We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Small but modern and well-designed; at Sloterdijk station with easy access to Centrum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Ranked #105 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, ON, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Small but modern and well-designed; at Sloterdijk station with easy access to Centrum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights from Jul 17-19. We were a party of 2 adults and 2 children.

We chose this location based on air conditioning and free wifi.

The air conditioning worked well. It was record temperatures outside and we were cool and comfortable inside.

We were on the 5th floor by the elevators and the wifi worked pretty well.

The hotel is located a 5 min walk from Sloterdijk station. Sloterdijk is the major stop between the airport (Schipol - 10 mins away) and downtown / centrum (Amsterdam Centraal - 10 mins away). This was very convenient for us as we were in town for a short time and arrived and departed by plane. We got around primarily by train (to and from Centraal) and bought day passes. The trains came very frequently (sometimes every 1-2 mins) and were very fast. Sloterdijk is also a major tram hub so it would be very easy to get around by tram as well. The hotel is only 4 km from Centrum and rents bikes. If we weren't travelling w children we prob would have biked everywhere as there are tons of bike lanes and the terrain is very flat.

There are a lot of young people staying at this hotel and it is almost a hostel. I was a little worried about that (from a noise perspective) but it was fine. We didn't hear a thing in our room and slept well. There is a breakfast room downstairs with a guest kitchen. We didn't use either as our booking didn't include breakfast. The breakfast room converts to a bar in the evening and there are tons of young people hanging around. Certainly if you're 20 something this is a very happening place! Being 40 something and travelling with children we were a bit of an anomaly but we didn't mind.

Our room was streamlined and minimalist and clean. It was not large but had everything we needed in a compact space. There were 2 twins pushed together and 2 bunk beds. There were little nightstands each w reading lights and electrical outlets. There was a small desk. There was adequate floor space for luggage. There were little lockers for storing things. The beds were comfortable and we slept well.

Within our room there was a shower room w a large shower w an adjustable handheld shower head. There was tons of hot water and great water pressure and enough room to move around. Hair/body wash was provided. There was also a separate toilet room and between the shower and toilet rooms was a sink w a shelf for toiletries. There was also a nice hair dryer that worked well.

Overall we were very happy with our stay. The room is small but well-designed. The location is away from Centrum but it's very easy to get around.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TravellerWithTwoKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni M, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review! We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you again soon at Meininger Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Your Meininger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    706
    214
    54
    59
See reviews for
401
178
153
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

It was the best hostel I've been in my trip around Europe. Tidy rooms, excellent staff and a perfect atmosphere. I will go back to this hostel for sure!

Only one station far from Amsterdam Central....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leandro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni M, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Warm regards,

Meininger Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Room was spacious, clean, and very quiet. The staff were always around and very helpful. The hotel offered all sorts of tourist information. Hotel is situated right next door to Slotterdijk station making it very very easy to get to and from Amsterdam Centraal.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoebe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni M, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Meininger Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst backpacking round Europe. The location isn't perfect but a quick and relatively cheap train journey takes you straight to the heart of Amsterdam. The rooms were clean and well equipped and the beds comfortable. Cooking facilities and free wifi were both very useful and the staff were as helpful as they could have been. Thank you!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank nick_2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni M, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review! We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay here and hopefully see you again soon in the future!

Kind regards,

Meininger Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

At first I thought this was a horrible mistake from looking at the groups of teenagers at the reception but I was pleasantly surprised. We traveled with our teenage kids and got a room for four. It was small but very well planed, bunker beds for our 15 and 20 year old and a full size for us. The beds were amazing, so comfy we didn't mind the occasional giggles from the kids upstairs But what really put a smile on our faces was the bathroom, big, modern, clean, we loved it! The train/ trolley/ metro station is literally 3 minutes away so you can get to Amsterdam in 5 minutes, or anywhere else for that matter. It was such a breeze to get anywhere that we ventured out to other towns during our 5 day stay. No restaurants nearby but Amsterdam is so close it is not a problem.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni M, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely review!

We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at Meininger and hope to welcome you again soon in any of our hostels around Europe!

Warm regards,

Meininger Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

I visited Amsterdam on my way home from a business trip and found it difficult to find a reasonably priced hotel. The Meininger was very well priced compared with other hotels. The hotel was very clean and decorated in a modern style. The room I had while very clean was very very small; ~ 6 feet by 20 feet. However, the room did have everything you would need and really how much time do you spend in the room during vacation.

The location of this hotel is very convenient just steps away from a major train station. It is just a few stops to central Amsterdam and a few stops direct to the airport. You do pay a bit for transportation but this is offset by the cost of the room.

A few watch out for this hotel.
1. This hotel very popular with school groups. The lobby was always a bit loud and busy but I did not find the guest floor to be loud.
2. There is not much activity around the hotel. There are a few places to eat in the train station (Starbucks, quick shop) but outside of that you need to take transportation into town.

Overall, a good reasonably place to stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JANWaltham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni M, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for leaving your reply here, we hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would be happy to see you again some other time!

Kind regards,

Meininger Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#142 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#72 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Volkshotel
#46 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#110 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#126 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Property: MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Address: Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and atmosphere of the hotelThe new MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West offers a very special atmosphere for your stay: people of all different ages and origins meet here in an unusually relaxed international atmosphere. They communicate with one another, relax, work or simply take a peaceful break. Opening July 2012.Unique aspects of the hotelWe have a breath of Amsterdam flair in store for you here, with distinctive art in the lobby. With a nod to the Old Masters, details from the great works of the golden age of painting are located throughout the hotel. The 232 comfortable non-smoker rooms offer an own bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer as well as a television and air conditioning. The hotel boasts spacious public areas such as lobby, bar and guest kitchen, in which use of W-LAN is free of charge. Our lavish all-you-can-eat-and-drink breakfast buffet gives you the ideal start to your day and is available at a small extra fee. Cars can be parked in the hotel underground garage, also at a charge.Location of the hotel, surrounding area and sightsThe MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West lies in the corridor between city centre and Schiphol Airport, directly by the Sloterdijk transport hub. From here it is just a 5-minute ride with the urban railway to Centraal Station at the heart of the Old Town and ten minutes to Schiphol Airport, with Utrecht less than an hour away by train. Whether you want to travel round the canals, visit the Rijksmuseum, stroll through the flower market, have a stopover in a coffee shop or complete a business appointment, the Dutch metropolis receives its guests with welcoming openness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing