We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Ranked #110 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stay here for 2nights in family or 6beds dorm room the room is large, modern and comfortable. Toilet and shower ensuite are clean. Reception is very helpful. The location is very good ,short walk from Sloterdijk station only 2stops to Schiphol airport and 1stop to Amsterdam centraal.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Cindy_Sineepun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you once more at your next stay in Amsterdam.
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,988)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

746 - 752 of 1,988 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 2nights and was very impressed by it. The Hotel was modern & clean, it had a good atmosphere, the staff were very nice and helpful. It is slightly out of the city so expensive for taxis but there is a train station 2mins away from the hotel which runs to the city regularly, but it does not run past 1am. I would defiantly recommend this hotel for young & old people. I will be staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BodrumBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you very much for your comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam!
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

The Meininger Amsterdam West is next to Sloterdijk station which provides regular trains to Amsterdam and many other cities.
Room was modern, well designed and clean. I will certainly stay here on my next trip to the city. Great value hotel

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Cmalone857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I stayed at the Meininger hostel in Brussels...again in Amsterdam for 2 nights (both times in mixed dorms) ..and loved it, rooms are Very clean, modern, smart (e.g. desecrate reading lights, power points and bedside tables in the bunks so as not to disturb others in the room) the staff are friendly and helpful, the breakfast in the morning is a must, i also used the laundry and kitchen here in Amsterdam and it was great, the hotel/hostel is in a pretty good location, its right beside the train station and is a really easy 3 min train trip to the middle of town .. so great in-fact that ive just booked in to the Meininger's in Germany, Austria and London for when i will be there... great place for families, couples, business travellers and a must do for back packers!
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

We'd like to thank you for your kind comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you indeed again in Amsterdam!
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I stayed in the Meininger Hotel with my classmates and we have been great! I loved my room and my bed was comfortable! The food wasn't bad, I liked it! I found another guys from different parts of the U.E. who were with they classmates also!
I want come back!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Constanza P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

We'd like to thank you for your kind comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you indeed again in Amsterdam!
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Brand new hotel, clean and in a strategic position to reach the center of Amsterdam and the Schiphol's Airport. 2 stops from Amsterdam Central Station which is only 100 mt from the famous Dam's Square. Good service. Staff always smiling and helpful, it never hurts!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank d3d0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you very much for your comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam!
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

My first impression when i got into the room was 'This is a good one' until we open the bathroom, it really smelly, so we did complain to the staff, they said they already check it but it still smell so bad, so we live in 6 days of bad smell, even though this hotel has a nice kitchen and breakfast area, and the wifi is quite bad from our bed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarissaNavita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Thank you very much for your review, we highly appreciate your feedback in order to improve our services. We take your complaint very seriously and are happy that you took the time to inform us about this matter, so that we are able to react and investigate immediately.
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Park West
#64 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,997 reviews
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
#154 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,507 reviews
XO Hotels Blue Square
#162 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Address: Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $62 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and atmosphere of the hotelThe new MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West offers a very special atmosphere for your stay: people of all different ages and origins meet here in an unusually relaxed international atmosphere. They communicate with one another, relax, work or simply take a peaceful break. Opening July 2012.Unique aspects of the hotelWe have a breath of Amsterdam flair in store for you here, with distinctive art in the lobby. With a nod to the Old Masters, details from the great works of the golden age of painting are located throughout the hotel. The 232 comfortable non-smoker rooms offer an own bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer as well as a television and air conditioning. The hotel boasts spacious public areas such as lobby, bar and guest kitchen, in which use of W-LAN is free of charge. Our lavish all-you-can-eat-and-drink breakfast buffet gives you the ideal start to your day and is available at a small extra fee. Cars can be parked in the hotel underground garage, also at a charge.Location of the hotel, surrounding area and sightsThe MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West lies in the corridor between city centre and Schiphol Airport, directly by the Sloterdijk transport hub. From here it is just a 5-minute ride with the urban railway to Centraal Station at the heart of the Old Town and ten minutes to Schiphol Airport, with Utrecht less than an hour away by train. Whether you want to travel round the canals, visit the Rijksmuseum, stroll through the flower market, have a stopover in a coffee shop or complete a business appointment, the Dutch metropolis receives its guests with welcoming openness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing