We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Biryani ever”
Review of Taj Indian

Taj Indian
Ranked #83 of 3,853 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: De Pijp
Description: We are traditional North-Indian restaurant specialist in Tandoori oven, Curry, Vegatarian, Birriani's and traditional North-Indian breads. We also have special desserts and drinks.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worst Biryani ever”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

After checking very high trip advisor ratings we went there in expectation of having authentic indian food.

Ambience:

It was crowded.We had to wait for half an hour to get a table.

Staff :

It was quite evident fromt the delay that there had shortage of staff, So it took us some time before we could order our food.We were served late.

Wifi:

Very bad, I wondered how could Amsterdam had such bad wifi, when all the restaurants, shops have such good wifi.

Food:

I ordered biryani, which I can bet was the worst i ever had.We ordered many stuff that included veg thali, kadai chicken, some mutton curry , chicken jalfrezi and they were all average,

Toilet:

It was really small and unwelcoming.

Cost:

It is priced higher and is not worth the money.There are many better restaurant such as Ganesha and kamasutra which are better in taste.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Traveller_Indian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singh H, Eigenaar at Taj Indian, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hello Mr. Trave,

Ambience:
Dear person, the time you came was during busy period but we made sure our guests comfort during their wait and delivered the best. We also added extra tables outside the restaurant to make sure it doesnt happen.

Staff:

As you mentioned it was crowded, the staff was never going to be enough but our staffs were fully dedicated to serve the guests on time.

Wifi:

We have the wifi connected in our restaurant which is equipped with modern technology and hardly ever receive any complain about it.

Food:
Try to find the correct names which were served to you and then we can work on it to make it even better for you. But the birriani is our speciality.

Toilet:
First of all, the size of the toilet should not be an issue for a single person and also we make sure it is always clean and hygienic.

Cost:
We are not extremely expensive restaurant, our prices are less than other restaurants as our quality.

We sincerely apologise that you were not completely satisfied. Please try to visit us again and we make sure everything goes perfectly for you next time.

And last, we thank you for taking out the time for mentioning what you felt wrong and we keep it in high regards.

Management,
Taj Indian Restaurant,
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    891
    300
    68
    33
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Excellent Indian restaurant”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Ate here for the first time and enjoyed it very much. Excellent service, lovely atmosphere, and delicious food. We tried an order of chicken tikka masala and chicken kadahi, along with some naan. Everything was great. I would definitely return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bk s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singh H, Eigenaar at Taj Indian, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Hi,

I would like to thank you for giving your time on rating us on behalf of all our staffs and we look forward to welcome you again in our restaurant.

Regards,
Singh,
Taj Indian Restaurant,
Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome place and great service”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Finding a place in Europe which serves Indian food with authentic taste is quite tough....This was our realisation after being here for 3 years....But Taj Mahal managed to surprise us....the food was very tasty...not just hot but spicy and flavourful....also the ambience is very nice and service is absolutely great!!! We have visited many Indian restaurants in Europe and this is amongst the top3 restaurants we have been to in Europe!!! We regularly eat at Taj Mahal and have never been disappointed!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Preeta1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singh H, Eigenaar at Taj Indian, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Hi Preeta,

We keep our customers' satisfaction in high regards and we all work hard not to disappoint you and such compliment as of yours motivate us even more to work hard on it. Thankyou!

Regards,
Singh,
Taj Indian Restaurant,
Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Just like home”
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

After a long day exploring Amsterdam, this was the perfect way to end. Great value for money-daily specials consisting of 2 mains and dessert and even free chai. Service was wonderful. Really added to our Amsterdam experience! Would come here again!

Helpful?
Thank Mikzy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singh H, Eigenaar at Taj Indian, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hello Mikzy,

Thanks for your time for complementing us here and hopefully see you again.

Regards,
Management,
Taj Indian Restaurant,
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
143 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money. There are better Indian restaurants.”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Too pricey and terrible taste. The quantity is too less and the attitude of the waiter is too much. They ask you to place entire order in one go only.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kalpesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singh H, Eigenaar at Taj Indian, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hello Mr. Kalpesha,

We are extremely sorry to make you unhappy. Try to visit us again.

Regards,
Management,
Taj Indian Restaurant,
Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Indian also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Taj Indian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing