We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amsterdam Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$309
$292
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$373
$346
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$214
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$374
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Ibis Amsterdam Centre(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$241
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$245
$211
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Amsterdam(Amsterdam)
$219
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$277
$259
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$383
$351
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveler rating
12
4
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
4
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 16 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Rothesay, Isle of Bute, Scotland
12
Reviewed August 4, 2005

Honestly, we could not have asked for anything better. Bas is a splendid host who was extremely informative and helpful during our stay. Our accomodation in the blue room was just perfect for us as it had everything we needed. Bas made sure that we had clean towels every day and was on hand each morning to give us a hearty and varied breakfast. We enjoyed a great degree of privacy in our room and we were surprised how peaceful and quiet the Lodge is at night. That, for us, was a huge bonus. Although we initially had problems finding our way about wonderful Amsterdam Bas supplied us with maps and guidance, etc., and was kind enough to write down his phone number as well should we get lost! All in all, we would highly recommend the lodge so much so that we are already making enquiries about a further stay!!! All we can say is ''keep up the good work''

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2005

We have stayed at Amsterdam Lodge twice. We made our first trip to Amsterdam in April, 2004, had a great time, and fell in love with the city. Our stay at the Amsterdam Lodge was what made that first trip such a pleasure. Good location, quiet neighborhood, comfortable bed, good breakfast, privacy, and our host Bas. We felt so fortunate to have found this place. Bas greets you, and gives you your keys, your own copy of a good map of the city, restaurant suggestions, and any other helpful information, then you are on your own until Bas returns and serves breakfast in the morning. We enjoyed sharing breakfast with other guests.The whole atmosphere is very relaxed, Bas puts everyone at ease. If you are a fan of American baseball, you will have a special bond with him.

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OHgramma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2005

Stayed in June 2005.

Logistics – The hotel is well situated. We got the train from the airport; they run every 15 mins and take about 20 mins to get to Amsterdam Central Station & costs a few Euro. We walked from the station to the hotel with suitcases easily in 20 mins. I had printed a map of the city from the internet before leaving and the owner Bas had also supplied directions, however if you arrive when dark get a taxi or risk loosing your way.

Location – is very good. As I said you are 15 minutes from station and you can easily explore the city on foot if you like walking, otherwise hire a bike. The hotel is on the West of the city in a nice peaceful street.

The hotel – The Amsterdam lodge is on three floors. Floor one is sublet to a small cloths shop. Don’t worry about this I never saw anyone in there and were not at all bothered. You enter the lodge via a door next to the shop and a narrow staircase takes you to the first floor. This has lounge/dining area, kitchen and the first room. A second staircase takes you to the second floor where you have two further bedrooms.

The Staff (Sorry Bas could not resist) – Bas is a great host, very helpful and interesting to chat to over breakfast about you plans for the day. Rooms always clean and fresh towels every day. Bas does not stay in the hotel so you get you own key and come and go as you please. Breakfast was bread, jams,eggs etc and very nice too. When I booked the hotel Bas was very quick to respond to emails and provide details.

The Red Room – This is where we stayed. Very comfortable, with Fridge, TV, hanging space etc. Your private bathroom is just across the hall & while not perfect you soon get used to it.

General Tips – bas can advise on places to eat. We chose a place on the first nigh at his suggestion and had great food, can’t remember the name but just around the corner. Just enjoy – you will miss it when your home.

Would return again.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stuandlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sheffield, UK
11
Reviewed April 10, 2005

We booked this B&B not knowing quite what to expect and it was brilliant! Located in the quiet area of the Jordaan with lots of lovely bars and restaurants. We stayed in the red room, very clean and spacious!! Great breakfast. Bas the host is extremeley friendly and will try and help as much as he can. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Paris, France
13
Reviewed March 1, 2005

We had a great time in Amsterdam last November and part of it because of our stay at the Amsterdam Lodge. The area is peaceful, everything is in walking distance. We had booked the Red Room, large, nicely furnished, confortable and bright, though the (private) bathroom was accross the corridor. The place is very clean. Breakfast is generous with fresh bread every morning and sharing breakfast with the other hosts is quite friendly. Any request, Bas and Anita will give you advice. Good value for money. Very good address.
Anne & Olivier - Paris, France.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews