We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location. Shabby hotel.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of 't Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
't Hotel
Ranked #142 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful location. Shabby hotel.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

The hotel sits on a quiet side canal in the most beautiful and tranquil part of Amsterdam within walking distance of all major sights. The hotel is quite frankly shabby and tired. The rooms are downtrodden although clean. The side of the window frame fell out when we tried to open it.
The saddest part is the breakfast room...it looks and feels like a school cafeteria ...and not a nice one. The breakfast is ok...but could be found in any office cafeteria in any large city. The staff is pleasant and helpful enough...but mostly student types who appear to "hang around" rather than have any professional interest in a "running a hotel."

Room Tip: ask for view overlooking canal...preferably not on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
't Hotel, Manager at 't Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Mrs. Linda,

We are sorry that you felt disappointed by your stay in our hotel.

We did the renovation of the hotel rooms and areas in December 2011. All the rooms were painted and refurbished. We also changed the breakfast room, so the old one is no longer in use. We have new breakfast room on ground floor, which you can also see on our website www.thotel.nl

As we are family-run hotel and all members of family are always trying to concern on our guests to have a comfortable and pleasant time in Amsterdam.

Best regards
Susan
't hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    88
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
49
109
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

This little place has excellent location, clean rooms, comfortable beds, excellent staff. Best value for your money. Amsterdam has two kinds of areas. Area 1: (Train station, Red Light district, brown coffee houses, people who look like they might steal from you) , or area 2 (Jordan district with cafes, great shops and restaurants, close to museums, great people). This hotel is one block from Jordan district. It's on a great quiet street in a pretty area. We loved our stay. Close walk to all areas of Amsterdam and close walk to light rail, grocery store and bank. The staff was very nice. They even helped us when we had a problem with our bank, and they helped print our boarding passes. I would highly recommend 't Hotel.

Room Tip: Like must places in Amsterdam they do have stairs, so if you have problems with stairs ask for room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GreatVaca1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savona, Italy
Level Contributor
335 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Excellent friendly atmosphere in this hotel , located in a really quiete location closed to the main city attractions.
Staff always available for any questions or interesting travelling suggestion.
Rooms spaciously and silent and well lighted exposed, especially the channel side.
Satisfactory breakfast in a confortable adyacent reception room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucianoferro61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sansan22
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

My wife and I used the Tripadvisor web site to find this hotel. We agree with all if the positive comments that were posted. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was nutricious and the breakfast room was quiet and unrushed.

The bed was supportive so that if one of us moved, we didn't wake the other.

The location was close to any place we wanted to visit or to public transportation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sansan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

It's not the Ritz, and yes, it has steep stairs, but it was exactly what I was looking for when I visited Amsterdam. Absolutely wonderful location, walkable to everything but in the most beautiful part of the canal district. Quiet, large rooms (a surprise for Europe) and clean. Service was great as was the breakfast. Excellent recommendations and thanks for the help with the bags! Would return again.

Room Tip: We weren't able to book in time to get a canal view room, but I am sure it would have been great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephsamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Great price for a big and comfortable room. Excellent free breakfast and a perfect location to wander Amsterdam. Will return again one day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave999909084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

We were fortunate and had a room overlooking a canal on a quiet street in a central location. No elevator but "Peter" was more than willing to take our luggage to our room on the second floor. Nice cozy 2 bed room with lots of space to sit in front of full length windows overlooking the canal. Location was great for tram travel and lots of small restaurants within walking distance for a reasonable dinner. Breakfast was included at the hotel and was ample.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Times Hotel
The Times Hotel
#180 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#23 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#120 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,890 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Canal House
Canal House
#21 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 't Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 't Hotel

Property: 't Hotel
Address: Leliegracht 18, 1015 DE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 't Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your 't Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
t Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing