We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Keizersgracht 16, 1018 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Fantasia) (Plantage & the East)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #247 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Homely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

From reading previous reviews, we were expecting a tiny bedroom, but it was actually an okay size for the two of us - especially as we used it mostly for sleeping after a long day of exploring (Room 203). The room and bathroom were very clean and the maid would supply fresh towels every morning, make the bed and clean the bathroom which was very nice to come back to.

There is an affectionate cat that is always in the kitchen. The kitchen/dining room is open for use to make free hot drinks from the machine, and when we brought back left over food, they would let us store it in the fridge and we could use the microwave to reheat it the next day. The reception is open 24 hours which is convenient if getting back late and makes you feel very safe. We had breakfast buffet there on the last day - It was average but for 6 or 7 euros each we can not complain.

The only problems we encountered were that when we arrived, our room was not ready but instead of waiting the lady placed us in another room (room 203) for two nights and then moved us to our original room (404) for the last night. We preferred room 203 as it was less stairs and had it's own bathroom - 404 had a private separate bathroom a couple doors away which we had a private key for. On the first day the fire alarm went off also due to a leak but we left and went to explore to avoid it.

But taking in everything, the hotel was lovely with very friendly, helpful staff - they even let us keep our luggage there after we checked out as out coach home wasn't until the evening. Good area with a bunch of restaurants nearby including Vapianos and Wagamamas.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    167
    99
    54
    39
See reviews for
44
133
38
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

It is a very simple hotel not far from centre( about 15-20 minutes). The rooms are pretty comfortable, but too small. My room was about 10 sq.meters. The walls were too thin, so, we've heard our naigbours and they have heard us)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mprakhov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Uncomfortable beds, tiny rooms, very expensive for the service they have, smells to marihuana inside.
The personal changed the things from my room to another without noticed me before. I arrived late at night and the reception men changed me the key. Someone moved all my things into the bag I use for dirty cloth. I complained, but no one did anything, and the manager was not there in any time to talk about the issue.
DON’T go to this hotel! The worst I ever been.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Silvia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The pros of this hotel are the staff and the location. Very happy with those to aspects. I had booked a single room and prepared myself to hike up the 5 floors with my luggage. Luckily, I was upgraded to a room on the third floor with a double bed. (Although I still managed to pull a muscle coming down the stairs with my luggage.) So I'm very grateful for the upgrade. The room had a nice view of the canal and a nice little closet to hang things.

But the cons are all as noted in other reviews. The tiny bathroom was truly tiny, but manageable since I knew what I was getting into. The mold in the shower due to poor ventilation was unpleasant. Also, I heard everything my neighbors were doing through the walls. They were talking at fairly normal levels, but they talked late into the night and I had to leave the TV on all night to drown out their conversation and sleep a little. The bed was definitely the most uncomfortable part. It was basically just a box spring with no padding. I asked for an extra comforter and slept on top of it just to have something a little soft underneath me. But even that was very thin and offered little cushion. I am not very picky when it comes to hotels as long as I can get some sleep and the room is clean. But the comfort of this bed was hands-down the most uncomfortable hotel stay in my recent memory. It has potential if they could just put a little more effort into the bedding and make it a point to air out the bathrooms more efficiently.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank didoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

5 minutes away from Metro/tram. 15 minutes away from Supermarket Albert Hejin. Quiet at night and good quality bed allowed some good sleep. Hotel staff was very friendly. Free wifi, free hot drinks and electric adaptor provided are all wonderful. Very very clean room as well.

No elevators and we were staying on the fifth floor - it was quite a climb. Toilet was so small i actually had quite a lot of fun trying not to hurt myself every time i got in there. But the toilet was still very clean.

Room Tip: Recommended to everyone, except those travelling with bulky luggages or walking disability
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mingson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

The double bed is actually just a wide twin bed. Two small people could manage alright in it. Very, very poor quality mattress. Larger, taller people would be uncomfortable as space is very tight. Even small people have to sit sideways on the loo as there is maybe three or four inches between it and the wall. Lamp didn't work, window must be propped to stay open, only one electrical outlet that is no where near the bed or table. Extremely narrow winding steps, no elevator. Pleasant staff-very helpful. However, we brought our hair flat iron down to the desk to ask if we could use it there, as far as the electric conversion and all, and were told yes we could. Well, it blew out, so we are now out a $120.00 hair tool. No attempt made to help replace, or discount the room. The breakfast is wanting, and their complimentary juice is just colored sugar water. The only plus to this place is a nice staff and decent location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phenix73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#218 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Plantage
Hotel Plantage
#228 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Adolesce
Hotel Adolesce
#200 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#277 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel De Munck
Hotel De Munck
#244 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#116 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwe Keizersgracht 16, 1018 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Fantasia)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #247 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing