We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenhouse Effect

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Greenhouse Effect
Ranked #51 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This isnt some classy ritzy high end establishment, Rooms arent exactly high end, but definitely interesting. However, if you go in knowing that you'll be pleasantly surprised with the staff here. That's the real draw, the locaton, the staff and the atmosphere. Very cool and helpful people working here, and the location is spot on.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    89
    36
    21
    17
See reviews for
6
51
41
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Myself and 3 friends stayed with the Greenhouse Effect towards the end of July for 3 days. Having visited Amsterdam numerous times and staying in a selection of hotels we thought lets get an apartment. I went on the hunt and came across The Greenhouse Effect, although we have been to the coffee shop a number of times we didnt know what to expect of the apartment, we only had reviews and pictures to go with. But OMG, this has to be the best place we have stayed and it absolutely made our trip stand out compared to previous visits. We stayed in number 12 Canal View and what a view. 3 massive windows overlooking DamRak and the canal, with a very spacious living and kitchen area was fantastic. Over the 3 days we had good weather but on one of the days we had a very rainy start but because of the quality of this apartment we were able to relax and wind down by the windows and watch the world go by. Overall a fantastic experience, brilliant value for money and will be booking and staying here again.

Room Tip: Request a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StarLight828311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hessle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Booked 2 apartments Urban Chill & Hill Street Blues Market.

Urban chill was on the main green cafe drag, busy street, great atmosphere. I could not hear the street noise from the apartment as ours was located at the back of the building,great!

Room was boiling but staff supplied a fan, Amsterdam was 37 - 39 during our 3 night stay (perfect).

Room had wardrobe, 2 single beds, lovely spacious shower & toilet. Towels and bedding supplied.

Cooking facilities were 2 ring hob.

Hill Street Blues Market Apartment:
Was a 10 min walk from our friends apartment however this was not an issue as great sights on route.

Apartment was somewhat cooler than friends and was over looking the niewmarket and was directly above a coffee shop, a little noisy but this is amsterdam and we there to mingle!

Supermarket 2 doors away best prices for beer! You pay around 1.50 per bottle. Beware some supermarkets (near canal) charging 3.50 per bottle.

Cooking facilities - 2 ring hob, kettle and microwave.

Bedding supplied & towels.

Great to chill on evening watching street pass you by.


Overall - 140 euros per night which included breakfast. Which was great.


Staff very friendly (Anna was great) and nothing seemed too much trouble.

Would definately use again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luci-fur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed there one night for Eoro cup final, but when we got there we were told they had double booked. However they did sort alternative accomodation and supplied numerous free drinks as compensation. Location was great (although we were located 10 mins walk away), bar prices were cheapest in town and great music and atmosphere.
Breakfast was good but a bit tight for space as back room (smoking bit) was being renovated that morning.

Room Tip: Make sure they have your booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spudz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Arrived in 32c . Very hot indeed.
The bar and 'smoking room' have air-con. This enhanced the very friendly welcome. On one of the most lively streets. Everything as expected and better. Almost vertical staircase, not for the weak of heart, however, I am disabled and still made it. Room very clean, towels fresh every day.
Great breakfast 0900-1200. Help yourself, very relaxed.
Importantly the room had a fridge and fan. Fridge stocked with 'munchies' and cans/stuff.
Tarif on door of fridge, pay on departure.
Staff exceptionally helpful, nothing too much trouble. 5 min. walk from Central Station.
We shall be back.

Room Tip: We only saw our room. Themed 'Arabian Nights' No view. We didn't go for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatty61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed in the 'Urban Chill' apartment, just round the corner from the hotel.

Long hallway leads to small open kitchen leading onto large double room with en suite facilities.
TV, cupboards, electric hob and a decent shower as well as a large fridge and some basic cooking/kitchen tools.

Shower good and bathroom fine.

The room itself is large and backs onto the middle of a small residential square with the Oude kerk as a backdrop. The bells chime every 15 minutes, but it is a pleasant and un-intrusive sound.

Location could simply not be any better, located bang in the middle of all the action but without the intense noise. Discount in the shop and at the fantastic bar round the corner.. really is one of the best places to chill in A'dam.

Staff first rate, Jonathan is a legend.

Breakfast average, decent coffee and some breads, cereals ham and cheese plus some juices.

If noise bothers you bring some ear plugs but it's really not that bad, a fantastic little gem to stay in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in 2 x 4 bed apartments and I cannot fault anything about our stay. Yes there are some steep stairs but hey it's Amsterdam and there's steep stairs in most residential buildings! Rooms were clean, tidy, well presented and both had views over the canal. Not noisy in the slightest but then we didn't sleep much! Breakfast is included and was delicious, staff are very friendly also... If we do go back I certainly wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susiev2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#141 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,120 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#59 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 894 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#186 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Frisco Inn Bar Hotel
Frisco Inn Bar Hotel
#169 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#104 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,038 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenhouse Effect? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenhouse Effect

Property: The Greenhouse Effect
Address: Warmoesstraat 55, 1012 HW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Greenhouse Effect 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Greenhouse Effect reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenhouse Effect Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing