We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pub”
Review of Cafe Maxwell

Cafe Maxwell
Reserve with
Cafe Maxwell is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #844 of 3,955 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Guided here by a local we stopped on the street. Great beers, lively fun atmosphere and top notch super friendly service. A great little drinkin hole! Can't really rate the food as we only had an appetizer platter which was traditional Dutch beer food. It wasn't bad just different bar snacks than we are used to. Was cool to try though.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    50
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holden, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Nice relaxed meal”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We ate here on a Sunday night while staying at the Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast. We ate outside, the only tourist among the locals. The small menu is not available in English, but we were able to figure out what most dishes were with the assistance of our friendly server. We ordered a Spinach Salad and a Salmon Salad. Both arrived promptly, were generously proportioned, were not particularly outstanding, but well prepared. The house wines were also a winner. The prices were reasonable, not overpriced tourist fare.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank westmotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Blissful afternoon with food, good music and friends”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I spent a wonderful afternoon in Cafe Maxwell on the terrace with friends eating good food and listening to soothing live music. It reminded me of how wonderful Amsterdam can be. I will definitely be going back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great food and nice staff”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

have been here many many times. very friendly staff that will do anything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. good food which is served in no time. one of my amsterdam's favourites!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tamirschabracq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent brown cafe in the East of Amsterdam”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

This is a great place for its atmosphere if you are staying near Beukenplein in the East of Amsterdam. A bit yuppie brown cafe. The food is tasty but not exceptional. There is an outside area where you can have drinks if the weather is nice. Relaxed and happy atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ferry41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Maxwell also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe Maxwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing