We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amsterdam House Hotel
Ranked #278 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Hotel Eureka is in a great location. Located on the Amstel river canal in the city center. My wife and I have stayed here 6 times and we love everything about this hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable. They serve a great breakfast. The staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomfremont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 344 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband and I, joined by our adult daughter, stayed here 3 nights in early October. We had arranged for two separate rooms. When we arrived, only one of the rooms was available, as the other had to have the lock replaced. We left our luggage in the available room, and went for a stroll and beer in the lively neighborhood. Upon our return, our daughter had arrived, but the other room was still not ready. The management proposed that we take the adjoining apartment, for the same price as the two rooms (which we had already paid for). We were glad we did. Although it was up two steep flights of stairs, it was very large, and had a terrific view of the Amstel canal. It is not beautifully furnished, but it was very comfortable---both sofas and beds. We really did not use the galley kitchen, but did make coffee in the morning. We received a complimentary breakfast (not included in the tarif) because of the situation, which was very good. The location is superb, near Rembrandtplein and Muntplein--from which one can catch the tram to the Centraal station or to museums. Lots of stores, resturants and pubs in the area. Although we did not stay in the hotel proper, the room we did see was quite small, but nicely decorated; bathroom --I peeked---was just fine. I do hope to return to Amsterdam; we will certainly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meridoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Main hotel friendly, compact. If you are put in the newly aquired house at the back then be prepared for dirty bathroom, entrance, previous owners left over belongings (including dog bed kitchen bits post) and to be left to it with no room service for five days unless you ask for it to be cleaned.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel is well situated, close to the the city's vibrant clubs and bars, but it's located in a quiet street on a canal, so it's a great place to start and end the day in tranquility. The staff are very friendly and the breakfast is delicious and served till midday. The rooms are on the smaller side but clean. A pleasant place that's just what you need for a few days' stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackheath41980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank A O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The hotel is very well situated, close to the city center, but in a calm street next to the canal.
The main entrance is very nice, immediately gives a warm welcome. In front of the hotel you can just sit and relax, surrounded by petunias.
The room what we had was very small, and a bit dark (the ones without canal view, 1st floor) the shower needs to be renovated, and in one of our rooms the bed was too soft and creaky.
The staff is very helpful, breakfast is also very well done and abundant, however unusually you have to pay everything in advance at the time of arrival, even before checking the rooms and services!
Don't hesitate to choose the room with canal view! It is incomparable with the others even if the price is a bit higher!
We will definitely return, like the grey heron does each afternoon :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madi038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#223 of 373 in Amsterdam
118 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#217 of 373 in Amsterdam
272 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Nes
Hotel Nes
#238 of 373 in Amsterdam
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Hotel Cafe Corner House
#157 of 373 in Amsterdam
434 reviews
Centrum
Hotel des Arts Amsterdam
Hotel des Arts Amsterdam
#248 of 373 in Amsterdam
182 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#117 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam House Hotel

Address: 's Gravelandseveer 4, 1011 KM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $101 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Amsterdam House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing