We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Central location, but in a desperate need for an update” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amsterdam House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amsterdam House Hotel
Ranked #232 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Central location, but in a desperate need for an update”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Stayed here for three nights. The location of the hotel is great, walking distance to everything! 5 minutes to flower market, 20 minutes to Museumsplein, 10 minutes to Kalverstraat.. Also many nice restaurants close to the hotel. But, the hotel is very "worn out". Our room was dusty, the beds was "bumpy", the walls, lamps and chairs were visibly old and not in a good standard. The same goes for the bathroom, where the painting was falling off.. The walls, door and windows are very thin, so it is very noisy, especially during nighttime - because of the central location. When there are people in the hall outside the room talking, it feels like they actually are inside your room. The canal-view is nice though.. The breakfast is also nice and basic. This hotel has a lot of potential! The owners should really upgrade it, at least throw away broken lamps, bumpy mattresses (which for some reason was covered in plastic..) and visibly broken furniture.. The staff is very friendly and helpfull! But, I'm sorry to say that I would not stay here again, until the rooms have been totally refurbished.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room in the end of the hallway - these are small and narrow. Second or third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    105
    52
    30
    21
See reviews for
30
122
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Try getting a front room with view-worth the extra euros!Much bigger and nicer!Good service and helpful for directions.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Aliki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

The location is perfect, and the best thing about the hotel. The staff is also very friendly. Our room was small, and could need some renovation, but for that price our expectations were low so we did't mind.

Would certainly consider staying here next time I'm in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silje_NO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

This hotel is within comfortable walking distance from the station and has a canal-side central location. Although the room had a canal-view, that did not make up for a small room with too much furniture. No double glazing and thin walls made it rather noisy and the bed was not very comfortable. We asked for a sink plug on the first day, but none materialised and the fan in the ensuite didn't work so everything got wet and steamy when having a shower. Breakfast was very disappointing, and would have been 10 euros per person extra after the first morning - certainly not worth it when excellent breakfasts were available from restaurants in the locality.
This hotel could be great (after all, it has a great location) but it looks and feels very tired and is definitely in need of some modernisation - when we visit Amsterdam again we will be looking for a different hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Gold Coast
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

This hotel is very centrally located. It is close to everything. The staff are friendly and full of advise. Rooms are small but we learnt from a tour guide this is normal in Amsterdam.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

When we initially arrived we thought the hotel was closed as the door was locked and inside the building was dark. On the front door it stated it was the Hotel Amsterdam, but we soon found out the actual hotel was a little further down the walk. The door we tried to open turned out to be an old office/storeroom area. I suggested they put an arrow on this door to show where the actual hotel was so tourists like us and others we saw didn't get confused.

When we arrived the hotel was putting in a new boiler and they told us it would be a couple hours before we had hot water. But unfortunately, that was not true and we were not able to take a hot shower until the following day. Initially our room was to be on the 2nd floor overlooking the canal but when my husband opened the door it was already occupied! We were given another room on the 3rd floor which was clean and everything decorated in RED. (We were compensated for our room mix-up by getting the 2nd day's breakfast for free.) The room was large enough with wood flooring, a king size bed and another single bed, a wardrober, free internet, a TV, desk, chair, 2 nightstands one on each side of the bed, and 2 big windows that overlooked the canal. The bathroom was long and narrow but clean. The shower was great once we had hot water.

There is an elevator (lift) which was somewhat scary to go into (at least for me) as it was old and small, and I was afraid of getting stuck in it (we never did). So I took the narrow, curvy staircase up to our room instead. This hotel is rather old and could use a face lift and updated furnishings but it had a somewhat homey feel to it.

Breakfast was free your first day and after that it cost 10 euros. After our 2 days free we went elsewhere to eat as we didn't feel it was worth the money. It was mainly a continental style breakfast with pastries and cereals but you could make your own eggs if you wanted to. with fresh coffee and assorted teas. The staff manning the desk were very nice, friendly and very accommodating. The hotel is in a good location, within walking distance to the city center. On our last night we asked the staff to get us a taxi for our early departure and one was waiting for us. We could not have been happier.

So overall it was a nice stay with a few quirks but in a good location. We definitely will stay here again.

Room Tip: I don't think it matters what floor you're on, you can still hear doors being closed and peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceedie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

We recently spent 8 nights at this hotel and were very pleased. The location, right on the Amstel Canal, was ideal and close to everything. Granted the rooms are small, but our 3rd floor room with a view of the canal made up for it! We ended up eating breakfast at the hotel several times because it was appealing and substantial and if you looked at how much other restaurants in the area charge just for coffee, the hotel rate was very reasonable. The hotel was charming and relaxing, not pretentious.

The best part of the hotel was definately the staff. Everyone was freindly and accommodating, especially recommending restaurants and helping us make reservations at the Sauna Van Edmond in Haarlem. One of the staff even printed us an on line coupon to save us money on the entrance!
We would definately stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms are very small, best to ask for 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rvtravelermiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Nes
Hotel Nes
#247 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#178 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Centrum
Hotel des Arts Amsterdam
Hotel des Arts Amsterdam
#255 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#111 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Residence Le Coin
Hotel Residence Le Coin
#96 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam House Hotel

Property: Amsterdam House Hotel
Address: 's Gravelandseveer 4, 1011 KM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #232 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Amsterdam House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing