We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central base”
Review of Hotel van Onna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel van Onna
Ranked #204 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This is an excellent no-frills choice if you simply want somewhere clean and central where you can sleep for a few hours after sightseeing all day and being out on the town all night. The hotel is in the heart of the Jordaan district, 5 minutes from the Anne Frank House, tram stops and a canal boat tour pick-up point. Our room and facilities were clean but basic - metal frame single beds, one small thin towel each, just enough room for a small bedside table and an office-type chair each - but no other creature comforts. We were given a small dark ground floor room at the back, and were told there were no twin rooms available overlooking the canal at the front, despite not many other guests being in evidence. That was disappointing, but the convenience of the location made the choice worthwhile.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Fionamac_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (953)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 953 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I stayed 4 nights, even though it is an old building i found it very querky and it was very clean. Staff where very friendly. No luxuries or tv in the room and they are small but you dont really need it anyway. I had a very pleasant stay and i would go back. It has a very good location as it is on a quiet street but also close to everything.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Elisabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Excellent stay. My room was comfortable, aesthetically pleasing, pleasantly furnished, and well-lit, and the location is really fantastic. Great place to stay on a weekend trip to Amsterdam.

Didn't try the breakfast, so I can't comment on that. There are plenty of good places to eat in the area so I didn't feel compelled to eat at the hotel.

Stairs are rather steep, which could pose difficulties for those with impaired mobility (I don't think there's an elevator) but my mobility is fine so that wasn't an issue for me.

I had a great stay for a great place, and I'd recommend this to others looking for the same.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Samuel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Nelsonred
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

If you're looking for a nice and cosy hotel to stay while in Amsterdam... this is the place!
The city centre is about 5 to 10 minutes away, the staff is helpful and friendly and they provide a fair service.
We will go again when we go back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aubarona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An EasyToBook.com traveler
1
Reviewed January 22, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#106 of 372 in Amsterdam
346 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#88 of 372 in Amsterdam
881 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#137 of 372 in Amsterdam
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Jordaan
Hotel De Looier
Hotel De Looier
#327 of 372 in Amsterdam
367 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#102 of 372 in Amsterdam
4,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel van Onna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Onna

Address: Bloemgracht 102-104 and 108, 1015 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $103 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel van Onna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Onna Hotel
Van Onna Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing