We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Ranked #92 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great accommodation ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

This hotel/hostel is great for a city break in Amsterdam. Be aware it is not in the city centre and you will have to get a train into the city. It takes 5 mins and there arw very regular trains to/from Sloterdijk station which is about a 2min walk to the entrance of the hostel. We had a 6 bed female dorm which was large, spacious, modern and had comfortable beds. The toilet and shower are seperate which is very useful! The only downside is that the windows don't open and although there is fresh air being pumped into the rooms, it would be nice to have a flow of fresh air coming through the windows. Especially when people in your room have a cold...

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank haychcee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review! We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you at any of our other Meiningers in the future!

Warm regards from rainy Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    632
    178
    43
    54
See reviews for
350
158
136
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

The Meininger Hotel was a nice hotel, clean, and with friendly staff. For the price, it was worth the stay however the location was not ideal, or close to main attractions. The location is great for business, however does require train use to get to the downtown core (6-8 minute train ride away). Also about 15 minutes away by public transport to the Heineken Experience.

Room Tip: When booking ensure to ask about beds which are not single beds, especially if traveling as a couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STEVE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We hope to welcome you at one of our Meiningers some other time!

Kind regards,

Meininger Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Hotel Meiniger straddles the border between being a hotel and a hostel, which might put some people off but we quite enjoyed the liveliness of having lots of young travelers in the bar and there were never issues of noise or rowdiness once we went to bed. Our room was clean and large and it was quite funny having a set of bunk beds in the room. I suppose it would normally be for four. The hotel has great transport links. You can get to the airport or central station in about 10 minutes or catch the bus or tram from directly outside. The staff were helpful when we asked them for help and advice although one guy gave us completely incorrect information about the canal boat tour so double check! The internet is really bad though.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABBIOSBISTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are aware of the wifi issues that we have. We are working on them at the moment.

We hope to welcome you here again in the future!

Warm regards,

Meininger Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Stayed here in a group of 7 for a stag weekend. Location wise, the hotel is about 5 minutes train ride from central station. It's directly outside the station so extremely convenient.

When we first checked in there was another group of males who were here for a stag weekend (about 30 of them) but our check in was handled quickly and efficiently. Remember that hotels in Amsterdam charge local tax on top of the normal rate.

The rooms we stayed in (2 rooms, one could sleep 4, the other could sleep 6) were clean and spacious. The bathroom is split in the room, the shower and toilet are behind two different doors, meaning when sharing a room, one person doesn't take up the whole bathroom.

One complaint I had would be that the beds and pillows weren't that comfy. But they did the job for our 3 day weekend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottish_Steveo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review! We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay at Meininger and hope to welcome you and your friends again in the future!

Warm regards,

Meininger Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has the rooms of a hotel and are very clean and modern but the atmosphere is that of a hostel. It's only a few minutes walk from the Amsterdam sloterdijk train station which is a main stop. It's just a 5 minute train ride to Amsterdam Central which you can walk to everything from or catch a tram. Trains go every 7 minutes. Breakfast was good and always had sports playing on their flatscreen TVs.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Campbell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you once more at your next stay in Amsterdam.
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck
Level Contributor
287 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here during a business trip due to good airport and city connections as well as good price. Overall was fine for two nights. Evenings lounges are full of kids so our group decided to stay in town most of the time. Internet also did not really work.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank CanadaAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you soon again in Amsterdam.
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsinchu, Taiwan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Don't go unless you want to spend €94.93/night to get a wet bed and futon along with strong urine smell and sufferr whole night with none of their staff to come up to clean. Even worse, the promised refund of their operation manager also didn't happend, they remain charge you whatever they had promised. it is a cheating!
By the way, I stayed 2 nights in total, normally hotel won't bother to ask you to change room even your bookings are 2 separeted orders. However, I was asked to change room in the 2nd day, you could learn how lously their management is.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MengFang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your review, we have been in contact already personally as well as by e-mail and were given the impression that we have successfully solved the complaint for you. Please kindly get in contact with us if you would like to have further assistance or if you have any questions.
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
3.8 mi away
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#130 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,412 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Amsterdam City West
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#111 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,287 reviews
4.0 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#46 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#69 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Urban Lodge Hotel
Urban Lodge Hotel
#91 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Property: MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Address: Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and atmosphere of the hotelThe new MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West offers a very special atmosphere for your stay: people of all different ages and origins meet here in an unusually relaxed international atmosphere. They communicate with one another, relax, work or simply take a peaceful break. Opening July 2012.Unique aspects of the hotelWe have a breath of Amsterdam flair in store for you here, with distinctive art in the lobby. With a nod to the Old Masters, details from the great works of the golden age of painting are located throughout the hotel. The 232 comfortable non-smoker rooms offer an own bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer as well as a television and air conditioning. The hotel boasts spacious public areas such as lobby, bar and guest kitchen, in which use of W-LAN is free of charge. Our lavish all-you-can-eat-and-drink breakfast buffet gives you the ideal start to your day and is available at a small extra fee. Cars can be parked in the hotel underground garage, also at a charge.Location of the hotel, surrounding area and sightsThe MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West lies in the corridor between city centre and Schiphol Airport, directly by the Sloterdijk transport hub. From here it is just a 5-minute ride with the urban railway to Centraal Station at the heart of the Old Town and ten minutes to Schiphol Airport, with Utrecht less than an hour away by train. Whether you want to travel round the canals, visit the Rijksmuseum, stroll through the flower market, have a stopover in a coffee shop or complete a business appointment, the Dutch metropolis receives its guests with welcoming openness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing