We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly nice”
Review of Hotel Plantage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plantage
Ranked #296 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Estavayer-le-Lac, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Surprisingly nice”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We were on a budget, so after reading the reviews we weren't really sure about what to wait for arriving at Hotel Plantage. But it was surprisingly nice! We had a very big room (number 21) which was very quiet. Everything was clean and we had a nice stay.
The hotel is at about 10-15 minutes walk from the center, but there is a tram station just in front of it.

Room Tip: Ask a room that's not in front of the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nemone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    132
    133
    61
    81
See reviews for
50
193
27
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Good location about 15 min walk to dam square but there is a tram stop round the corner too. When first stepping in we did think what have we let ourselves in for but after getting into our room it wasn't too bad at all. Clean beds and clean room which is all we wanted for a 30th bday bash trip to the city. Everything was working. Recommend to anyone just looking for somewhere cheap but clean to stay whilst visiting the city. For a few hours sleep it's toally enough.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrialos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Choose only if you really want to save money on your trip and don't have high expectations
Following is a summary of what you get
The glaring negatives
- The hotel smells of cigarette smoke and on some nights of ppl smoking marijuana (even though it is no smoking hotel but there is no check)The smell also fills in the rooms and galleries and can be very unpleasant for Non smokers
- there is no elevator and too many flights of stairs through which you will have to drag your luggage
- rooms are dirty and smelly
- the bathrooms stink
- bathrooms are too small that you cannot stand straight in it if you have a room in top floor due to the structural angle beams etc. I hit my head twice while brushing and I am not tall

Positives
+ the price is amongst the lowest in Amsterdam near the centrum but you get what you pay
+ free coffee dispenser in the reception area
+ kind old gentlemen at the reception who give good tips and guidance on what to see around
+ location is decent and close to Amsterdam centrum and has good restaurants close by. Also tram 9 passes nearby

Overall the hotel spoiled our Amsterdam experience as everyday we dreaded to go back to the hotel after a nice day out
We stayed 3 days and could not cancel due to zero refund

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Besanc0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Essex uk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Good location about 15 min walk to dam square but there is a tram stop round the corner too. When first stepping in we did think what have we let ourselves in for but after getting into our room it wasn't too bad at all. Clean beds and clean room which is all we wanted for a girly trip to the city. A few bits were not working but nothing major. Recommend to anyone just looking for somewhere cheap but clean to stay whilst visiting the city.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Kayla N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington, de
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were very impressed with the friendly and helpful service. Don't judge this book by its' cover...the rooms are clean, beds comfortable, close to lots of dining options, and easy walk to the center of the city, and also public transportation via the trams! We were very happy to have stayed here. Yes, it has the typical Amsterdam staircases but it was an excellent value for the money.

Room Tip: We had room 23, it was spacious with refrigerator, and wardrobe. The tram does run on the street out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is good for you're paying for. It's not the ritz but its clean and comfortable. We stayed in an attic room and it was more than adequate. There are very steep stairs to negoiate. Its about a 10 min walk to dam square so its perfect for people who dont mind a bit of a walk.

Helpful?
1 Thank crystallisburn
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Worst hotel we have ever stayed in.The window would not close due to broken hinge.No wardrobe to hang clothes..Table lamps not working Generally run down hotel .Expensive . expected a lot more .asked at reception to see manager unfortunately he was not arround.We were the last to check in so may be we had the down and out rooms. Would not recommend this hotel to anybody.

Room Tip: dont go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnperoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#308 of 368 in Amsterdam
653 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#205 of 368 in Amsterdam
258 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#277 of 368 in Amsterdam
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Jupiter Hotel
Jupiter Hotel
#212 of 368 in Amsterdam
405 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Kap
Hotel Kap
#304 of 368 in Amsterdam
207 reviews
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#138 of 368 in Amsterdam
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plantage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plantage

Property: Hotel Plantage
Address: Plantage Kerklaan 25, 1018 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plantage 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the greenest area in the centre of Amsterdam Hotel Plantage offers very comfortable rooms (private shower/toilet, TV, fridge) and apartments for a two star hotel: one single, 4 twins, 2 big rooms for 4/5 persons, one-bedroom- and two-bedroom apartment. Season, mid-week, longer stay discounts possible. Situated in a 130 years old former private dwelling in the beautiful eastern part of the centre called Plantage, which started in the 17th century as a garden, it now features the Amsterdam City Zoo "Artis" across the street from the hotel, 20 restaurants of different nationalities within 50 meters, Rembrandt House, Flee Market, Maritime Museum, Tropical Museum and more within walking distance. Four tramlines around the corner connect with other parts of the city within minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plantage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantage Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing