We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”
Review of Hotel van Onna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel van Onna
Ranked #198 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
272 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

If you are looking for a budget hotel with the perfect location, a nice breakfast, where you can sleep after spending the whole day walking around the city, this is your hotel.
Now the "not-so-nice" features: no help with your luggage, no elevator, no wi-fi in the rooms (only at the reception), the shower sprayed water all around the bathroom floor and the bed could be more comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    411
    271
    76
    31
See reviews for
136
360
164
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
arlington, va
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stayed for two nights in a single. Be aware that at least two of the "singles" (maybe the only two?) are on the "English basement" level of an annex building that has no wifi -- you have to go out to the main building a couple doors down to use Internet. For some reason I had it in my head that there was in-room wifi (probably from a guidebook) so this was a disappointment.

Positives: My room, facing the back, was very quiet. Great, tranquil location.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank drabwastrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stayed a total of six nights. Located on canal close to Anne Frank house, five minutes to the local grocery store and restaurants and tram, 15 minutes walk from Central Train station.
Breakfast consisted of hard boiled egg, ham and cheese for sandwich coffee. computer available for personal use. two problems was the shower sprayed water all over the bathroom floor and the beds were uncomfortable. went to grocery for fruit and juice for breakfast

Room Tip: the noise level from the street could wake you up
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don101947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
340 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel is located in the Jordan District close to the Anne Frank house. The room was small but clean and adequate for the short amount of time spent in the room. The hotel is about three blocks from the nearest tram stop. Breakfast was included in the price of the room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beerstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed here for six nights in early May. I moved around to 3 different rooms as I stayed longer than my original booking. The 2 single rooms in the main building were fine--on the small side, but ok for me and very affordable for Amsterdam. Maid service cleans every room every day and the rooms and common areas are kept spotless. Wifi signal was ok in the main building but when I moved to the annex it was too low so I used the lobby computer, which was great. In the annex I stayed in room 20--a double on the top floor with a view of the canal. It was a tight twisting journey up the stairs, but worth the sights out the window. All of the people who work there were very nice and helpful. Didit was especially kind and found me a place to stay when they were booked and I couldn't stay any there longer. The location is lovely and close to the trams, also easy to walk to Dam Square and beyond. All in all a comfortable place run by good people.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank li0nheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#134 of 368 in Amsterdam
318 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#77 of 368 in Amsterdam
841 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#121 of 368 in Amsterdam
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#112 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,929 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel De Looier
Hotel De Looier
#319 of 368 in Amsterdam
345 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#80 of 368 in Amsterdam
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel van Onna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Onna

Property: Hotel van Onna
Address: Bloemgracht 102-104 and 108, 1015 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel van Onna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Onna Hotel
Van Onna Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing