We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel van Onna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel van Onna
Ranked #185 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    406
    270
    74
    31
See reviews for
134
356
164
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We were extremely disappointed with the room given to us. So unlike the pictures in the website. Also, guests should be aware that a 5% surcharge is added when paying with credit card except Maestro cards. This should be disclosed in the easytobook website. When staying in the "older" buildings, be aware that guests have to climb a spiral staircase with very narrow steps which make it extremely difficult for travellers with heavy and large luggages. Unfortunately, we were given the room in the 4th floor which appeared to be an attic transformed into a room for 3 people. The flooring in this room is not even which makes guests dizzy when walking inside the room. I will not stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Memett2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Sp
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for three nights, and eveything was great. The breakfast was delicious and satisfying, and the accommodation was justa what we needed. I would definately stay there again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank smoothberries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

We recently stayed at Hotel Van Onna in a room based on four for 3 nights. I can honestly say that you get what you pay for. We paid 570 euros for 4 nights including a basic but filling breakfast. The rooms were also very basic but clean. The room consisted of 4 single beds (again basic but comfy) and a reasonably sized bathroom. Our hotel room was located in the building next door to the hotel reception. To get to the room, please be aware that the stairs are very steep therefore i would not recommend this hotel to the elderly or disabled however you can request a ground floor room. The location was spot on, a 5-10 minute walk to Dam square and a 15 minute walk from the train station. If you have a lot of bags i would advise taking a taxi for around 7 euros from the train station.The reception staff were helpful in providing directions and booking taxis. All in all, we had a very pleasant stay and will be returning back to this hotel on our next trip. I have stayed in worse hotels in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Drawn to the location in the beautiful Joordan area of the city as it is close to Anne Frank's House and on the main canal routes. Rooms are very basic with a tiny bathroom. No TV or tea / coffee.
Wifi didn't work. Breakfast was very basic.

Also don't take a car there as reasonably priced parking is a tram ride away.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TimWestern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#143 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#104 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#80 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Boutique Hotel View
#75 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#112 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,813 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#115 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel van Onna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Onna

Property: Hotel van Onna
Address: Bloemgracht 102-104 and 108, 1015 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel van Onna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Onna Hotel
Van Onna Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing