We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Hotel Rembrandt Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
Ranked #188 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at the City hotel in June 2013 and had a really good stay. The rooms are very spacious and we had a good view. We stayed on the third floor so climbing the stairs was a bit of a challenge but it was definitely worth it. It's common in Amsterdam not to have lifts.

The bathroom was spectacular. Spacious and really comfortable. We had a bad smell in the bathroom but this got fixed really quickly.

The service is also excellent. Breakfast however is very basic but we were satisfied. Wifi is only available in the dining area but if you're lucky you might be able to get it in your room.

We stayed 3 nights in total and were very pleased with our stay. The location is really good and you can basically walk everywhere from the hotel.

Would definitely recommend the hotel. Not sure why they only have a two star rating. Excellent stay!! :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa.Mley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    102
    43
    17
    15
See reviews for
25
49
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I loved the location, it is literally near everything (directly on Rembrandtplein, next some of the biggest clubs!!)
The room was spacious, considering I travelled with three girls of my age (18) so we all had alot of stuff. Also we had a smoking-friendly room and sometimes we could smell marihuana from the rooms next to us. The biggest drawback was the stairs, very steep and narrow. Our room was on the 4th floor so it really was a workout to get up there!
The reception was very welcoming, but it had two dogs waiting for us. So if you are very allergic remember to take some medication.
Everything else was perfect, really a hotel I can recommend!

Room Tip: Book your stay at the hotel's own website! That way you get breakfast included. Also try to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Overall the actual appartment was grand, locationwise was good, BAD points! The extremly steep stairs.. A girl wit a big suitcase wouldnt have a hope of making the top! The Ignorant receptionist (Blonde women) was just the start of it, she was no help what so ever, we had got 3 keys and paid 10 euro separetly for deposit, on checkout we had lost 1 key over the course of the weekend, She refused to give any deposit back so the €30 she kept!

HOWEVER! 2 weeks after the trip €90 euro was taking from my account without any notice or any permission! after two days i got an email with the receipt, written in Dutch i couldnt understand wat i was been charged for? It was a new door apparent nd the labour costs.. Thinking back i knew 100% i had locked the door myself be4 we checked out so the door was in perfect condition the 2 keys worked aswel... This is clearly a SCAM so i wudnt recommended people stay if these people are charging for doors that aint broke!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eoin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

This was the first Hostel I had every stays at and it was a perfect experience! We traveled in a group of 6. The 6 of us had our own apartment – 2 TV’s, a full kitchen, and 2 bathrooms. It was clean. The owners were very nice, gave us maps, and helped us navigate our way to where we wanted to go.

LOCATION – it is right in Rembrandt Square. Lively and safe…other parts of Amsterdam at night felt unsafe, so I was very glad that our hostel was so centrally located, as opposed to other friends who stayed in Marriott’s in sketchier areas.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank HeadInTheCloudsNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvan Lake, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

My BF and I stayed there September 2012 and I highly recommend this hotel! The staff were friendly, the room was amazing and the breakfast was more than adequate! It was within walking distance to so many wonderful sights. ( we only had to get a cab once after getting lost...lol)
Thank you for making our stay in Amsterdam so wonderful! :)

Sincerely,
Carrie

Room Tip: Check it out..they were still renovating when we were there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingen, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I booked this hotel for my Daughter and her 3 male friends. They stayed for 2 nights in december. They all had a wonderful time and loved the hotel. They were upgraded to a room with a private bathroom. They loved the location and the reception staff were very friendly. They would all highly recomend this hotel. Also the communication after booking was top notch, including detailed directions on hot to find the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayer20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#181 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#291 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#111 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#224 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#103 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#150 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Rembrandt Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Rembrandt Square

Property: City Hotel Rembrandt Square
Address: Utrechtsestraat 2, 1017 VN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — City Hotel Rembrandt Square 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City hotel is a cosy family owned hotel which exists already more than 100 years. The beautiful monumental building of the hotel is located in the heart of Amsterdam city centre, in one of the corners of the famous Rembrandt Square (Rembrandtplein in dutch) where the nice sculptures of the Night Watch are exhibited. The atmosphere is as if you were welcomed by family. The hotel is suitable for group of friends, families and youngsters. Children and babies are very welcome as well. A very generous continental Breakfast can be arranged upon request. The hotel is reachable 24/7, our receptionists are always happy to help and will make sure you will have a pleasant stay. The ambiance is full of an intensive spirit all day long and you can enjoy a wide range of popular bars, cafés, restaurants, nightclubs and shops. At a very short walking distance you can reach the Dam, the Flower Market, Waterloo Plein, or to take a tram to reach the principal museums like the Rijksmuseum and the Van Goch Museum. You can also turn to the close canal tour, at a few minute walk. Organised tours are also available to book at a visitor centre just less than a minute walk from the hotel. You have endless possibilities in a walking distance. The Hotel offers all types of rooms, from single occupancy to 8 persons rooms. Most of the rooms are private rooms with private shower and toilet but you can also choose for a lower price accommodation and share the shower and the toilet with another room. The rooms are very clean, cosy and full of light with an outstanding view. Towels and linen are included in the room price. City Hotel Policies & Conditions: Cancellation policy: 72 hours before arrival. Check in from 14:00 to 23:00 . Check out before 11:00 . Payment upon arrival by cash, credit cards. This property may pre-authorise your card before arrival. Taxes included. Breakfast not included - 10.00 EUR per person per day. General: 24 hour Reception. No curfew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your City Hotel Rembrandt Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing