We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of 't Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
't Hotel
Ranked #141 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not good.”
Reviewed July 26, 2010

This hotel was a disappointment. There was never anyone at the front desk when we needed assistance. The room was tired and old. The bathroom was minute. There was nothing chic or hip about the place. The top room did hold our family of 5 but we checked out after 1 night and found a room elsewhere of equal size.

Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 5travelpros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
't Hotel, Manager at 't Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2010
Dear 5 travelpros,

We regret to hear that you was not satisfied with our level of serivice. Unfortunately, during your stay, our cleaner had to go to hospital due to an accident.
Because of that, our reception was not always occupied, as the receptionist had to clean the rooms by himself that day. Normally our reception is open from 9 AM to 2100 PM to help our guest to find their way in Amsterdam.
Best regards
't Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    88
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
49
109
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We loved our 2 night stay at the 't Hotel in the Jordaan neighborhood of Amsterdam. The location is absolutely perfect. The front desk staff was very helpful and accommodating during our visit. Our family of 4 stayed in the large guest room with a loft on the 3rd floor of this canal house/hotel. Breakfast was delicious! There are plenty of restaurants and cafes nearby. And we rented bicycles just a few blocks away from the hotel. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryV85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2010

I stumbled across this place on the internet because we wanted a Jordaan location. What a lucky break because the location is perfect and the hotel quaint, clean and reasonable prices. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful with recommendations for dining. We will definitely return on our next trip to Amsterdam

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inspector_tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

We stayed at 't Hotel for 5 nights at the start of an 18-day trip through the Netherlands and Belgium. Although we got there early (before normal check-in), they were able to get us into our room after only a brief wait---which speaks to their level of customer service. Our room was spacious and comfortable, and since it was at the back of the hotel, it was very quiet (the neighborhood itself is comparably quiet, too). The breakfast buffet was good---typical Dutch fare, with a selection of cereal, bread, cold cuts and cheese, and juice, coffee, and tea.

While the accommodations at 't Hotel are great, one of the best things about the hotel is its excellent location: it's on a quiet street, a short walk to several great canalside cafes and excellent restaurants in the western canal belt and the Jordaan. The neighborhood is charming, friendly, and wonderful for strolling. It's also a relatively easy walk to Dam Square, the Red Light District, and other areas of central Amsterdam. Mass transit is also nearby, so it's easy to get around the city quickly, if you need to.

Overall, this is a great hotel---it's clean and comfortable, in a great location and at a good price, and run by friendly staff who are ready to help you out.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peterschmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

My husband and I stayed here with friends after a Rhine River cruise. The hotel is cute, a typical old canal house conversion but more well-done than many others. The baths were generously sized as were the rooms. We had the top floor canal view room (the Leliegracht) which is an attic space. Our friends had the more elegant Prinsengracht; both had their own character and the views were lovely. The photos on the hotel's website are pretty accurate.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. One of our suitcases was caught up in the Icelandic ash problem and we had some emails back and forth trying to have it delivered to the hotel before our arrival. The staff was very responsive to our emails and request. Breakfast was in a basement space and was adequate, not expansive but sufficient to start the day.

The location is very convenient to good restaurants and a take-out pizza place that was always jammed. We would definitely consider staying here again if we return to Amsterdam

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

My husband and I planned to meet up with a few friends in Amsterdam for about 5 days. We had been to the city several times and knew not to stay in the overly touristy areas. The t'hotel is conveniently located to everything: transit, restaurants, bars, shopping, etc...

We ended up getting one of the rooms towards the back, while our friends got the canal rooms. I ended up being very jealous since the canal rooms were large and had great views. We didn't spend much time in our room so it didn't really matter.

The breakfast was served downstairs and very tasty. The owner was very friendly and helpful during our stay.

The only drawback was the slow/spotty internet and crappy cable. But otherwise, everything was great!

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

Thanks for a grate weekend!
My husband and I spent the weekend at t'hotel, the location is grate, close to everything yet a quite street.
Very nice staff- their flexibility with check in and check out times was amazing and very important for us.
Nice rooms with large windows, nice bath.
Good breakfast included in very reasonable price.
And as a bonus a grate pizzeria next door

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aditrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Times Hotel
The Times Hotel
#184 of 364 in Amsterdam
421 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#23 of 364 in Amsterdam
943 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#122 of 364 in Amsterdam
3,884 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Canal House
Canal House
#21 of 364 in Amsterdam
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 't Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 't Hotel

Property: 't Hotel
Address: Leliegracht 18, 1015 DE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 't Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your 't Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
t Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing