We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next to train station, comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Ranked #108 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2014

+ close to train station, breakfast only €6, free good wifi, comfy rooms, pretty quiet for being next to railroad, very quick connections to Amsterdam central

- bit slow on checkout (too few people working), nothing specific

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you once more at your next stay in Amsterdam.
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,989)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

738 - 744 of 1,989 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2014

I stayed at this huge hotel with three friends to spend a couple of days in Amsterdam. Apparently we picked up a bad weekend because most hotels were booked and prices skyhigh - including at this hotel located in the outskirts of town (just next to a P+R parking lot), but we had no choice.
The place is very big and was crowded, i.e. it took a long time to ask for info at reception, breakfast was stressful (but excellent buffet) with too many people and big groups, long wait for the lift. The quadruple room was ok but had not been dusted properly and my bed (the top of a bunk bed) had not been made "for security reasons". For the price we paid I found that ridiculous - if you cannot ask your cleaning ladies to do it, why should I? And most importantly, why offer it?
On the plus side, good and free wifi everywhere, luggage room, vicinity to the parking and smiling staff - but overall I'd rather stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vetcla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you very much for your review, we highly appreciate your feedback in order to improve our services.
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Meininger city west is located right next to the sloterdijk metro station. You won't miss it because there is a big signboard showing you the direction as you step out of the train station. Walking there would be nearer if not because of the construction in between the station and the hotel. Nonetheless, it is still a less than 10 minutes walk alongside the main road to reach the hotel entrance.

The reception area is brightly and colorfully decorated. There is pair of wooden clogs in front of the elevator area if you want to snap a photo. Entering the hallway to the rooms is brightly lit and quiet. The quadruple room that we stayed in is just nice in size and as per the photo on booking.com, with a double bed and a bunk bed. There isn't any view from the room as it is facing an office block, but that's not an issue for us.

Overall, a good stay. Just remember to take the train if you are coming from amsterdam central because it is just 2 stops away, while metro takes a longer time to reach.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherynng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

During the stay in Holland, I lived in MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West. We booked a double bed room, but we did not get the type of room. Instead, we got a room with four beds in it as in a dormitory. The entire space was smaller. The frontdesk did not even tell us when we checked in. We asked the staff. The staff told us in a rude manner that MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West did not have the kind of room to give us. He even sarcastically mentioned that they have upgraded the room to four-beds.
Besides, the curtains of the room were dirty, with food stains. The clothes hangers were broken, with nails exposed. I have asked the front desk as well as housekeeper to clean and fix the problem, but they did not do it at all.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sammi08191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you very much for your review, we highly appreciate your feedback in order to improve our services. We take your complaint very seriously and are happy that you took the time to inform us about this matter, so that we are able to react and investigate immediately.
Your remarks and suggestions are more than welcome and allow us to introduce changes, wherever necessary.
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed here for King's Day which meant the price of the hostel was pumped up exceedingly (59 euro per night/per person). This was a bit extreme but unfortunately there was not much of an option. Its location is very good, right next to the train station and breakfast was fantastic for 6 euros. We stayed in the hostel section and the rooms themselves are very spacious, with powerpoints next to each bed and ensuite toilet and shower. The bathroom facilities are very basic but the room is very new and clean. Great quality for a hostel, would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMary93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you once more at your next stay in Amsterdam.
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I booked a single room for one night at Meininger Hotel, the room is small but is just right for 1 person, I was surprised by its cuteness, brightness, cleanness, and the high quality of its bath room design. Very useful tourist information can be found at front desk, the staffs are friendly, speak good English, and keen to help. My stay was excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lulichio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

We'd like to thank you for your kind comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you indeed again in Amsterdam!
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I stayed in this hotel in Apr 2014 for 2 nights. The hotel is just next to Amsterdam Sloterdijk which is on the right after you exit from the station, less than 1 minute walking distance It is well connected with tram, train and metro. I find it very convenient to get to the city.

I stayed in double room with 2 twin beds. The size of the room is acceptable although not spacious. It is what i expected. The room is very clean. The hotel is also well furnished by kitchen where you can find washing machine, dryer, microwave etc.

I will book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SookWee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you very much for your comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam!
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Park West
#64 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,996 reviews
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
#156 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,509 reviews
XO Hotels Blue Square
#163 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Address: Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $64 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and atmosphere of the hotelThe new MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West offers a very special atmosphere for your stay: people of all different ages and origins meet here in an unusually relaxed international atmosphere. They communicate with one another, relax, work or simply take a peaceful break. Opening July 2012.Unique aspects of the hotelWe have a breath of Amsterdam flair in store for you here, with distinctive art in the lobby. With a nod to the Old Masters, details from the great works of the golden age of painting are located throughout the hotel. The 232 comfortable non-smoker rooms offer an own bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer as well as a television and air conditioning. The hotel boasts spacious public areas such as lobby, bar and guest kitchen, in which use of W-LAN is free of charge. Our lavish all-you-can-eat-and-drink breakfast buffet gives you the ideal start to your day and is available at a small extra fee. Cars can be parked in the hotel underground garage, also at a charge.Location of the hotel, surrounding area and sightsThe MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West lies in the corridor between city centre and Schiphol Airport, directly by the Sloterdijk transport hub. From here it is just a 5-minute ride with the urban railway to Centraal Station at the heart of the Old Town and ten minutes to Schiphol Airport, with Utrecht less than an hour away by train. Whether you want to travel round the canals, visit the Rijksmuseum, stroll through the flower market, have a stopover in a coffee shop or complete a business appointment, the Dutch metropolis receives its guests with welcoming openness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing