We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
Ranked #263 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Apart from the lack of an elevator, the hotel rooms were more than nice, comfortable and clean! Good location, coffee and tea 24h for free and free wi-fi! Value for money for sure! I suggest it undoubtly!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Panagiota L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    173
    104
    58
    44
See reviews for
46
140
40
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights.not the best place i've stayed in but not the worst.was in amsterdam on a smoking trip with friends so it was perfect for my use.just a place to chill at night.room was a nice size.i had a double to myself.my friend had a single which was small.bed and towels clean.carpet dirty.best feature is free hot drinks and the cat who was cool

Helpful?
Thank Ourlads
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reggio Calabria, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Absolutely recommended! Four strengths:
1) The cleanliness 2) The courtesy 3) The position 4) The free hot drinks to be consumed in the room. The hotel has the classic Dutch architectural appearance of the houses, and this makes it very fascinating! Cute cat owner's going to heat up the door of room 101! I will return!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erea85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is officially the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. I have stayed in youth hostels better than this place. The rooms are extremely small and not suitable for anyone who is even the slightest bit claustrophobic or even close to 6ft tall. The staff are rude and dismissive and have no interest in dealing with complaints. Access to the rooms is via a narrow winding staircase that I can not believe complies with the fire regulations of a first world country. The owners claim the hotel was recently renovated and the rooms are equipped with "state of the art furniture and technology". This is correct if you consider peeling wallpaper, threadbare carpets, a TV screen smaller than an IPAD and a ceiling you hit your head off when you stand up state of the art. I was supposedly in a twin room, but the room was so narrow they had to stagger the beds so you could walk around them. If the room was more than 2meters wide I would be surprised. In summary, I would advise against anyone staying here, don't let the supposed central location fool you, you are not getting cheap and cheerful, you are getting cheap and very nasty.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

So we booked this hotel based on the location, its close to major station but away enuf to enjoy some quiet time. The rooms are unbelievably tiny and the bathroom even more. I am quite petite, but still managing to shower without hitting elbow on the walls was a task. We got a back facing room overlooking someone's yard, which was well maintained so not so much of an eye sore; but disappointed not to get one of the canal facing rooms.
There is no elevator, if u have heavy luggage (v did unfortunately), it is quite a pain to haul it up the narrow steep stairs.
Breakfast is overpriced.
The only good thing about this place is free beverages - juice, coffee and chocolate. It was cold and hot chocolate made things just right for us. The place is clean too.

Room Tip: If you have to, ask for a canal facing room on the ground/ first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrachiNish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

When I booked I wasn't advised about the stairs. I stayed in an attic. Were about eight bids of stairs and no one helps you to rise or fall with the bags. No one can say that they offers breakfast because in fact they offer only cereals, that you have to share with a cat. at least clean and the price is good.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank betaguiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine coast
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

My friend and I were travelling around Europe and thought this looked like an upmarket and convenient hotel for a few nights. We were told it was just a 10 minute walk from the train station (more like 40) then we had to deal with no lift and narrow stairs. The room was ridiculously small and there was just a small amount of toilet paper when we arrived. Unlimited tea and coffee which was a bonus and the staff were pleasant. But we were very disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FranniA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#287 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#211 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Plantage
Hotel Plantage
#246 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hotel Adolesce
Hotel Adolesce
#190 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#280 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#250 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwe Keizersgracht 16, 1018 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Fantasia)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #263 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing