We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dirty!! Bring your own towels!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
Ranked #211 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Malta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very dirty!! Bring your own towels!!”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the location.

The worst (most disgusting) thing is that the towels and linen were dirty. They do not wash the towels. They just collect them, dry them, fold them nicely and give it back to you filthy dirty. Worst of all, the towel would have belonged to some other person in the hotel.

Me and my friends stayed for one week and on a number of times, we opened the towels to find them very dirty. One day, my friend even found faeces on the towel!!!

I personally had my own towels but when I left them hanging on the bed to dry, the maids took them and they were very different from the hotel's towels. When I asked for them, I got a lot of excuses from the staff and they never returned them. Also, the linen was definitely not clean.

Another thing is that we had a common bathroom shared between 20 people and it was cleaned only once every 2 days.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    107
    45
    19
    16
See reviews for
27
53
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Attleboro, MA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

First..the good..The staff and the location, and i will even say the cleanliness..The bad..those STAIRS...uggh..I think 87 steps to our room..which at the end of a long day in Amsterdam is quite challenging..at my age..also, if you are a big partier you will love the atmosphere of Rembrandt Square, but..I am not ..so it wasnt the best area for our romantic getaway..My husband and I stayed at City Hotel on our honeymoon and thought it would be fun to go back..it was fun..but I am older and more fussy now so I think future trips will require an elevator at my Amsterdam hotel .

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weepinwillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed there for 3 nights and hated it. It was very, very noisy and cramped. We had to check in with the hotel reception every time we came back from a walk or forgot something in the room. We asked beforehand if there was an iron and they said there was, but when we needed it and could we bring it to our room, we had a quick and flat "No", they said we had to iron our clothes in the dining room when people were having their breakfast!! I was so embarrassed, I couldn't be bothered in ironing again and had to spend most of my break in wrinkled clothes. Another thing was, our safe was broken and was quite uneasy leaving our valuables in the hotel. Never, ever again! AVOID!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay if you want a good sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinkerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed here in September for a boys weekend in Amsterdam. We were in the room at the very top of the stairs..... Geez, those stairs !!!! This hotel is perfect for a lads weekend where all that is needed is a bed a bog and a shower. There were clean towels every day and the rooms were clean if a little dated. The Staff were very friendly and helpfull. I would stay here again but not in the room at the top....

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doooozie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We shared a comfortable family room for 5 (3 beds and 1 bunk) - tough to find in Amsterdam. Typical steep stairs to our 1st floor room but my 78 year old mum could handle them. Room needs serious redecorating and better lighting but it was clean with comfortable mattresses. The shared bathrooms were spotless and had a great shower. The location is fantastic. The hotel is on the corner of a busy square full of life, reasonably-priced restaurants and across the street from the coolest grocery store in the world. Walking distance to Amsterdam's tourist attractions and an easy tram straight to Centraal station. We found the hotel staff charming and helpful with no problems using our credit card. Overall, an excellent value for the budget traveller.

Room Tip: Stairs are steep so if you have any issues with climbing ask for a 1st floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margot81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

I stayed here with a group of friends in May 2011, We was spoilt with the weather but not the hotel.

After booking with laterooms.com, we needed to amend the booking to include one extra guest, they said it would be fine and to pay the extra on arrival. Well on arrival the hotel did know about it but had done nothing to sort it.
We was told we had to move a bed from one room to another, now anyone who has been to Amsterdam before knows how step and narrow the stairs are, so this was no easy task. No help from the staff was offered, they just sat and chatted in reception, nice.

Once settled in the room, it was Ok for what we needed. Beds were pretty comfy and the shower worked, but there were mouse traps under each of the beds which is always a surprise to see. Maybe that explains why i noticed on arrival at the hotel they had what seemed to be a resident cat in the reception/breakfast area, walking over the tables and breakfast bar.
We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel for 3 reasons, its was something like 10euro, there are many other places to eat which would be better quality and of course the cat.

Hotel was in a great location on the corner of Rembrandt square, about a 10-15 min walk to Dam square and Leidseplain. If you don't want to walk tram 4 and 9 stop on the other side of the square.

Overall i think the hotel was over priced, as i have stayed in nicer hotels in the city for less. I think the hotel only relied on its location and is suited to stag/hen groups.

Room Tip: Ok for groups but should be cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Orangeclogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Where to begin? When we arrived we were greeted by a very difficult man working the desk who was either lying and trying to steal our cash or just plain misinformed and unhelpful. We had prepaid online with out credit card but he denied this and demanded cash stating that they only took cash and were to go to the ATM. Using the computer in the lobby I pulled up their website showing that they do take Visa. I also printed out my booking receipt which he said was not valid!!!?
There were also other peoples credit card slips with the full name and numbers sprawled out all over the table. So he was obviously lying. And of course this is very personal info to have displayed for all to see.
On top of this my fiancee and I were put in bunk beds! Not what the picture showed or was informed of. And the beds are poor quality metal and broken. Both of the beds were bent and we had to put the mattresses on the floor just to avoid pain. Linens smelled and the housekeeping only dumped off clean towels, nothing else.
Also, you must check your key in and out every time you leave which made us very nervous being that a very suspicious person was left to work the desk.
This place is a dump and WAY overpriced. The Wifi was poor and rarely worked. The only thing good about it is the location.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feleenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#189 of 367 in Amsterdam
358 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#227 of 367 in Amsterdam
282 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#296 of 367 in Amsterdam
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#305 of 367 in Amsterdam
646 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#129 of 367 in Amsterdam
447 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Rembrandt Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Rembrandt Square

Property: City Hotel Rembrandt Square
Address: Utrechtsestraat 2, 1017 VN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — City Hotel Rembrandt Square 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City hotel is a cosy family owned hotel which exists already more than 100 years. The beautiful monumental building of the hotel is located in the heart of Amsterdam city centre, in one of the corners of the famous Rembrandt Square (Rembrandtplein in dutch) where the nice sculptures of the Night Watch are exhibited. The atmosphere is as if you were welcomed by family. The hotel is suitable for group of friends, families and youngsters. Children and babies are very welcome as well. A very generous continental Breakfast can be arranged upon request. The hotel is reachable 24/7, our receptionists are always happy to help and will make sure you will have a pleasant stay. The ambiance is full of an intensive spirit all day long and you can enjoy a wide range of popular bars, cafés, restaurants, nightclubs and shops. At a very short walking distance you can reach the Dam, the Flower Market, Waterloo Plein, or to take a tram to reach the principal museums like the Rijksmuseum and the Van Goch Museum. You can also turn to the close canal tour, at a few minute walk. Organised tours are also available to book at a visitor centre just less than a minute walk from the hotel. You have endless possibilities in a walking distance. The Hotel offers all types of rooms, from single occupancy to 8 persons rooms. Most of the rooms are private rooms with private shower and toilet but you can also choose for a lower price accommodation and share the shower and the toilet with another room. The rooms are very clean, cosy and full of light with an outstanding view. Towels and linen are included in the room price. City Hotel Policies & Conditions: Cancellation policy: 72 hours before arrival. Check in from 14:00 to 23:00 . Check out before 11:00 . Payment upon arrival by cash, credit cards. This property may pre-authorise your card before arrival. Taxes included. Breakfast not included - 10.00 EUR per person per day. General: 24 hour Reception. No curfew. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your City Hotel Rembrandt Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing