We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel, great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Ranked #116 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hostel, great food”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed here for King's Day which meant the price of the hostel was pumped up exceedingly (59 euro per night/per person). This was a bit extreme but unfortunately there was not much of an option. Its location is very good, right next to the train station and breakfast was fantastic for 6 euros. We stayed in the hostel section and the rooms themselves are very spacious, with powerpoints next to each bed and ensuite toilet and shower. The bathroom facilities are very basic but the room is very new and clean. Great quality for a hostel, would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMary93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you once more at your next stay in Amsterdam.
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    813
    260
    67
    70
See reviews for
477
200
170
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I booked a single room for one night at Meininger Hotel, the room is small but is just right for 1 person, I was surprised by its cuteness, brightness, cleanness, and the high quality of its bath room design. Very useful tourist information can be found at front desk, the staffs are friendly, speak good English, and keen to help. My stay was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulichio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
We'd like to thank you for your kind comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you indeed again in Amsterdam!
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I stayed in this hotel in Apr 2014 for 2 nights. The hotel is just next to Amsterdam Sloterdijk which is on the right after you exit from the station, less than 1 minute walking distance It is well connected with tram, train and metro. I find it very convenient to get to the city.

I stayed in double room with 2 twin beds. The size of the room is acceptable although not spacious. It is what i expected. The room is very clean. The hotel is also well furnished by kitchen where you can find washing machine, dryer, microwave etc.

I will book this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SookWee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam!
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We opted to stay in the hostel part of this hotel to save money but we were pleasantly surprised at just how nice the rooms are. It was nothing like the usual dormitory style hostel rooms full of people, it was a regular Meininger hotel room that you just so happened to share with other people (rooms of 4). It was very modern, clean, nice showers, sufficient plugs and offered lockers for travellers to use if they had their own padlocks!

The hotel itself is not in the main city, but far cheaper than staying in the main city. It's very close to the train station which takes you into town.

I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
We'd like to thank you for your kind comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you indeed again in Amsterdam!
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We stay here for 2nights in family or 6beds dorm room the room is large, modern and comfortable. Toilet and shower ensuite are clean. Reception is very helpful. The location is very good ,short walk from Sloterdijk station only 2stops to Schiphol airport and 1stop to Amsterdam centraal.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cindy_Sineepun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you once more at your next stay in Amsterdam.
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 2nights and was very impressed by it. The Hotel was modern & clean, it had a good atmosphere, the staff were very nice and helpful. It is slightly out of the city so expensive for taxis but there is a train station 2mins away from the hotel which runs to the city regularly, but it does not run past 1am. I would defiantly recommend this hotel for young & old people. I will be staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BodrumBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam!
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

The Meininger Amsterdam West is next to Sloterdijk station which provides regular trains to Amsterdam and many other cities.
Room was modern, well designed and clean. I will certainly stay here on my next trip to the city. Great value hotel

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cmalone857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#141 of 367 in Amsterdam
910 reviews
Volkshotel
#40 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,298 reviews
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#94 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#77 of 367 in Amsterdam
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Property: MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Address: Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and atmosphere of the hotelThe new MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West offers a very special atmosphere for your stay: people of all different ages and origins meet here in an unusually relaxed international atmosphere. They communicate with one another, relax, work or simply take a peaceful break. Opening July 2012.Unique aspects of the hotelWe have a breath of Amsterdam flair in store for you here, with distinctive art in the lobby. With a nod to the Old Masters, details from the great works of the golden age of painting are located throughout the hotel. The 232 comfortable non-smoker rooms offer an own bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer as well as a television and air conditioning. The hotel boasts spacious public areas such as lobby, bar and guest kitchen, in which use of W-LAN is free of charge. Our lavish all-you-can-eat-and-drink breakfast buffet gives you the ideal start to your day and is available at a small extra fee. Cars can be parked in the hotel underground garage, also at a charge.Location of the hotel, surrounding area and sightsThe MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West lies in the corridor between city centre and Schiphol Airport, directly by the Sloterdijk transport hub. From here it is just a 5-minute ride with the urban railway to Centraal Station at the heart of the Old Town and ten minutes to Schiphol Airport, with Utrecht less than an hour away by train. Whether you want to travel round the canals, visit the Rijksmuseum, stroll through the flower market, have a stopover in a coffee shop or complete a business appointment, the Dutch metropolis receives its guests with welcoming openness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing