We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Home from home .... perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bed and Breakfast Sleep With Me

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bed and Breakfast Sleep With Me
Ranked #27 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Home from home .... perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

I can only endorse the ravings of other reviewers here with my own recommendations of this perfect little B&B.

The property is set in a delightful neighbourhood within easy reach of a varied selection of bars, restaurants and shops, to suit all tastes. The nearest tram stop, with services directly linking Central Station, is just a minutes walk away on the main Prinsengracht canal. A short walk in the other direction takes you to other tram stops giving access to many other parts of the city. That said, Amsterdam is so very walkable and a 10 to 15 minute walk in any direction will take you to many of the places you might want to visit.

The accommodation, whilst retaining traditional elements, is tastefully decorated with a stylishly modern twist; it is extremely appealing!

Your hosts, Jules and Antoine, are both remarkably warm and charming people, and complete the package! They will make you feel immediately at home in your surroundings (although Antoine was sadly laid up with a back problem for the most part of our stay; we hope he's better now!). Jules served up a selection of freshly prepared, mouth watering breakfast dishes each day, to set us up for the day ahead.

There really is nothing more to say; this is just THE perfect place to stay when visiting Amsterdam! We will, without doubt, be back when next in town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CXsjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
128
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights with my husband & a friend. All pervious reviews are accurate as are the photographs. At 79,75 & 75 we were fine with the stairs.They are well lit with hand rails.

Antoine was out of site with back problems. We just saw him once to say "hello". Jules produced
very good breakfasts and was really helpful with restaurant suggestions & bookings. His sense of humour was a joy.

Room Tip: Both rooms are perfect, one obviously has more stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siena82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slave Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is an ideal place to stay in Amsterdam. Best location in the heart of the city, close to great shops, best restaurants, museums. Our hosts were fantastic and the breakfast prepared and served to perfection.
We highly recommend this B&B for any visitors coming to beautiful Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Priscille C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Arrived last Monday 2 September to such a warm welcome by Jules and Antoine with glasses of wine and friendly chat. Everything about the Bed and Breakfast was perfect. Their home is beautiful and our rooms were spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were amazing and every day was varied. The location of Sleep with Me in our opinion is great with lots of bars, restaurants and really nice shops. The tram was just around the corner if you prefer the more lively Dam Square.
Jules recommended restaurants and would book them for us. When we return to Amsterdam, which we definitely will - we will be booking Sleep with Me. Thanks Jules and Antoine for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank v0lley72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent two days at Sleep With Me and wished we could have stayed forever. Jules and Antoine are a dream of hosts. If your luck enough to fine availability at Sleep With Me you wont be disappointed. Perfect location, cute, safe and boutiques everywhere. They are 5-10 minute walk to anywhere in Amsterdam and will help you get there. Every morning we had fresh squeezed juice with a new delicious breakfast. Thank you for having us!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, England
Level Contributor
167 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just back from 3 nights at Sleep With Me. What a wonderful b&b. A traditional Amsterdam house beautifully restored by Jules and Antoine with taste, panache and an eye for quality. Just gorgeous.
We had 'Nice' which is the room at the top. It's absolutely lovely and, crucially, the bed is really comfortable. J&A have also cleverly built a room within the room to create an en-suite with walk-in shower. Everything is of a quality you'd have to pay an arm and a leg for in a hotel. Jules and Antoine are fantastic hosts too. Breakfasts were amazing and changed every day. Jules recommended restaurants and booked what we chose. He suggested galleries and other activities. Nothing was too much trouble. Such a lovely guy (I'm certain Antoine is too but we didn't see so much of him as he wasn't well - sorry Antoine) with a great sense of fun. The perfect b&b host.
The position of the b&b is terrific too. Ok, Amsterdam is compact so you can walk everywhere in half an hour or so but when we're staying in a city we like to be away from touristy areas in a neighbourhood where the locals congregate and which has its own bars and restaurants. This fits the bill perfectly.
One word of caution. The website says the stairs are steep, and unsuitable if that's a problem for any in your party. You're not kidding! They're more like ladders, and we witnessed one guest having to come down backwards. But then this is the city of houses which are 5m wide and 50m high so you shouldn't be too surprised.
All in all we heartily recommend SWM. If we went back to Amsterdam we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: We stayed in Nice at the top and it's absolutely lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A&A_F-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Our first trip to Amsterdam and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Great location which is in easy walking distance to all attractions, or if you feel like having a lazy day its within 1 minute of a tram stop. A charming building which has been renovated brilliantly, the rooms are spotless, tastefully decorated and spacious. Antoine and Jules are amazing hosts, adding a personal touch to our stay in Amsterdam- they were so welcoming and offered great advice on places to visit/things to do/restaurants etc. Breakfasts were delicious and varied from day to day, catering well to individual tastes. I would gladly recommend this lovely B&B! We were both very sad to leave. Merci Antoine and Jules!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie_Harding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Dwars
Hotel Dwars
#22 of 221 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Prinsenhof
Prinsenhof
#44 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
La Remise
La Remise
#38 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Centrum
Amsterdam At Home
Amsterdam At Home
#17 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Vanguard
The Vanguard
#15 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Sleep With Me? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Sleep With Me

Property: Bed and Breakfast Sleep With Me
Address: Utrechtsedwarsstraat 78, 1017 WH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In central Utrechtsedwarsstraat (we truly can not help you pronouncing that!) you find this stylish, comfortable and luxurious bed and breakfast. The charming townhouse was completely renovated in 2011 retaining authentic elements and adding today's luxury and comfort. Most sights are within walking distance and you'll find a variety of fabulous bars and restaurants in every price range on your doorstep. Very typical of these Amsterdam house are the steep stair, which make it unsuitable for those with a physical handicap or for small children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Sleep With Me reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing