We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet jewel in Amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amsterdam House Hotel
Ranked #246 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Fremont, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A quiet jewel in Amsterdam”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I have been staying at the Hotel Eureka since the 1970s. It is in a great location just steps away from the Mint Tower and the Europa Hotel. The rooms are comfortable and not to small. Be sure to ask for a room looking out onto the Amstel canal. The best feature are the breakfast that is provided. They have a variety to select from and great coffee to start your day. And to top it all off they have a great staff that bend over backwards to help you in your visit. I have stayed here at least 8 times and look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the Amstel canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomfremont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    112
    56
    37
    24
See reviews for
34
133
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

The Amsterdam House Hotel was our first stop on a week of travel. It was comfortable and charming. It is an old hotel and some things may be a little worn or quirky but I love that. The room was exactly like the picture. It was small, but had everything we needed. The bathroom was tiny too, but expected. There is a lift, not something we experienced elsewhere. It's location is excellent. If you are a walker like me it is only twenty minutes to the museum district and twenty minutes the other way to the central train station. The breakfast room/ lounge is elegant old world charm. The breakfast was varied and nicely served. The staff were great. They were pleasant and seemed to really care. One small feature that I just loved were chairs and tables out front. A wonderful place to watch the canal, have coffee and just let the world go by...so relaxing.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jelmwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We enjoyed three nights in a double canal view room at the Amsterdam House Hotel. The staff is exceptionally friendly, the location can't be beat and the beds and pillows were comfy. The rooms are no frills (with good in-room coffee), but we spent most of our time away. The complimentary breakfast on the first morning was a nice treat. To top it off, the hotel owns outstanding touring bicycles for let...the perfect way to visit the city, once you get used to scooters in the bike paths.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdepaolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We spent a romantic weekend in Amsterdam last year, and were presently surprised by the culture of the city (even if some of the museums were closed).

Amsterdam House Hotel is in a nice location on the Amstel River and is pretty easy to get to from the main train station. There are plenty of coffee shops and restaurants close by, so eating out it easy, and they do a good breakfast too.

Not the Ritz, but hey you're not paying those prices!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveH1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

For €166 a night without breakfast we had expected a bit more, at least comfortable beds. Without a shadow of a doubt, the beds in our twin room were the worst that I or my partner have ever slept in over three decades of travel staying in 1 and 2 star hotels.
When we checked in we were asked to pay for our 3 nights stay in full and in advance before seeing the room - the room was not ready. The room itself was like a linear, narrow railway carriage with two small singles along the side and a window with a view at the end (we had booked a canal view). On arrival having seen the room, I had asked the friendly female receptionist for a room change, was told that this may be possible. I asked again the next morning following my night on a rock hard mattress with plastic covering and was told that it was unlikely - we heard nothing about our request after this.
The best thing about this hotel in our experience was the location, the dog, the charming guy on reception and the check out time of 12.00. Based on other reviews, some rooms (and beds) seem to be better than we experienced. Don't think we'll take that chance again in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RubenIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Benllech, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

This small hotel is in an excellent location with plenty to see and do within short walking distance. Also close to main tram routes. The rooms are tired and not squeeky clean but the front rooms are lovely and light with stunning views of the river Amstel just fifteen feet from the front door! The breakfast room doubles up as a residents lounge area available all day and there are a couple of tables outside, between the geranium troughs. Complimentary breakfast on the first morning was a good idea as you realise straight away that it is very good and there is little point in looking elsewhere.

Room Tip: Front rooms on first, second and third floors are probably the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwylan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

A group of 6 of us recently stayed at this hotel. It is in a great location, central enough to go back to during the day if you need a break from sight seeing. The rooms are small, and definitely of the budget variety and the whole place could do with a spruce up, but what it lacks in style it makes up for in substance. The staff are incredibly friendly and very helpful. The breakfast is lovely and is served in a quaint dining room. The views from the canal facing rooms are really great and the whole place is very quiet. They also have a very friendly dog! Despite my initial misgivings, i really enjoyed the stay and would happily go there again.

Room Tip: the canal facing rooms at the front have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#189 of 367 in Amsterdam
358 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Nes
Hotel Nes
#245 of 367 in Amsterdam
325 reviews
Centrum
Hotel des Arts Amsterdam
Hotel des Arts Amsterdam
#257 of 367 in Amsterdam
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#211 of 367 in Amsterdam
255 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#110 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam House Hotel

Property: Amsterdam House Hotel
Address: 's Gravelandseveer 4, 1011 KM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #246 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Amsterdam House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing