We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice hotel in nice spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plantage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Plantage to your Saves list
Hotel Plantage
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantage Kerklaan 25, 1018 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Plantage & the East)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #228 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Alvesta, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Nice hotel in nice spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were a little bit worried when we read the reviews here (dirty, rude staff etc) but we decided to give it a go. So we booked the hotel and we had really low expectations when we got to Amsterdam. But we were really surprised when we arrived at the hotel!The staff was really nice, the hotel was in a lovely location, not many tourists and quiet but still very central. We got a balcony room (such a bonus!)wich was in the corner so we overlooked two sides of the street, it was a big room and a big balcony! Yes, the hotel is a bit old and torn, but I have seen worse! We saw a different side of Amsterdam than during our prievius stays in the city. Such a lovely neighberhood! If you need a place to stay, in perfect location (for us it was either way) in the center but still a little bit outside, this is the place. Many second hand stores and waterloopein around the corner.
+ Big room
+ Balcony
+ Smoking ok if you have a smokingroom
+ Location

- We missed the coffee and teafacility in the room, but you could get free hot drinks by the reception

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linnea e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    98
    94
    40
    43
See reviews for
31
142
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights after reading other reviews we were worried but as it was cheap (around £145 gbp) we thought we would give it a try.
I am so glad we did, on the tram from centraal station it seemed ages away from Dam square and the coffee shops but it was litrally 15 mins walk.
The owner was lovely and helpful and couldnt help us enough.
We stayed in a loft room which was lovely and clean and very cosy, owner said we could smoke and smoke weed at our discretion.
There is a supermarket about 10 mins walk away & there a fridges in the room which is great for filling with drinks &munchies. It was a great stay and we are deffo booking again A++++++

Room Tip: If you want a nice quite clean comfy room go for the twin attic room (loft) although there are LOADS...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMrsMaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The positives: Location was good, tram stop right outside direct into city centre, nice places to eat and walk about nearby. Not far from the botanical gardens, market, windmill not far away either. Reception staff were friendly for the brief time when we checked in.

However the cleanliness wasn't really up to scratch. Quite aware it was a cheap hotel, only a bed for the night and a shower, wasn't expecting it to be the Ritz but basic hygiene should apply wherever you are: stained pillows, extra bedding stained, hair in the bathroom when we walked in on the first day, hair under bed sheets. Shower drainage a bit dodgy. No air conditioning, If there wasn't a fan in the room we would have melted during the night.

A bit noisy at night but even a hotel cant control the traffic and peoples on the streets below. But because of the heat in the room the we had to keep the windows open most of the night.

Probably would not stay in this hotel again but would certainly stay in the area, once you get to grips with the trams its good.

Room Tip: Attic rooms are a fair climb up some pretty steep stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aldo1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

You get what you pay for, right? We stayed in an attic room. And thankfully had light luggage. We got there early and owner let us stow our luggage for the few hrs we needed before Checking in. There was no a/c in room so it was hot up there! I couldn't keep windows open due to the noise. (Light sleeper). We did find a fan. Shower backed up, filled w water. We had to ask for soap but owner quickly came up to fix that. Thankfully I did not come across bed bugs! I only stayed here 1 night. I probably would not stAy again.

Room Tip: Don't do the attic unless Its winter! ( it's hot w no a/c!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoseL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Look it's not the Hyatt, so don't book this hotel if you are looking for that, if you want something economical, maybe you're driving into Amsterdam and you have a family, then consider this. Everything worked, the place is old and tired, but we wanted the location and didn't want to spend too much so you have to make sacrifices. Parked car securely 1klm away at parking owner has which was great. If you have a large car forget it as the driveway down is very tight and the bottom corner is sharp. I ad a Renault scenic and we just squeezed in. Hotel is secure with a key required to open entry door into hotel, stairs are steep, but we got one room slept 5 of us, everything worked and we didn't spend a great deal, so we are happy.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Johann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The title sums it up.

Bed bugs - check
Stained sheets - check
Filthy bathroom - check
Terrible service - check

The list could go on and on and on.

The Hotel was in a handy location, but that's where the positives ended.

I wouldn't even wish an attic room on my worst enemy. 12 months on and I still have the bed bug scars.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank johnoamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 days.
The reception personnel was very kind and helpful.
The room we received is a one bedroom for our family of five.
The room was very clean.
Tram is a step from the Hotel and few stations from the center.

Cons: Hard stairs to climb.

Restaurants near by:
Coffee to walk - great place for breakfast - other side of the street (Plantage Middenlaan 44-HS)
2 good Pizza places - cheap prices
1 Hamburger place - expensive

Room Tip: Try to receive a room in the reception's floor. Otherwise you need to climb up the stairs again...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michmich2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Hotel Rembrandt
Hotel Rembrandt
#176 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#240 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#251 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#281 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#296 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#269 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plantage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plantage

Property: Hotel Plantage
Address: Plantage Kerklaan 25, 1018 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plantage 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the greenest area in the centre of Amsterdam Hotel Plantage offers very comfortable rooms (private shower/toilet, TV, fridge) and apartments for a two star hotel: one single, 4 twins, 2 big rooms for 4/5 persons, one-bedroom- and two-bedroom apartment. Season, mid-week, longer stay discounts possible. Situated in a 130 years old former private dwelling in the beautiful eastern part of the centre called Plantage, which started in the 17th century as a garden, it now features the Amsterdam City Zoo "Artis" across the street from the hotel, 20 restaurants of different nationalities within 50 meters, Rembrandt House, Flee Market, Maritime Museum, Tropical Museum and more within walking distance. Four tramlines around the corner connect with other parts of the city within minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Plantage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantage Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing