We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel van Onna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel van Onna
Ranked #169 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Van Onna is a nice place to stay. Near the Dam Square and other atracttions in the city, with a very gentle staff and a fast breakfast very good. Just P. Attention in the fact that is a old Dutch house style, without elevators. If you have any mobility problem and/or are carring bags with high weight, this can be a problem.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Marcio Aurelio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    404
    267
    74
    30
See reviews for
133
353
164
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ATL
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Very small room and bathroom. No counter space, no closet space, no drawer space, no hair dryer, no complimentary toiletries. Only one towel pp. Breakfast was adequate but the same thing daily. The location on a quiet canal near the Anne Frank House and multiple tram, bus, canal boat stops was wonderful. Good hotel for one or two nights.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JSchill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast was nice - an egg, toast, a little cold ham and cheese. The room itself was clean, though it felt like a dorm room. The bathroom was fine, with a good shower. Linens were very clean. The best thing about this hotel is that it's in a great neighborhood, with lots of interesting shops and cafés and easy walking distance to museums.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We spent two nights in the hotel and were very happy of it.
The neighboorhood is very quiet, and cute. Moreover, the hotel is just near shops, tram, bus.
There's is a wifi connexion and a laptop which can be use whenever you need.
The room (a double bed) is very small, simple, no tv (It didn't bother us at all because we had spend our days in the city and in the evening, our only need was to sleep haha) but a very clean room. The bathroom was very clean too (I was agreably surprised !). We were on the third floor and our room was just located in front of the water, it was very nice and quiet.

Concerning the breakfast, it was very nice too. Bacon, cheese, differents sort of breads, jam, tea (I was in fond of their tea !!), coffee .
The staff was helpful and listening. They didn't hesitate to print our bus ticket.

I'll come back to this hotel for sure !
It's a good place for those who haven't got a big budget.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I was lucky to book this room the night before I arrived. This place is well located in the neighbourhood of Anne Frank's home and I felt safe walking around near dark. My room was at street level and I could smell the smoke if people were smoking outside... Noise wasn't bad except for the elaborate church bells every half hour, which kept me awake, and my matress was a bit sunk in. For a one star hotel I expected at least a flat matress. It's a reasonable price and breakfast is free, but I have been in better hostels than this 'hotel'.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#123 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,431 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#104 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,700 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#62 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Boheme
#37 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 949 reviews
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#145 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#107 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel van Onna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Onna

Property: Hotel van Onna
Address: Bloemgracht 108, 1015 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel van Onna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Onna Hotel
Van Onna Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing