We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj Indian

Taj Indian
Ranked #67 of 3,727 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: De Pijp
Description: We are traditional North-Indian restaurant specialist in Tandoori oven, Curry, Vegatarian, Birriani's and traditional North-Indian breads. We also have special desserts and drinks.
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

We found this restaurant via Tripadvisor in the first place - it's just a 10 minute walk from Museumplein.
We arrived on a busy Saturday evening but only waited 5 minutes before a table was made available for us.
The menu includes most of the typical meals we would expect at home, and I chose the lamb Rogan Josh, which was the best I've ever had! My onion Bhaji starter was excellent, too. My sister had two vegetarian starters for a main course, including a Dal and a Bhindi Bhaji. Both were really good. The complimentary pappads were also tasty.
Prices were very reasonable and the staff were really pleasant and friendly.
Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singh H, Eigenaar at Taj Indian, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
Hello Simon,

We take our guests need into highest order and make everything available as soon as possible and we are pleased to know that you loved our service as well as the quality of food. Hope to see you again.

Regards,
Management,
Taj Indian Restaurant,
Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    869
    292
    65
    30
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

We were there yesterday for dinner. We chose it because its good rating at tripadvisor. It is worth our 15 minutes walking. Food was very tasty and the mango icecream dessert was great too.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lanzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singh H, Eigenaar at Taj Indian, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
Hello Lanzh,

Its very good to know that your wait was worth it after your visit to our restaurat and you had an enjoyable evening with us. We will be looking forward to your next visit. Thank you.

Regards,
Management,
Taj Indian Restaurant,
Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverness
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Probably the best Indian meal ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Stumbled across this place on the way to the Dam on our 1st day looking for a snack ended up having the best Indian meal we have ever had food delicious service great and had to go there on our last night to celebrate our anniversary only wished we lived closer as we would definately be back, well worth a visit .

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank minks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singh H, Eigenaar at Taj Indian, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
Hello Minks,

We are really pleased to know you loved to spend some time at our restaurant and glad your anniversary went smooth. We will certainly look forward to your next visit as well as your next anniversary and we promise to make it even better.
Thankyou very much.

Regards,
Management,
Taj Indian Restaurant,
Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“What a nice surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

We basically walked in this restaurant after a quick research on Google.
And what a nice surprise. This one is quite a special place. The food is delicious and the service outstanding. If you are into Indian food, go there while in Amsterdam

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singh H, Eigenaar at Taj Indian, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
Hello Frank,

Thank you for giving a good review and having pleasant evening at our restaurant. Hope you visit us again.

Regards,
Management,
Taj Indian Restaurant,
Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“find the right restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

I believe that in order to eat good food in Amsterdam you should get away from the first two circles of canals of the downtown areas. You need to pass Herengract and Keizergracht and leave behind the five dollars pizza, the cheap Thai and Argentinian restaurants. The Taj Majal is just passed the third canal and it is easily reacheable from Central Station iwth teh tram 16. The ambiance is nice. I arrived with no reservation and the person who seems to be the owner was very nice and sat me anyway. I had first a delicious set of lamb keebab and then Chicken Korma. The sauce was delicious, not too spicy or greasy but tasty. The nan bread was also very good. All the waiters were very nice even if it was pretty busy. Nobody lost control of the situation like I have seen doing in other restaurant under pressure. the area is also interesting to explore because there are nice coffe shops and other shops. I must add that the price is also right.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tobias54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singh H, Eigenaar at Taj Indian, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
Hello Tobias,

We are thrilled to have such a wonderful comment and over all good review. We are always trying our best to make our guests comfortable and serve the best food and comment like of yours, shows we are heading into the right direction. Hope to see you again. Thank you.

Regards,
Management,
Taj Indian Restaurant,
Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Indian also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Taj Indian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing