We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent Indian restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj Indian

Taj Indian
Ranked #74 of 3,558 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: De Pijp
Description: We are traditional North-Indian restaurant specialist in Tandoori oven, Curry, Vegatarian, Birriani's and traditional North-Indian breads. We also have special desserts and drinks.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We visited this restaurant on a Friday night. It was really crowded so I would definitely recommend making a reservation.

Their menu has a wide array of choices to choose from. The food was excellent, you can see that they cook with fresh ingredients exclusively. I had the lamb karahi and my wife the prawn curry and both were excellent. I would also recommend their lassis and nans.

Service was very attentive and efficient.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Florian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    829
    279
    61
    29
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Level Contributor
133 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delicious Indian Food, great service & location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

All 11 of us really enjoyed this restaurant. The owners and staff were very accommodating, and the food was delicious. We ordered an array of appetizers and main courses and they all were perfect and flavorful. It also also nice that they served us glasses of regular water with our wine and beer as most restaurants in Amsterdam they refuse to do so.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ConnoisseurCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
575 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 464 helpful votes
“Tasty food and lively location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

The restaurant is located in a good location. The food served are tasty and able to differentiate the flavours across dishes :) which we cannot in some of the restaurants ! We were 9 of us, booked a table on the Diwali evening and had a good time. The soups were good; veg. starters were oily - samosas and Onion bhajee - can be avoided. The main course was definitely better compared to starters. The rotis, kulchas were good so as the sides. However, service could have been faster; though it was a busy day !

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karthik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
“Great Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

My wife and I ate at Taj Mahal in late October. I had the special which included Chicken Tikki and my wife ordered Lamb Birani. The food was exceptionally good! The ambience is very nice, and the service well paced and extremely friendly and professional. We highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JOHNH11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Good food, nice setting with good atmosphere. We were recommended it as one of the best indian restaurants in Amstersdam and agree that it was very good. Probably the best restaurant in the square that it is in. It is probably best to book ahead because two large groups took over the whole restaurant meaning that we could not be seated when we first arrived and had to wait.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Russell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Indian also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Taj Indian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing