We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Really good accommodation ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Ranked #105 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Really good accommodation ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night, everything was good, really nice stuff (receptionist looks like a Beyonce!), air conditioning in room, really great shower bath, close to railway station, hotel bar, maybe could be breakfast in the price

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice comment!

We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay here with us and hope to welcome you again soon! (so you can meet our Justin Bieber and Madonna as well :))

Warm regards,

Meininger Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    708
    214
    54
    59
See reviews for
401
179
153
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

This establishment is very handy for Amsterdam Central Town as it is located near Sloterdijk station about 5 minutes walk and then a 10 minute train journey, which is a very good service or easily walkable to the Amsterdam Central (3km`s)

The check in was very easy as I prepaid and booked online at a special price of 58Euro!!!
Check in staff are friendly but don`t expect them to be Dutch!

The cleanliness levels are very high and the Buffet Breakfast excellent (you pay extra though 7.98 Euro) just get there early, I ate my Breakfast at about 6 am but by 7 am it was packed with college students on coach trips!

The room is clean and functional, the shower has good pressure with bathroom large and nice compared to English plumbing!

But I will never stay there again for the following reasons.

1. Pillows are like bags of rocks, surely they can do better!

2. Paper thin walls, so don`t expect any sleep unless you are immune to other peoples bad habits!

3. You CANNOT OPEN THE WINDOWS, so spent a sleepless night almost suffocating and gasping for air.

One night was enough, just wish the website stated that the WINDOWS ARE SEALED, as a singer it will dry your throat and suffocate you (the air con that is)
I find this a big problem in Amsterdam, Sealed Windows all over the place, so just check before booking Hotels in this exciting Town that I can say is always friendly to me.

Room Tip: If you like breathing don`t stay here! WINDOWS SEALED if you want a good room stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyLite2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for leaving your coments here, we appreciate your feedback!

We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay here but regret to read that our closed windows bothered you so much. As reception might have informed you, we work with a 24 hour air regulation system which blows fresh air (not air conditioning, that is a seperate function) into our rooms which keeps our guests from suffocating. As open windows can cause many problems for hotels in Amsterdam (smoking in the rooms, noise complaints, throwing stuff down and jumping down after a bad trip) you might understand that an air regulation system is a good alternative.

Thanks again for your feedback, we hope you have enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Meininger Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
124 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights with friends, it is located really near to the Sloterdijk station, so you can reach the centre in few minutes by metro, but also buses and trams work good. The staff was kind and helpful, room very clean and they follow a politic of enviromental sustaining, so if you want your towels to be changed you have to leave them on the floor, or they will leave you the same in order to pollute less. Moreover, you can take your I AmSterdam card here, and they apply no tax.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FalconeMatteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review!

We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Meininger Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

We wanted to do an overnight museum weekend with the kids, and this hotel fit the bill - easy train access from the central train station in Amsterdam, clean room, comfy beds, great rate for a Sunday stay with two adults, two children.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment, good to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay here!

We will be happy to welcome you again soon in any of our Meiningers around Europe!

Kind regards,

Meininger Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

I've staid there with my friends for a week, it is very clean, with comfortable rooms and great bathroom, very helpful staff, good breakfast, near the train/metro station. all you need. We liked our rooms very much and enjoyed our stay there !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SalomeGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for such a lovely comment!

We are happy that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us, hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Meininger Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

Only stayed one night but thoroughly enjoyed my stay.he rooms are clean, beds are comfortable. There is free wifi everywhere. The bathrooms are of adequate size, large shower with good hot water pressure.The is a TV with various channels(lots of dutch ones)

The staff are very friendly and there are loads of facilities to keep you busy downstairs.
Breakfast is also served but I had to leave early to make my way to Brussels at 6am.

The hotel is a bit of the distance from the hustle and bustle of the city centre, a bit too far too walk but on the good side it is right next to the train station which gets you there in about 5-10 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoaoG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review!

We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you here again soon!

Kind regards,

Meininger Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gedera, Israel
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for two nights while waiting for the flight home. Nice, clean rooms and a great shower. You have a kitchen at the entrance and can cook your own meals - was kind of fun but will appeal mostly to young people and groups. Excellent free wifi everywhere, courteous staff and low prices - what more could you want?

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Micha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your lovely review! We are happy to see that you have enjoyed our hotel so much and hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind regards,

Meininger Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#142 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#72 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Volkshotel
#46 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#110 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#126 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Property: MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Address: Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and atmosphere of the hotelThe new MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West offers a very special atmosphere for your stay: people of all different ages and origins meet here in an unusually relaxed international atmosphere. They communicate with one another, relax, work or simply take a peaceful break. Opening July 2012.Unique aspects of the hotelWe have a breath of Amsterdam flair in store for you here, with distinctive art in the lobby. With a nod to the Old Masters, details from the great works of the golden age of painting are located throughout the hotel. The 232 comfortable non-smoker rooms offer an own bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer as well as a television and air conditioning. The hotel boasts spacious public areas such as lobby, bar and guest kitchen, in which use of W-LAN is free of charge. Our lavish all-you-can-eat-and-drink breakfast buffet gives you the ideal start to your day and is available at a small extra fee. Cars can be parked in the hotel underground garage, also at a charge.Location of the hotel, surrounding area and sightsThe MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West lies in the corridor between city centre and Schiphol Airport, directly by the Sloterdijk transport hub. From here it is just a 5-minute ride with the urban railway to Centraal Station at the heart of the Old Town and ten minutes to Schiphol Airport, with Utrecht less than an hour away by train. Whether you want to travel round the canals, visit the Rijksmuseum, stroll through the flower market, have a stopover in a coffee shop or complete a business appointment, the Dutch metropolis receives its guests with welcoming openness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing