We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent location-opt for the room with canal view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amsterdam House Hotel
Ranked #238 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Budapest
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent location-opt for the room with canal view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The hotel is very well situated, close to the city center, but in a calm street next to the canal.
The main entrance is very nice, immediately gives a warm welcome. In front of the hotel you can just sit and relax, surrounded by petunias.
The room what we had was very small, and a bit dark (the ones without canal view, 1st floor) the shower needs to be renovated, and in one of our rooms the bed was too soft and creaky.
The staff is very helpful, breakfast is also very well done and abundant, however unusually you have to pay everything in advance at the time of arrival, even before checking the rooms and services!
Don't hesitate to choose the room with canal view! It is incomparable with the others even if the price is a bit higher!
We will definitely return, like the grey heron does each afternoon :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madi038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    101
    51
    30
    20
See reviews for
28
119
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is hotel is rather shabby but makes up for this by the warm welcome from the staff. We were upgraded with out asking to a canal view room and told breakfast on the first morning was complimentery! this was a very pleasent surprise and they served it until lunch time which ment we really had it for lunch as we are late sleepers.The rooms are small but this traditional in a typical tall amsterdam building. the location was also excellent just a short stroll to rembrant square. it is also a very quiet area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edelweiss64-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Dear administrator,
unfortunately we found the hotel very expensive for what it offers in comfort. The twin bedroom was super small and can barely put our luggage. Moreover, during the five days we hosted, the floor of the room and the bathroom was never cleaned. The positive side was that we had wifi in the room and with very good sign.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank dbattesti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol united kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Very friendly staff, lovely relaxing hotel. Accomodation was very good, we had triple room on 2nd floor and we over looked the canal. Lovely wet room, which was big enough. We had a complimentary breakfast on the first morning which was a welcome bonus!! Very close to Rembrant Square just a short walk over the bridge and you are there. The surroundings were pretty quiet when we were there, but maybe in the summer it might be a bit more noiser. The tram stop was in Rembrant Square so only a short walk away. Clean sheets and towels. Very clean room. Very friendly staff they were very helpfull. Good luggage facilities before and after our stay, they have a lock up room, which was very convienent. All in all , a very good middle price hotel to stay in. Very nice toilitries in the shower room. Coffee and tea facilities in the room

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal, very pretty. We had complimentary breakfast first day which wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

A fantastic location on The Amstel. Very close to Muntplien and Rembrandt square and is only a 10 minute walk from Dam Square. This is the place to stay if you are looking for small group (5 beds)self catering accommodation on the water.
Very comfortable and clean with a warm welcome at Amsterdamhouse Hotel on checking in.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nellbell1863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth Tx
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Wonderful experience, very relaxing, great views, and location was perfect. Service was great Simon gave us a comprehensive introduction of how everything work in the houseboat and gave us lots of information on area attractions very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank btm59texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#164 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Nes
Hotel Nes
#262 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#267 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#140 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 879 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#105 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 786 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#109 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam House Hotel

Property: Amsterdam House Hotel
Address: 's-Gravelandse Veer 4, 1011 KM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amsterdam House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing