We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful city hotel”
Review of Hotel van Onna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel van Onna
Ranked #204 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    411
    271
    77
    31
See reviews for
136
360
165
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2014

A nice room we wanted but instead we got a tiny room . My head was reaching the sealing I could hardly stand. The breakfast was very very basic and everyday the same. It cost them max. €2 per head. They would not toast the bread because they haven't got a toaster. The last day we gone somewhere else for breakfast.
Al in all I would choose a different hotel for this price of €80 fer night for 2 person. We felt it was more something for students. The photos we thought were misleading.
Still it is a very nice area to stay. I would suggest find something in this Jordaan area but not this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

If you are looking for a hotel in a good location ,this is definetely your hotel.

It´s 5 minutes away of the Anne Frank Museum , located in the neighborhood of Jordaan.
The rooms are a bit poor/average, and the breakfast is fair enough.

Pay attention, they don´t have any left-luggage ,altough they say in their website that they do.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muquinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2014

clean, very good location in the city down town, good choice when you just need place to sleep-not to spend more then that time in room. not to take rooms with the view on back yard - not enough day light on the ground floor.
good service, nice personnel. excellent for short trips to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Svetlana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This is an excellent no-frills choice if you simply want somewhere clean and central where you can sleep for a few hours after sightseeing all day and being out on the town all night. The hotel is in the heart of the Jordaan district, 5 minutes from the Anne Frank House, tram stops and a canal boat tour pick-up point. Our room and facilities were clean but basic - metal frame single beds, one small thin towel each, just enough room for a small bedside table and an office-type chair each - but no other creature comforts. We were given a small dark ground floor room at the back, and were told there were no twin rooms available overlooking the canal at the front, despite not many other guests being in evidence. That was disappointing, but the convenience of the location made the choice worthwhile.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Fionamac_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#120 of 368 in Amsterdam
337 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#89 of 368 in Amsterdam
860 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#124 of 368 in Amsterdam
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kooyk Hotel
#219 of 368 in Amsterdam
583 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#107 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,968 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel De Looier
Hotel De Looier
#319 of 368 in Amsterdam
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel van Onna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Onna

Property: Hotel van Onna
Address: Bloemgracht 102-104 and 108, 1015 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel van Onna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Onna Hotel
Van Onna Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing