We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“it's not a hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amsterdam House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amsterdam House Hotel
Ranked #239 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“it's not a hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Great location, nice staff, questionable cleanliness, no bar, no restaurant,continental breakfast included for one morning only, if you want your eggs cooked differently to boiled you are told to cook your own. I was there for the Amsterdam Marathon and left my expensive sports watch behind, I am finding it very difficult to get the 'hotel' to mail it to me. Don't pay extra for a canal view as you won't be able to see for the condensation, our stay cost €520 for 3 nights.
Trip Advisor awarded this 'hotel' an excellent award, I presume they didn't visit it.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dualta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amshouse, Manager at Amsterdam House Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
This lovely lady came to us with a group of 12 irish friends of which 3 were doing the marathon.
They trashed the place and were more than intoxicated to have any awareness of where they were.
2 days later a friend collected her items back from the hotel so they never had to be send.
She wrote me that she wanted her items, and I told her, her party was not welcome anymore in our hotel.. beware of this group! they will destroy your reputation by just being there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    105
    52
    30
    21
See reviews for
30
122
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax , NS! Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights on the first leg of our three week European trip. This was our second time in Amsterdam. The last time we stayed in the Museum area and glad we made the choice to stay in the canal district as it is very centrally located. Staff we very helpful and friendly. Room was smaller than previous accommodation but adequate. On our last night we bought some cheese and wine, sat outside the hotel and had a picnic while taking in the sights on the canal. Breakfast was good. Every morning when we ate, there was a woman who we presumed was was a guest as well but found out she was the owner. I found it rather strange that she didn't speak to us at all seeing that this was a small hotel. If you get a chance have a tour of the boathouse just across from the hotel and owned by them. From the outside it doesn't look like much but the inside is quite something. Not sure what the cost would be but definitely worth considering as an alternative to staying in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Al W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Hotel Eureka is in a great location. Located on the Amstel river canal in the city center. My wife and I have stayed here 6 times and we love everything about this hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable. They serve a great breakfast. The staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomfremont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband and I, joined by our adult daughter, stayed here 3 nights in early October. We had arranged for two separate rooms. When we arrived, only one of the rooms was available, as the other had to have the lock replaced. We left our luggage in the available room, and went for a stroll and beer in the lively neighborhood. Upon our return, our daughter had arrived, but the other room was still not ready. The management proposed that we take the adjoining apartment, for the same price as the two rooms (which we had already paid for). We were glad we did. Although it was up two steep flights of stairs, it was very large, and had a terrific view of the Amstel canal. It is not beautifully furnished, but it was very comfortable---both sofas and beds. We really did not use the galley kitchen, but did make coffee in the morning. We received a complimentary breakfast (not included in the tarif) because of the situation, which was very good. The location is superb, near Rembrandtplein and Muntplein--from which one can catch the tram to the Centraal station or to museums. Lots of stores, resturants and pubs in the area. Although we did not stay in the hotel proper, the room we did see was quite small, but nicely decorated; bathroom --I peeked---was just fine. I do hope to return to Amsterdam; we will certainly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meridoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Main hotel friendly, compact. If you are put in the newly aquired house at the back then be prepared for dirty bathroom, entrance, previous owners left over belongings (including dog bed kitchen bits post) and to be left to it with no room service for five days unless you ask for it to be cleaned.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel is well situated, close to the the city's vibrant clubs and bars, but it's located in a quiet street on a canal, so it's a great place to start and end the day in tranquility. The staff are very friendly and the breakfast is delicious and served till midday. The rooms are on the smaller side but clean. A pleasant place that's just what you need for a few days' stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackheath41980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Nes
Hotel Nes
#246 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#180 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Centrum
Hotel des Arts Amsterdam
Hotel des Arts Amsterdam
#255 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#111 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Residence Le Coin
Hotel Residence Le Coin
#99 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam House Hotel

Property: Amsterdam House Hotel
Address: 's Gravelandseveer 4, 1011 KM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Amsterdam House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing