We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Hotel van Onna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel van Onna
Ranked #202 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Van Onna is a nice place to stay. Near the Dam Square and other atracttions in the city, with a very gentle staff and a fast breakfast very good. Just P. Attention in the fact that is a old Dutch house style, without elevators. If you have any mobility problem and/or are carring bags with high weight, this can be a problem.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Marcio Aurelio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (952)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 953 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

Very small room and bathroom. No counter space, no closet space, no drawer space, no hair dryer, no complimentary toiletries. Only one towel pp. Breakfast was adequate but the same thing daily. The location on a quiet canal near the Anne Frank House and multiple tram, bus, canal boat stops was wonderful. Good hotel for one or two nights.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank JSchill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Eri S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast was nice - an egg, toast, a little cold ham and cheese. The room itself was clean, though it felt like a dorm room. The bathroom was fine, with a good shower. Linens were very clean. The best thing about this hotel is that it's in a great neighborhood, with lots of interesting shops and cafés and easy walking distance to museums.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We spent two nights in the hotel and were very happy of it.
The neighboorhood is very quiet, and cute. Moreover, the hotel is just near shops, tram, bus.
There's is a wifi connexion and a laptop which can be use whenever you need.
The room (a double bed) is very small, simple, no tv (It didn't bother us at all because we had spend our days in the city and in the evening, our only need was to sleep haha) but a very clean room. The bathroom was very clean too (I was agreably surprised !). We were on the third floor and our room was just located in front of the water, it was very nice and quiet.

Concerning the breakfast, it was very nice too. Bacon, cheese, differents sort of breads, jam, tea (I was in fond of their tea !!), coffee .
The staff was helpful and listening. They didn't hesitate to print our bus ticket.

I'll come back to this hotel for sure !
It's a good place for those who haven't got a big budget.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I was lucky to book this room the night before I arrived. This place is well located in the neighbourhood of Anne Frank's home and I felt safe walking around near dark. My room was at street level and I could smell the smoke if people were smoking outside... Noise wasn't bad except for the elaborate church bells every half hour, which kept me awake, and my matress was a bit sunk in. For a one star hotel I expected at least a flat matress. It's a reasonable price and breakfast is free, but I have been in better hostels than this 'hotel'.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Céline S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#114 of 372 in Amsterdam
346 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#86 of 372 in Amsterdam
882 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#138 of 372 in Amsterdam
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Jordaan
Hotel De Looier
Hotel De Looier
#327 of 372 in Amsterdam
367 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#100 of 372 in Amsterdam
4,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel van Onna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Onna

Address: Bloemgracht 102-104 and 108, 1015 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $102 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel van Onna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Onna Hotel
Van Onna Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing