We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Canal House experience”
Review of 't Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
't Hotel
Ranked #142 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We stayed at 't Hotel for 3 nights in mid-April. The location and neighbourhood are wonderful - typical Amsterdam. The steep stairs are a challenge but part of the experience of staying in a true Canal House. The room was clean but basic, in Ireland it would be more B+B style than 3 star. Duvet covers were past sell-by date - rather grey! Breakfast was plentiful and very good and the staff very friendly and helpful. Brilliant location for touring all aspects of Amsterdam especially by bicycle!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 955maryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 234 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2011

This place is perfectly located in walking distance to just about everything and in a very cute both locals and tourists area, right on a canal. The staff were extremely helpful, by giving us directions everywhere, booking us a taxi, carrying our heavy bags up the two flights of steps for us, and preparing a breakfast for us when our flight left super early. The breakfast was a typical European breakfast with a very decent spread of breads, pastries, meats, cheeses, eggs, and fruit juices. The rooms are large and comfortable (we had a double with a bath and shower), but very plain. It feels like a bit high of a cost for such a simple room with very few amenities. But we very much enjoyed the location and the staff, which is worth a lot to us. And the bed was two twins pushed together, so it was large. Definitely check out the Anne Frank House around the corner. And lots of great restaurants along the canals that the staff will help guide you (we also used Frommer's which was quite good).

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SFgirl888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in April 2011. The hotel is in a great location....close to Westerkerk, Dam Square and Jordaan but in a quiet neighborhood that's a respite from the hustle and bustle. Our room was on the first floor overlooking a small courtyard. We had no problems with noise. The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. We only had a shower (no bathtub) but the bathroom was spotless. The free Wi-fi was very much appreciated.

Breakfast (in the basement accessed from outside) was more than adequate....breads, cheeses, lunchmeats, cereals, hard-boiled eggs, fruits and yogurts.

The staff was friendly and helpful.

The only downside to the hotel is the steep stairways. Although there is a stairlift to the first level of rooms, the stairway leading to the breakfast room might be challenging for anyone with mobility issues. Even so, I would definitely stay in this hotel again and would recommend it to all of my friends.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Temuskia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

We stayed at the 't Hotel for four nights with our two young children. The hotel was extremely well located and made it easy to get around Amsterdam. The room was up two steep flights of stairs, which was a surprise, but it worked out just fine. The property was very clean and suited our needs well. The highlight for us was the staff. They went above and beyond to help us - from when we needed to take our daughter to the doctor to helping us celebrate our son's birthday. Our room overlooked the canal and was a bit loud at night, but we were still really pleased with our choice. Overall, we had a really nice stay. It was a perfect "homebase" for our Amsterdam adventure.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amycandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

wonderful three star hotel in Amsterdam. They gave us a room we had not chosen bur this has to be the best you can get for three stars. Very clean, beware of steep stairs if you get room 7 or 8.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theluxuriant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Beautifully located beside the Lelie canal. Small but nice clean hotel with friendly service. Breakfast nothing to write home about but all in all a lovely place in a really beautiful part of Amsterdam

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick_sandberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

I booked this hotel at the last minute when a friend was in Holland for a business trip. I was looking for a nice place to stay, reasonable rates, and in the Jordaan area because of the food choices and neighbourhood feel. The hotel lived up to all the reviews on this site. Because it was a last minute booking, I didn't have a choice of rooms, and next time I would try to get the canal view. We were on the inside but it was still a nice courtyard. The room was tastefully done, no horrible flower bedspreads and curtains, a nice contemporary feel to it. The only thing I didn't like was there was no shower curtain so the water went all over the floor. We were only there for 2 nights and the bed was extremely comfortable. I did notice that in the afternoon and early evening there were several planes that fly overhead, but this stopped by the time we went to bed and I didn't notice anything in the morning either. There is a wide variety of food available for breakfast and they have decent times for you to go and have it! None of this *you have to eat by 0930! You can go for your breakfast up to 1030 in the morning (weekend, not sure about weekdays). The staff were friendly and helpful and when we had a major problem with a cab driver, I was confident that if there were any additional problems they would take care of my friend (I had to leave a day before her).

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandafromVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
't Hotel, General Manager at 't Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2011

Dear Amanda,

Thank you for your nice review after your stay in our hotel.

As we do have brand new bathrooms, the new curtains were not yet arrived:) But they are installed in the rooms now, so no wet floors!
Normally there are not many airplanes above the city, but only when there is a strong wind/storm, there is one particular lane on the airport Schiphol that is in use.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards
't Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Times Hotel
The Times Hotel
#177 of 374 in Amsterdam
468 reviews
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#105 of 374 in Amsterdam
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#87 of 374 in Amsterdam
887 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#12 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,252 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#127 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 't Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 't Hotel

Address: Leliegracht 18, 1015 DE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $123 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 't Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your 't Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
t Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing