We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be reasonable.”
Review of Hotel Plantage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Plantage
Ranked #307 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Look it's not the Hyatt, so don't book this hotel if you are looking for that, if you want something economical, maybe you're driving into Amsterdam and you have a family, then consider this. Everything worked, the place is old and tired, but we wanted the location and didn't want to spend too much so you have to make sacrifices. Parked car securely 1klm away at parking owner has which was great. If you have a large car forget it as the driveway down is very tight and the bottom corner is sharp. I ad a Renault scenic and we just squeezed in. Hotel is secure with a key required to open entry door into hotel, stairs are steep, but we got one room slept 5 of us, everything worked and we didn't spend a great deal, so we are happy.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Johann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 498 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

The title sums it up.

Bed bugs - check
Stained sheets - check
Filthy bathroom - check
Terrible service - check

The list could go on and on and on.

The Hotel was in a handy location, but that's where the positives ended.

I wouldn't even wish an attic room on my worst enemy. 12 months on and I still have the bed bug scars.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank johnoamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 days.
The reception personnel was very kind and helpful.
The room we received is a one bedroom for our family of five.
The room was very clean.
Tram is a step from the Hotel and few stations from the center.

Cons: Hard stairs to climb.

Restaurants near by:
Coffee to walk - great place for breakfast - other side of the street (Plantage Middenlaan 44-HS)
2 good Pizza places - cheap prices
1 Hamburger place - expensive

Room Tip: Try to receive a room in the reception's floor. Otherwise you need to climb up the stairs again...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michmich2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

well this hotel is not plush but suits the travelling down to the ground, warm rooms clean linen lovely staff and very private. my son and partner and I stayed there and it was so well situated. although we were in the attic rooms it was cosy and had to laugh everytime we went up and down to our rooms. there is no breakfast but the times we arrived and left if there had been breakfast we would have missed both. there are 2 lovely cafes for eating either side of the hotel door. the trams stop right there too. the little kebab shop a few doors down from the hotel was excellent. the zoo was opp our hotel. only disappointing thing was ann franks house lots of stairs and empty rooms. we loved our trip. the hotel does a transfer at the airport and they book it back for u when u pick a pick up time with reception. there is also a hot drinks machine which is free and sweets in baskets. lovely trip.

Room Tip: room 16 is lovely I had a peek in there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amylaila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

First time to the city so didnt know what to expected but the locatio turned out to be perfect - close enough to the centre to pop in and out, but far enough out its not all bright lights and loud noise :) nice neighbourhood and had lovely walk round the area.
Hotel itsself was lovely, it must of been quiet at the time as our room was upgraded and we had a massive room that would easy sleep 4 for the 2 of us. lovely big windows with a table to sit and watch the world go by
really friendly staff and helpful when ever we needed

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamperedprincess1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Am willing to give this hotel a generous single star, just because its staff is helpful and friendly. These poor folks cannot help they have to offer customer service in this dumpy place. Being a business traveller with pleasant hotel experiences in mid-level category accommodations around the world, I expect that my toilet has actually been cleaned before I move into my room. It is also reasonably to expect that that the carpet is not ripped and the head rest panel of the bed is not split in two pieces. A quick run to the nearest IKEA and purchase of the cheapest furnishings would have been a better solution to the decay of this place than keeping the present furniture that seems to be picked up from the side of the road. Checked another room in the same hotel to see if it was any better but retreated quickly due to the atrocious smell. Let's not start expecting any breakfast facilities. All in all terrible.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Francis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. It was surprisingly pretty good, but then I went in with really low expectations. The room was large and clean, the bathroom was perfectly fine, and the bed was really comfy. What more do you need in Amsterdam when you spend 10 hours a day in the room - and for 9 of those hours, your eyes are closed (we don't have kids, so yes we sleep 9 hours a night).

The hotel is a bit outside of the center of town in a quiet neighborhood near the Resistance Museum (cool place, by the way). However, the light-rail line is just downstairs or it is really just a 10 minute walk to the enter of town.

ONE CAVEAT - BRING EARPLUGS. The walls are really thin in this place, you'll be happy you brought them. Oh and have coffee or lunch at the little cafe below the hotel on the corner - just great!

Room Tip: Room 12 was big and bright. It is just near the lobby though, so again - BRING EARPLUGS.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will Work for Plane Tickets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#312 of 372 in Amsterdam
661 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#276 of 372 in Amsterdam
229 reviews
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#135 of 372 in Amsterdam
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Jupiter Hotel
Jupiter Hotel
#213 of 372 in Amsterdam
410 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Kap
Hotel Kap
#299 of 372 in Amsterdam
210 reviews
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
#242 of 372 in Amsterdam
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plantage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plantage

Address: Plantage Kerklaan 25, 1018 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #307 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $80 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plantage 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the greenest area in the centre of Amsterdam Hotel Plantage offers very comfortable rooms (private shower/toilet, TV, fridge) and apartments for a two star hotel: one single, 4 twins, 2 big rooms for 4/5 persons, one-bedroom- and two-bedroom apartment. Season, mid-week, longer stay discounts possible. Situated in a 130 years old former private dwelling in the beautiful eastern part of the centre called Plantage, which started in the 17th century as a garden, it now features the Amsterdam City Zoo "Artis" across the street from the hotel, 20 restaurants of different nationalities within 50 meters, Rembrandt House, Flee Market, Maritime Museum, Tropical Museum and more within walking distance. Four tramlines around the corner connect with other parts of the city within minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plantage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantage Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing