We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Official Site
$55
Vio.com
$62
Priceline
$89
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
326harrya
Preston, United Kingdom

Wow

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Nov 23, 2014
Got this place ridiculously cheap on this website, the place was like a warm, comfortable hotel bordering a hostel atmosphere with pleasant staff. Beds were changed daily and the shower/wet room's are awesome! Only 5 mins from train station too (less if you don't grab a brew from the close Starbucks!) Loved it, staying their again hopefully early next year.
Date of stay: January 2014
Trip type: Traveled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City, responded to this review
Responded Dec 7, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We'll make sure to welcome you again next year, and hopefully we can make your experience even better!

Warm regards from Amsterdam!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$120
  • Expedia.com
    $104
  • Vio.com
    $97
  • Hotels.com
    $104
1.9 miles from MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City
Free Wifi
Restaurant
travelup.com
$364
  • Vio.com
    $344
  • Agoda.com
    $334
  • Priceline
    $345
2.5 miles from MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$192
No prepayment needed
  • travelup.com
    $182
  • Agoda.com
    $163
  • Expedia.com
    $166
3.0 miles from MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$102
$76
  • Expedia.com
    $76
  • Vio.com
    $76
  • travelup.com
    $83
0.5 miles from MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City
Free Wifi
Booking.com
$277
  • Expedia.com
    $277
  • Agoda.com
    $211
  • Hotels.com
    $277
3.3 miles from MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
Booking.com
$175
$157
  • ibis
    $157
  • Expedia.com
    $157
  • Vio.com
    $157
2.6 miles from MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$72
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    $72
  • Expedia.com
    $63
  • Priceline
    $72
3.2 miles from MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$128
  • Vio.com
    $128
  • Expedia.com
    $126
  • Agoda.com
    $126
2.7 miles from MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City
Free Wifi
Booking.com
$105
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $105
  • Vio.com
    $105
  • Hotels.com
    $105
4.0 miles from MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Amsterdam
Reviews (2,651)
Filter reviews
2,651 results
Traveler rating
909
1,100
389
109
144
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
909
1,100
389
109
144
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station communal kitchen spar shop person room centre city lockers dorm students padlock euros dryer hostels
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
956 - 961 of 2,651 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and i recently spent for a 2 night stay in this hotel..it has a terrific location near a main bus / train route connecting the airport and city center near by..The hotel reception were extremely friendly and very welcoming.We found the room clean comfortable and quiet..
We totally enjoyed our stay and have no hesitation recommending..

Date of stay: November 2014
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2014

Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again!

Best regards,

Team Meininger Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2014

Clean and modern hostel in a safe area, right next to the Sloterdijk railway stop and a short (5 minute) commute to city center. The staff were friendly and helpful and led me to a totally hip, beach-like bar in Amsterdam Noord my first night there. The people I met there were really chill and friendly. My room was all early 20s but I saw some families with children there as well.

I wrote a full review on this hostel here: http://mvmtblog.wordpress.com/2014/11/19/hostel-review-meininger-amst”

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ddwchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Also, very nice to see that you took the time to share your feedback on MVMT.

We hope to welcome you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2014

PROS

The location was pretty good...right next to the train station, and city centre was only a five minute train journey.

The wifi is average (not especially fast, but not really slow either)

Smoking is not allowed inside the building, but you can smoke out front (includes weed, in case you were wondering)

CONS

Our TV didn't work

Our friends had to hang around for ages to check in as their room hadn't been cleaned yet.

I wouldn't bother getting breakfast, it is a rip off (sandwiches and cereal, with disgusting milk), you can get a nice cooked breakfast in the city centre for the same price.

The lifts kept breaking down too.

Room tip: This lifts kept breaking down when we were there (and we were on floor 7), get a lower room if you can, unless you like walking up 7 flights of stairs.
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bethan9916
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your experiences during your stay weren't as good as they should have been. We have had some issues with both the lifts and our satellite connection over the last months, but all of these have been solved. We keep improving our service to our guests, and the breakfast is certainly one of them - we will take your feedback to heart. We're glad to hear you liked our location though, being near a major public transport hub is convenient, even for ourselves!

Warm regards and we hope to welcome you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2014

Full of students and foreigners, great atmosphere, excellent buffet breakfast and good value for money. good rooms, comfortable, quiet, easy walk from the station. Bit hostel like, but made me feel young again! Excellent staff.

Room tip: High floor, but probably doesn't matter
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank K6142XZtonym
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2014

Dear guest,

We are glad to hear that you had a placent stay in Amsterdam and that you liked the atmosphere and hotel facilities. Also, great to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet.

We would be happy to welcome you again in the future!

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2014

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews