We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel van Onna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel van Onna
Ranked #185 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

The location is by far the best thing about this hotel - right in the very charming Jordaan neighborhood, about a five minute walk from the Anne Frank House, but a solid half hour walk to Central Station, so if you have a lot of luggage you definitely need to take a taxi. My pet peeve is showers that aren't enclosed - I can't stand it when the whole bathroom floor gets wet - so I wouldn't be able to stay here more than a night or two, I would go crazy. Some things are just worth the extra money. There are also no shelves or hooks in the bathroom, so you have no place to hang towels or put your toiletries, except on the side of the very small pedestal sink. But it's really difficult to get a room with a private bath for less than 95 euro in this neighborhood, so ultimately you have to decide what you value more. The room itself, as others have mentioned, is very spartan, with a dorm room feel to it; there is no elevator so you better be sure that you can lug your suitcases up the stairs, the gentleman who checked us in made no offer to help us. The lobby and breakfast area is definitely more charming than the room, and includes two slices of toast each, a slice of ham and cheese each, and tea. You're not going to be stuffed, but it's something.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lifesci99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    406
    270
    74
    31
See reviews for
134
356
164
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

CONS:

1. VERY NARROW WINDING STAIRS!!
2. MANY ANGLES IN THE ROOM & BATHROOM!! easy to hit your head!
3. 5% charge if pay w credit card!
4. sparse room, no wifi, no phone

PROS:
1. good location
2. breakfast

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Yulia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because it's location. The staff was friendly and they have ok internet speed. The room is small (ok for european standard) but outdated. I will stay here again because its location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

If this is what 95 euro gets you in Amsterdam I will never go there again. We arrived at about 9 pm and were told we were not staying in the main building but in a house a few doors down. We got the basement room, very small, old fashioned, table and chairs from the 70's, camp beds, window didn't shut properly, when the person above walked around I thought he was going to come through the ceiling, I'm over 6ft so couldn't sit properly on the toilet as the wall in front was too close. My wife and I were only staying one night so we made the most of it. If had been staying longer would definitely have moved somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

For the price I think its a great place to be.
Though I didn't have time to join them for breakfast but it sure looks good
Very friendly staff & very neat
They should just try and fix TVs in d rooms, it could get really boring there at times. But overall I would gladly stay there again.


  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Abiola O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#144 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#106 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#80 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Boutique Hotel View
#72 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#114 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,813 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#115 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel van Onna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Onna

Property: Hotel van Onna
Address: Bloemgracht 102-104 and 108, 1015 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel van Onna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Onna Hotel
Van Onna Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing