three person room but having gained a fourth musketeer we rang and asked for a four person room , this was only a week or two before our arrival and unfortunately there were no other rooms available but we agreed we would not mind having an extra bed put in for an extra 80 euros for the three nights , when we arrived at the hotel we were told there had been a problem and that the room we had booked was not available ......... This turned out to be a blessing ! They upgraded us to one of the flats that they own just a few doors down from the hotel , it was perfect , nice open space , good views over the square and a kitchen and English tv . The flat was situated right in the centre of the nightlife so is quite loud at night but we were fine with it . Lots of good restaurants and bars near by also shops to get food and drinks to take back . Under our flat was a pizza place and a coffee shop , also a wine bar and a wagamamas a stones throw away , seemed fine for smoking as ashtrays in room and we smoked some seriously stinky stuff in there and the maid didn't say a word when she dropped of the towels in the morning ,just smiled and went about her day , got tripping and had a right giggle , re arranged the room into a sordid love pit and made a spag bowl from fresh ingredients bought from a waitrose type shop across the road from the flat , only thing is they only take card there ?! Wtf I know ? Any way top knotch place if you are looking for a cheeky weekend in the dam , lots of coffee shops near by , close to the red light , close to the nightlife . Word to the wise renting bikes and getting so stoned you can barely see really doesn't work out . Peace x

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

I went with my friends last year, this place was in a great location, close to everything you need to visit in Amsterdam. Lots of coffee shops near by . You also have a Starbucks right opposite the place in case you don't wake up in time for breakfast . We got a 6 person apartment suite We were 5 of us and it worked out really affordable. It was around 50 euros per night. Clean rooms, clean toilet. It's a bit noisy at night. But hey, it's Amsterdam I'm sure you all wan the noise :) definitely going there again :) I went there in July 2012.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank r g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
157 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

It is in the smack of the city and you reach everything easily, the price is fair for the quality of the apartment at nr 10. We stayed with 6 friends and of course one toilet is not much but the cleanliness was ok and the personal is easy going. Good to go with friends there

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jopie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This place was perfect! We read the reviews and chose right! Compared to other options, this is considered budget and we were thrilled! The room was clean and spacious enough. Its Amsterdam and who cares how big the room is because you shouldn't be spending much time there. The service was tops! All staff were very friendly, interested and interesting. Always helpful with directions and recommendations. 10 min. walk to Central Station and enough on the outskirts of the RLD(10 min.) walk to keep it quite and feeling right. This will definitely be where we stay in Amsterdam in the future!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GullyWasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This Hotel was perfect; it was great value for money. I find all too often people post negative reviews for budget hotels, you get what you pay for, however City Hotel exceeded our expectations. The room was very clean when we arrived and was cleaned daily with (plenty) of fresh clean towels. The beds were unbelievably comfortable !! The shower was lovely and hot, even in the room shared by 5 – there was always plenty of hot water. You need the bear in mind the vernacular architecture, the rooms are up flights of stairs and there is no lift, this didn’t cause any issues for our party of 7 and the staff are so friendly they will help you with bags. The hotel ask that you hand in your room key every time you leave the hotel, this worked really well especially as we travelled in group – you hand in / collect you key form the reception desk that is staffed 24hrs. All the hotel staff were so friendly; staff provided us with local maps and discount flyers for various attractions, museums and the like. The hotel is perfectly located, it’s in the centre near good coffee shops, bars and restaurants with a tram stop right outside. Overall it was perfect for what we needed was better than anticipated. Looking at booking again before Christmas.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S_Gee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

the staff was Excellent! and helped us understanding the city
the hotel is cheep and located in the center of the city
the rooms are clean
and everything was great
i can recommended people to come and stay at this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Hanan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
City Hotel Amsterdam
City Hotel Amsterdam
#175 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 470 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#166 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#287 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#219 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#140 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,246 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: Utrechtsestraat 2, 1017 VN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — City Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City hotel is a cosy family owned hotel which exists already more than 100 years. The beautiful monumental building of the hotel is located in the heart of Amsterdam city centre, in one of the corners of the famous Rembrandt Square (Rembrandtplein in dutch) where the nice sculptures of the Night Watch are exhibited. The atmosphere is as if you were welcomed by family. The hotel is suitable for group of friends, families and youngsters. Children and babies are very welcome as well. A very generous continental Breakfast can be arranged upon request. The hotel is reachable 24/7, our receptionists are always happy to help and will make sure you will have a pleasant stay. The ambiance is full of an intensive spirit all day long and you can enjoy a wide range of popular bars, cafés, restaurants, nightclubs and shops. At a very short walking distance you can reach the Dam, the Flower Market, Waterloo Plein, or to take a tram to reach the principal museums like the Rijksmuseum and the Van Goch Museum. You can also turn to the close canal tour, at a few minute walk. Organised tours are also available to book at a visitor centre just less than a minute walk from the hotel. You have endless possibilities in a walking distance. The Hotel offers all types of rooms, from single occupancy to 8 persons rooms. Most of the rooms are private rooms with private shower and toilet but you can also choose for a lower price accommodation and share the shower and the toilet with another room. The rooms are very clean, cosy and full of light with an outstanding view. Towels and linen are included in the room price. City Hotel Policies & Conditions: Cancellation policy: 72 hours before arrival. Check in from 14:00 to 23:00 . Check out before 11:00 . Payment upon arrival by cash, credit cards. This property may pre-authorise your card before arrival. Taxes included. Breakfast not included - 10.00 EUR per person per day. General: 24 hour Reception. No curfew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing