We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Check your reservation and the room/houseboat before you pay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amsterdam House Hotel
Ranked #243 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Farum, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Check your reservation and the room/houseboat before you pay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

We had problems already when making the reservation here. First there was what we wanted, a large flat for 4 people. Then there was not. Then the reservation was changed to one of their houseboats. Great for the kids we thought. When we arrived they offered 3 night on a houseboat for the same price. Great we thought. But not at all! The houseboat was located far from the hotel. Not as indicated on their webpages. The houseboat was surrounded by floating garbage, and was itself not pleasant. It was smelling and as the night came, so did the rain from the roof into the master bed. We companied to their emergency number, to the reception and to the owner. Agreed to move to another hotel, we found ourselves, but now they have charged us for the full stay anyhow! Terrible experience. We are trying to get our money back now.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnydeluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    100
    51
    30
    20
See reviews for
27
118
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

This is a very nice hotel with excellent view of a canal for most of the rooms. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The breakfast is quite good also.

On the down side (but less important than the up side) the hotel could do with some upkeep. Also, the rooms are small. Perhaps there could be some rooms with just one single bed for solo travellers since the size of a small room becomes even smaller when a huge bed (unnecessary for business travellers) is taking up 70% of the floor space.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rohit2561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights, we paid 315 euros, our own fault we booked on last minute so couldn't find cheaper price, it was also public holiday in holland. We got the canal view room, tiny room, & tired looking.

The service was great, very friendly and helpful staff, first night breakfast was free and so delicious wide selection of food. Location is good, near the flowemarket and in the quiet street.

If the rooms were better, I'd love to stay in this hotel again due to the great services and location, but to me rooms are very important and for the price you pay it's not good enough.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MiaMew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

A vast window out from the comfortable big bed, looking over the Amstel.

Good breakfast (though it only came with one nights accomodation, which suprised me).

The staff are helpful. Even the cleaner remembered to leave extra tea when I asked!

Happy to return.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asher_rospigliosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed here, based on the recommendation of her parents who had stayed there over 2 years prior (who knew it as the Hotel Eureka). We did not use an agency, we booked directly with them on the day of our arrival. (amsterdamhouse.c o m just call them on skype, its just better) All they had available was a double room at the back of the hotel and it cost us 120 Euro for the night (including the incredible breakfast, which is free for the first day you stay there)
The room was a little small but was very cute and cosy. The bathroom was clean but also quite small. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the guy who worked in the morning serving the breakfast, he seemed eager to make a good impression. (and he did)
The location is great overlooking the Amstel and its nice and quite outside at night but still very close to all the action of Amsterdam. Its also important to note that its one of the few boutique hotels that has an elevator, which really is necessary due to the incredibly narrow stairwells in Amsterdam.
I would definitely stay here again but I'd book a little more in advance in order to secure a canal view.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taki143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

I absolutely loved this hotel. It's probably not for everyone - if you only like modern, minimalist hotels with bright or neutral furnishings, this is definitely not for you, but I thought it was the most charming, friendly hotel I've ever stayed in and just bursting with personality. They have shabby chic down to a fine art (whether by accident or design - who cares?).

The location is superb - couldn't have been better for us, everything was in walking distance. We paid on average €95 per night through hotels.com and then paid the obligatory government tax on arrival. Our room was a nice size, with loads of light coming through two large windows facing the canal, a table and 2 chairs, a flatscreen TV and they had DVDs available to borrow downstairs for free. (I agree with the other review warnings about taking care to get a canal-facing room though, I wouldn't have liked to be in a back room at all.) The bed was sooo comfortable - could hardly believe it, slept like a log, it spoiled us because we moved on to another city afterwards and an uncomfortable hotel bed and we were barely able to sleep at all! For breakfast, they had all the breads, cereals, salad, cold meat, cheese & eggs you wanted, plus tart and pastries for dessert, and it's a really nice touch that they give you a free breakfast the first morning - we ended up having breakfast there again on the 3rd morning because of it.

Granted, there is a very strong smell of smoke (both types) in the corridors, but I don't see how the hotel's management or staff are going to police guests who insist on smoking - it's just not that type of place. We informed them about a problem with the hot water on the first morning (there wasn't any) but by the time we'd finished breakfast downstairs a half an hour later they'd already got a plumber/handyman in and fixed it. It suited us down to the ground, was exactly what we wanted, was very romantic in a old-world way, and I'd go back again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PillowHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights, the staff are VERY helpful and polite. The hotel itself is a bit shabby, the corridors and rooms smell of smoke which in this day and age really is a surprise!! We had a canal view room which was nice, Room 34. The room had a nice size bed and the bedding was clean and it was comfortable. The decor of the room could do with attention, the window sills and frames need a coat of paint, the bed side lights and ceiling light need updating. There is a flat screen tv though and they have dvds you can watch from their collection. The bathroom needs tidying up and the walls need demoulding. The whole room could do with a bit of TLC. We paid £196.66 for the 2 nights so to be honest this was expensive for the standard of the room. They do give you a free breakfast the 1st morning then after that 10 Euros each. Its a substantial breakfast, with cereals, breads, hams, cheese, make your own omlettes or eggs, juice, coffee. The staff are really very helpful and its just a shame the room wasn't a bit nicer because it could be a quaint little place if they stopped the smokers and tidied up the decor. They have free internet access via their lounge computer too. If location is what you want then this is the place, if luxury is important then this is not. We did despite the decor, have a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TNADZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#169 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Nes
Hotel Nes
#262 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#261 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#104 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 987 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#137 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 852 reviews
Centrum
Hotel des Arts Amsterdam
Hotel des Arts Amsterdam
#256 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam House Hotel

Property: Amsterdam House Hotel
Address: 's Gravelandseveer 4, 1011 KM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amsterdam House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing