We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience -- Perfect for our weekend trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boat & Breakfast de Dageraad
Ranked #21 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Sylvia and Theo were the most friendly host who genuinely care about us as guests and wanted us to have a good time in Amsterdam. They were very accommodating for our late arrival. The location was great as the access to central Amsterdam was simple and quick. The breakfast was fresh, healthy, and delicious.
“Boat & Breakfast de Dageraad” was the highlight of our stay in Amsterdam.

Thank you Sylvia and Theo! It was a pleasure to know both of you!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 130 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

We ( 2 couples) lived in this lovely and well- decorated houseboat for 1 night in February. Theo and Sylvia are really nice and friendly, as well as their lovely dog ;)
Not to mention the welcome drink and traditional dutch waffle, the breakfast was very nice and tasty!
We will defiantly recommend our friends to stay at this houseboat when they visit Amsterdam.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Vivian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We spent a couple of nights at this B&B in December. It was very clean and quite spacious. It's located in a very quiet spot and either way you get the impression that it is well insulated so no noise issues if you're a light sleeper. Our hosts were very gracious and friendly. Breakfast was always fresh, plentiful and delicious. The only thing is it's located a little bit further out so if you're looking to get to the area around Centraal station, its about a 12-15minute walk to the tram stop, though the tram journey itself is quite short. We also missed the little things like complimentary toiletries we'd come to expect from B&Bs of this calibre. Also the room wasn't cleaned, beds made etc after the first night though this might possibly have been because it was a short 2 night stay so wasn't a big deal for us. All in all a novel way of spending the weekend and we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank discerningWanderer83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBdeDageraad, Owner at Boat & Breakfast de Dageraad, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thanks for your kind and clear review. I think it's a good idea to start with complimentary toiletries again. I'm going to search for nice little shampoo and soap'.
Greetings,

Sylvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The houseboat is just perfect.The location is also perfect.Just take a bike and your set to go.If your ever in Amsterdam don't miss the opportunity to stay at this lovely boat.The host Theo and Sylvia are such lovely host and they will guide you with important tips for your stay.The stay at the Dageraad really opens my eyes and heart to appreciate more of the lovely city Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isa_amsterdam_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We just had a fabulous stay at 'de Dageraad' boat. Sylvia and Theo are exceptional hosts, the boat is Dutch clean, the boat experience is unique and very comfortable. We rented their bikes and had enjoyable, easy bike rides into the center of Amsterdam. The Eastern Docklands are a very interesting area to walk, to see a different area of Amsterdam with more modern architecture. A great contrast to the busy center.
The breakfasts were awesome. This was one of the most exceptional places we have stayed on our many travels, with hands down the best value of any!
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBdeDageraad, Owner at Boat & Breakfast de Dageraad, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. It was a joy meeting you and having you on board. Hope to see you again some day. Kind regards, Theo & sylvia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I´ve been to Amsterdam quite some times but I have never been to a more fab B&B. The newly renovated boat is a five-star location and the breakfast was so lovely I had to take a picture of it and post it on facebook.
I will definitely be back - I actually can´t wait!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schlumpse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

It was a funny experience to stay on a boat rather than in a hotel. And if you add the welcoming and smile of the owners it gives you a very envoyable stay!
The room was very clean and the breakfasts really tasty. We even settled with a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine!
The boat is located in a quite area and public transports are accessible and efficient.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFValepyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,657 reviews
Volkshotel
#40 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#26 of 338 in Amsterdam
778 reviews
Centrum
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
#3 of 338 in Amsterdam
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boat & Breakfast de Dageraad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boat & Breakfast de Dageraad

Address: Ertskade 2 | 1019bb, 1019 BB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $136 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay on the water in the Venice of the North: Amsterdam. This completely renovated B&B offers two luxury rooms with private bathrooms on this converted barge. The B&B has a private entrance on the boat, there is a breakfast kitchen for the guests, and you can enjoy the grand view of the eastern docklands on the deck terrace on a nice summer's day. Getting to and from the major highlights of Amsterdam (the canals, the museums) takes some easy 15 minutes by tram. Rental bikes are available at the ship. It is the perfect place to explore the city during the day and retreat to this peaceful B&B on the water for the night. If you arrive at the Central Station we can pick you up with our station wagon. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing