We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A Room with a (Canal) View!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amsterdam House Hotel
Ranked #243 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“A Room with a (Canal) View!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We enjoyed three nights in a double canal view room at the Amsterdam House Hotel. The staff is exceptionally friendly, the location can't be beat and the beds and pillows were comfy. The rooms are no frills (with good in-room coffee), but we spent most of our time away. The complimentary breakfast on the first morning was a nice treat. To top it off, the hotel owns outstanding touring bicycles for let...the perfect way to visit the city, once you get used to scooters in the bike paths.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdepaolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    99
    51
    30
    20
See reviews for
27
118
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We spent a romantic weekend in Amsterdam last year, and were presently surprised by the culture of the city (even if some of the museums were closed).

Amsterdam House Hotel is in a nice location on the Amstel River and is pretty easy to get to from the main train station. There are plenty of coffee shops and restaurants close by, so eating out it easy, and they do a good breakfast too.

Not the Ritz, but hey you're not paying those prices!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveH1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

For €166 a night without breakfast we had expected a bit more, at least comfortable beds. Without a shadow of a doubt, the beds in our twin room were the worst that I or my partner have ever slept in over three decades of travel staying in 1 and 2 star hotels.
When we checked in we were asked to pay for our 3 nights stay in full and in advance before seeing the room - the room was not ready. The room itself was like a linear, narrow railway carriage with two small singles along the side and a window with a view at the end (we had booked a canal view). On arrival having seen the room, I had asked the friendly female receptionist for a room change, was told that this may be possible. I asked again the next morning following my night on a rock hard mattress with plastic covering and was told that it was unlikely - we heard nothing about our request after this.
The best thing about this hotel in our experience was the location, the dog, the charming guy on reception and the check out time of 12.00. Based on other reviews, some rooms (and beds) seem to be better than we experienced. Don't think we'll take that chance again in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RubenIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Benllech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

This small hotel is in an excellent location with plenty to see and do within short walking distance. Also close to main tram routes. The rooms are tired and not squeeky clean but the front rooms are lovely and light with stunning views of the river Amstel just fifteen feet from the front door! The breakfast room doubles up as a residents lounge area available all day and there are a couple of tables outside, between the geranium troughs. Complimentary breakfast on the first morning was a good idea as you realise straight away that it is very good and there is little point in looking elsewhere.

Room Tip: Front rooms on first, second and third floors are probably the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwylan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
146 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

A group of 6 of us recently stayed at this hotel. It is in a great location, central enough to go back to during the day if you need a break from sight seeing. The rooms are small, and definitely of the budget variety and the whole place could do with a spruce up, but what it lacks in style it makes up for in substance. The staff are incredibly friendly and very helpful. The breakfast is lovely and is served in a quaint dining room. The views from the canal facing rooms are really great and the whole place is very quiet. They also have a very friendly dog! Despite my initial misgivings, i really enjoyed the stay and would happily go there again.

Room Tip: the canal facing rooms at the front have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel 3 months in advance. When we got there we were given a room on the 2nd floor but asked to move due to the window opened onto the roof. The staff moved us to the 4th floor which was a lot better
Breakfast was included for the next morning for free. Wonderful staff and a plus they allowed my small dog.
The room is very, very small good just for sleeping. But no room to move around and for 2 people a bit tight. Comfortable beds. The room served the purpose to sleep.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Mona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Good position, lovely people, tiny rooms. Needs a serious upgrade. It's a long time since my room was furnished with a crt television.
Please, new carpets, repaint, new wiring. But it was fun.
Breakfast room great, but no bar. Overall, you would describe the hotel as quirky, however, for the money and the rating it certainly leaves a lot to be desired. Good breakfast.



B
The lounge and breakfast room was great but no bar.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#165 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Nes
Hotel Nes
#260 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#263 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#105 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 987 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#138 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 852 reviews
Centrum
Hotel des Arts Amsterdam
Hotel des Arts Amsterdam
#255 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam House Hotel

Property: Amsterdam House Hotel
Address: 's Gravelandseveer 4, 1011 KM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Amsterdam House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing