We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel and Coffeebar!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Greenhouse Effect
Ranked #46 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel and Coffeebar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. We had a three bed room (which could have really been a four bed). Each room has a different theme, ours was a sailors theme. Everything was clean and a very good standard. The hotel is really small, but they make really good use of space! There is a mini-fridge, be-aware! Buy your own snacks, because you will get a serious case of the munchies! The bar and coffeebar was always busy and had a nice chilled atmosphere. The staff are really nice and helpful. We went when it was freezing cold so it was nice to have the heat on full blast!

Its located on Wamoerstraat, the street directly behind teh red light district. I thought the location was PERFECT! a five minute walk to the train station. However, one of my friends was a bit concerned because we were so near the red light district and there were more males around than females.

The men were a bit pervy, but not threatening in any shape or form. I actually felt quite safe where we were because it was always busy!

Oh yeah, with Holland all the stairs are really narrow and steep, so becareful!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nazbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    97
    36
    22
    17
See reviews for
7
55
44
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Went in here for a joint , having not smoked for a few years wanted to feel no pressure and be comfortable , felt exactly that , the man in there was friendly and helpful and knew his stuff . Had a lovely mint tea , also seemed a non tourist coffeeshop

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louloumadgirl1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frostburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Heading back for my 4th stay. Very good place; central, delightful people to deal with. Don't want to brag too much for fear of GHE getting such a high rating that My 5th time will be shut out! Geez, TripAdvisor has this 200 character minimum. Am I there yet?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brisbaneharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the Greenhouse Effect for 3 nights and we had no complaints whatsoever. We arrived early Friday morning and thought we would have to wait around as we believed check in was at 14:00, however the room was ready and waiting for us which saved us having to carry our luggage around the city for hours.
Our room '1001 Arabian Nights' wasn’t very big but it was clean/tidy and the beds/pillows were very comfy. Being able to smoke in the room was a bonus (as long as the window is open) and the room when you initially walk in doesn’t smell like an ashtray as some may think. The only negative i would have is if you intend to go asleep before 11:00 it may be difficult as the music from the bar downstairs does travel up and tends to be quite annoying if you’re a light sleeper.

The hotel is right in amongst everything, about a 10 minute walk to the red light district and a 15 minute walk in the other direction to the central station. The street the Greenhouse is down always seemed to be lively and had a great atmosphere at night. Would tell anyone to go there and if i went back i'd definitely stay again. Had a great time!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Bum_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OXFORD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have stayed at the greenhouse effect many times and have always been happy with my stay, the rooms and bathrooms are always very clean and tidy ,but its the staff that make this a great place always helpful friendly and welcoming if you like a smoke and want a nice bar or coffee shop to hang out in this is the place for you and being able to smoke in the room is great as very few hotels let you now . the hotel is only 5 minutes away from the train station so very easy to get to I will be staying again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OxfordMonkeyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

For a bar in the middle of the tourist ridden Warmoesstraat, Greenhouse Effect is refreshingly decent. Everytime i've been in, always good music on the go, or live DJ's in the evening. You're welcome to smoke in the bars too :) Loads of interesting locals in the evening, we've struck up chats with.
As for the comment about the Aussie/Kiwi barman ripping off someone for 15 euros, I don't believe that for a second! Everytime we've been in Greenhouse Effect, we've always been served by the curly haired Aussie, and he's always been helpful, efficient & trusting, even after a night when we had far too much Jagermeister & Silver Haze, the barman always looked after us well, and could be trusted to give us the correct change. Great, lovely staff in here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Great location, friendly staff, cool room and really good breakfasts. Shared shower room but clean and okay. All the rooms are decorated in different styles. Ours was swinging sixties. Over a cafe/bar, that's where you checkin. Was a bit dubious at first with no reception but they were really organised and great!

The noise but hey! it was to be expected. May ask for a room at the back of the hotel next time. Need to be prepared to climb almost vertical stairs (with your bags!)

Room Tip: May ask for a room at the back of the hotel next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank An1e_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#139 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#70 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#117 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Frisco Inn Bar Hotel
Frisco Inn Bar Hotel
#186 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#228 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#238 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenhouse Effect? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenhouse Effect

Property: The Greenhouse Effect
Address: Warmoesstraat 55, 1012 HW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Greenhouse Effect 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Greenhouse Effect reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenhouse Effect Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing