We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Boat & Breakfast de Dageraad
Nearby Hotels
$239
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$174
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$314
$258
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$189
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$262
$237
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$396
$313
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$224
$129
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$497
$422
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$294
$213
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel De Hallen(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$181
$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveler rating
123
12
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
12
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bbeautiful boatfloor heatingtram connectioncentral stationboth morningseach morningperfect place to staymin walkrooms are cleanthree nightspublic transportstay there againhouseboathostsaccommodationporthole
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 135 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Theo and Sylvia are wonderful hosts. The boat isn't far from transportation an is in a quiet place. The room we stayed in was comfortable for the three of us(husband, adult son, and myself) and the swan that poked his head in our porthole the last morning! The breakfasts were wonderful and included cheese, meat rolls, eggs, homemade scones and more. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Both rooms have their own bathrooms.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Our 2 night stay on the boat and breakfast was delightful. Theo and Sylvia picked us up from the train station and welcomed us very warmly in their brand new home.
The rooms are spotless, very nice beds, nice and modern bathroom.And breakfast was fantastic!
You can enjoy wonderful views over the river and relax on the deck in the sunshine. The area is very quiet, though very close to the city.
Theo and Sylvia were very helpful, giving us some good advice for our visits. The bike rental is very practical.
And to finish, we were very happy that Theo unexpectedly offered to drive us back to the station!

Thank you and good luck to them!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulinegeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBdeDageraad, Owner at Boat & Breakfast de Dageraad, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you for your kind words, hope to see you again some day.

Warm regards,

Sylvia and Theo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Four of us had a delightful and very enjoyable stay on the Dageraad over Christmas. The experience of being on a Dutch Houseboat was unusual and fun. Sylvia and Theo made us very welcome, they were very helpful with regard to visiting the sights of Amsterdam and available transport . The Houseboat is well appointed and very comfortable. We loved our breakfasts which were elegantly served and delicious . Sylvia and Theo were wonderful, unobtrusive hosts who ensured our Christmas in Amsterdam was a memorable one.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxinamillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were a group of four and so booked up both available rooms on this lovely boat. On arrival Sylvia and Theo were there to welcome us with a complementary bottle of wine. The boat has been renovated and decorated to a very high standard. It is situated to the east of the city, slightly further out then we were expecting, but this wasn't a problem as Sylvia and Theo allowed us to rent a bike each for just 10.00 euros a day. It took around 10 minutes to cycle into the city centre. Both rooms were spacious and comfortable with an en-suite bathroom. The en-suite in our bedroom did not have a door. This wasn't necessarily a problem, but I thought I would mention it. The breakfasts were amazing. Theo made us sugar pancakes one morning which were delicious. We also had croissants, bread, meats & cheeses and yoghurts. This area is a very quiet part of the city; you don't get any of the disturbances of the inner city night life. We had a lovely stay and would definitely like to return in the future. Perhaps in the summer months as Theo mentioned they make use of the water slide into the river!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Absolutely loved our stay on the boat. The room is amazing with loads of space, a great bed and and stylish ensuite. As everyone has mentioned, the breakfast is first class and is really the best foundation you can have for setting out to the town. I thoroughly recommend staying here at any time of year and when you combine all this with hosts that are so very welcoming, we had a stay that we wish could have gone on much longer. Thanks guys, see you next time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickS00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews