We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Greenhouse Effect
Ranked #51 of 237 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

A stayed in a Mary Jane triple room with 2 friends, for 2 nights.
The room was ok considering the price, but was like sleeping in the middle of a building site.

The rooms are above a bar, which was perfect.
The staff were great, and you get a nice little discount on drinks if you are a guest.
Breakfast was nice as well.

The location was good, slap bang in the middle of everything.
If you are looking for a budget friendly room, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perry-cfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 294 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

The evening before our travel, I received a call to confirm my stay. I took this as a courtesy call.
We spent the whole day at Keukenhof and turned up at about 8PM.
We were given the key and directed to a place in the next lane.
I was with my parents, who are 55 and 62.
After dragging our luggage up 2 floors through a narrow spiral stairway, we noticed that the "room" just had a sofa! There were a couple of closed doors, so assuming that we had missed the keys to the bedroom, I went back to the bar (which doubles as the reception). The girl called the owner and after about 30 minutes, I was informed that "it WAS the room".
Their explanation: There was a double booking through booking.com and the emergency spare room (for cases like this) wasn't readied for us.
We waited another hour while the girl dragged a foldable bed and mattress up the staircase by herself.
The sofa became a double bed and the girl readied the sheets as best as she could.

We got enough apologies from her and also from the guy who was supposed to have readied this spare emergency room for us.

Even if a single review may not matter, this comes straight from the horse's mouth.
I travel to Amsterdam with friends and colleagues once or twice every couple of months or more, and will never go to this place even if it gets a 10/10 rating.

Replies from the management are not welcome.

Room Tip: There are probably no good rooms, so tips will not help! Nevertheless: right in the red light distr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RRay84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

6 of us stayed at the hotel for just 1 night in April. The rooms are basic but clean and tidy and certainly adequate. I found the staff, unlike some other reviewers, very friendly and polite, they helped with where to go and what to do to make our stay a great experience! The price was a very reasonable 35 Euros each which included a very good breakfast. For a great atmosphere in the heart of the city this is an excellent place to stay! The beds were very comfortable, I would advise staying in the actual hotel rather than the other accommodation, this is only to enjoy the atmosphere more!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

If you are looking for a good base to explore Amsterdam give this place a wide berth. The owners are very rude and demand your money for the room when you arrive. If we had not paid up front we would have left after the first night. We had a nest of ants in our kitchen unit and my complaints fell on deaf ears. The stairs up to the appt were like climbing an old rickety ladder. The furniture looked as if it had been bought from a junk shop ! The only decent thing was the shower. They advertise a late breakfast service but we were refused at 10.45.I,ve stayed in Amsterdam on 5 occasions and this was by far the Worst. For 50 Euro pppn this was a total Rip Off

Room Tip: Avoid the appartments like the plague
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Breeks_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The nightmare started from the moment we tried to check inn. The staff were abrupt rude and not very professional to say the least. They made us wait till all our party had arrived even though we travelled from many different countries on different flights. The apartments themselves were very dated and could have done with a good scrub and a lick of paint. Many of the fixtures and fittings had been shabbily repaired. The staff were unhelpful and rude during our whole stay. In hindsight I wish we had just left and went elsewhere. It got to the stage where I was thinking " I'm never comming back to Amsterdam. The checking out process was as long and upsetting as checking in. Avoid this place at all cost.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Spikedug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed one night here, just enjoying breakfast now and decided that, for 70€,this place is a find :) rooms are basic but fun and clean, surprisingly the noise wasn't bad at all for saying I slept above a coffee shop and there's a fan provided in the room if you get hot. Plenty of hot water for showers, discounts at bar, nice breakfast and good coffee :) room key deposit is needed tho - 30€ or your passport

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouCamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

DO NOT GO HERE

Avoid this bar and appartments at all costs. Cheap, Run down, dated, unfriendly are just some of the words i would use to describe the place. The bar has some of the rudest bar staff that i have ever encountered in my life. They provide appartments of 4 but do not give you enough keys to get into them. Hence you are left out on the street as the main door to the appartments is always locked. And god forbid if you attempt to go into the bar and get a key!! Horrible atmosphere about the whole place. Anybody that is even contemplating going here please reconsider because you will regret it.
HELLHOLE

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Kev T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#245 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,511 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Frisco Inn Bar Hotel
Frisco Inn Bar Hotel
#206 of 372 in Amsterdam
439 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#146 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#68 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,055 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#235 of 372 in Amsterdam
452 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#58 of 372 in Amsterdam
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenhouse Effect? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenhouse Effect

Address: Warmoesstraat 55, 1012 HW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 237 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: $77 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Greenhouse Effect 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Greenhouse Effect reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenhouse Effect Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing