We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was all very beautiful”
Review of Hotel van Onna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel van Onna
Ranked #197 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    411
    271
    76
    31
See reviews for
136
360
164
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

On the whole we greatly enjoyed our 7-night stay in July 2013. At first we didn't get a canal view room either, but could change to one after 3 nights, which we appreciated. Yes, the shower IS basic, as Laurelsan wrote, and a refrigerator (which seems to be a standard fixture in hôtels we usually stay in, at similar prices) would be advantageous in the hight of summer. There is no TV, perfectly OK with us. A safe could be handy. Access to a laptop with free Wi-Fi in the reception area was appreciated. Breakfast was not very tourist-oriented: I missed a glass of orange juice to start the day with. All these remarks are meant to show what to expect, not to be off-putting, since what we got, including the friendly, helpful ways of the staff, made well up for the few elements we found missing. For good sleepers - yes, the church bell DOES ring every 15 minutes - we would recommend this hotel without any hesitation, as we would return to it, with pleasure. (I am 71!)

Room Tip: 3rd floor canal-view room is great (remember: no lift)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erzsébet Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Perfect location in Bloemgracht. Clean and simple. Not much place for putting clothes. I loved the church bell music at night from Westerkerk - my woman-friend didn't :-) It was really hot summer, and 3d floor was a bit to the warm side, but still very nice. Cool air from the canal ... And very nice people. Great walk en the Jordaan with Annebelle van den Bergh, arranged by the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night on a quick visit to Amsterdam in June 2013. The hotel is conveniently located close to the Anne Frank House on a quiet side canal - very pretty location. The rooms and breakfast were fine, and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#132 of 367 in Amsterdam
318 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#77 of 367 in Amsterdam
840 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#120 of 367 in Amsterdam
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#113 of 367 in Amsterdam
3,927 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel De Looier
Hotel De Looier
#322 of 367 in Amsterdam
345 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#85 of 367 in Amsterdam
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel van Onna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Onna

Property: Hotel van Onna
Address: Bloemgracht 102-104 and 108, 1015 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel van Onna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Onna Hotel
Van Onna Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing