We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good”
Review of Hotel Plantage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Plantage
Ranked #308 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Very good. We arrived very late, but the woker was waiting for us .
The woker was very kind. He told me that even after the next day when we checked out they could also keep our suitcase until 11pm.
The room is clean, quiet and confortable with a very big bathroom.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hui l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 515 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay in Amsterdam very much with a big part of that being where we stayed. It was perfect location, homely cosy and the actual building was very cool. We couldn't of asked for better :) Also Rob the receptionist - very nice and helpful!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. We had a very large room with 5 beds. Hotel was very affordable. Approx 20 min walk from centre. A little noisy with the tram stop right outside. Great hotel to crash in! Would stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Steph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

My friend and I, went to Amsterdam last minute and needed a cheap hotel, so we booked in at Hotel Plantage. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms were standard but very clean which was nice. For what we were staying for, it was nice. The only problem is that is it a 20-25 minute walk to Dam Square. However, apart from that, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbie_Grace2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Quick easy book in ,attic room in middle no 36 ,few lights not working nor did our safe,rooms are basic but we only went room only anyway,beds were clean ,you don't get free Beveridges anymore they are 1Euro and the stairs are steep but you expect that in Amsterdam,and walls are very thin you hear everything ,traffic outside to is noisy,easy to get to tram no9 from central station to artis .

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank eviefo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I wanted a hotel where just take a shower and sleep in. So me and my friends went for one of the cheapest hotel in Amsterdam, and have to say we were really impressed. The room was fine, shower and toilet clean, clean towels every day, customer service great, close to tram stop, 15 mins walk to the central station, the neighborhood is great including restaurants, supermarkets and also a lovely park.

I definitely would recommend this hotel to all my friends.

The only drawback was the Wifi. It is horrible

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I don't like to stay in budget hotels. This was the only hotel I could find at short notice that permitted smoking in some rooms - that it was very affordable was a bonus.

My room was 23, quite big with an anteroom as well. The wall to the next room was quite thin, so I could hear their television, and later, their singing. This had all gone quiet by midnight, which I consider completely reasonable. It only occurred on one night, I might add.

The room was fine, with a huge bathroom/wetroom, the view was on to the tram stop (those trams are noisy devils) and a lively street. However, if you are ignorant of Amsterdam's architecture, be ready for some steep stairs which might test you if you are unfit.

The personnel at the desk couldn't be more helpful or friendly.

Would I return? Yes.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W4Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#314 of 375 in Amsterdam
668 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#261 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,586 reviews
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
#245 of 375 in Amsterdam
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#178 of 375 in Amsterdam
965 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
#197 of 375 in Amsterdam
499 reviews
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#134 of 375 in Amsterdam
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plantage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plantage

Address: Plantage Kerklaan 25, 1018 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #308 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $48 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plantage 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the greenest area in the centre of Amsterdam Hotel Plantage offers very comfortable rooms (private shower/toilet, TV, fridge) and apartments for a two star hotel: one single, 4 twins, 2 big rooms for 4/5 persons, one-bedroom- and two-bedroom apartment. Season, mid-week, longer stay discounts possible. Situated in a 130 years old former private dwelling in the beautiful eastern part of the centre called Plantage, which started in the 17th century as a garden, it now features the Amsterdam City Zoo "Artis" across the street from the hotel, 20 restaurants of different nationalities within 50 meters, Rembrandt House, Flee Market, Maritime Museum, Tropical Museum and more within walking distance. Four tramlines around the corner connect with other parts of the city within minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Plantage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantage Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing