We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good Room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Ranked #99 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

My first impression when i got into the room was 'This is a good one' until we open the bathroom, it really smelly, so we did complain to the staff, they said they already check it but it still smell so bad, so we live in 6 days of bad smell, even though this hotel has a nice kitchen and breakfast area, and the wifi is quite bad from our bed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarissaNavita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you very much for your review, we highly appreciate your feedback in order to improve our services. We take your complaint very seriously and are happy that you took the time to inform us about this matter, so that we are able to react and investigate immediately.
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    666
    198
    47
    58
See reviews for
388
163
142
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, Scotland
Level Contributor
172 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

During our recent trip to Amsterdam, we decided to stay at the Meininger Hotel for two reasons;
- the cheap price of the rooms
- the proximity to the railway station

Staff were very polite on arrival and pointed out discount cards the hotel has made available for all customers. They also offered us the option of adding breakfast which we decided against in order to save more money and were given the key cards to our room.

The room was plain and simple but very, very clean...there wasn't a single piece of dirt noticeable! Beds were quite uncomfortable as one was a stiff as a board and the other was, well, very soft in comparison! Duvet was additionally uncomfortable but very clean...the sheets were pure white! The toilet was a reasonable size and everything worked perfectly.

However, sleeping was a slight problem due to the noise level of other vacationers the first night and the continuous trains all night long...definitely not good if your a light sleeper.

Overall, in terms of clean and convenience, this is the perfect hotel for you however, it lacks peace and comfort.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jfizzable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam!
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

My friends and I booked a quadruple room at this hotel through its official website at a decent price. Arriving at the hotel was pretty easy as it is next to Amsterdam Sloterdijk station which was only one stop from Schiphol Airport by train.

The room itself was spacious and well-equipped. Our quadruple room had two single beds that were joined together, and a double decker bunk bed. The room resembled a private hostel dorm room and had lockers to lock your belongings, and separate toilet and shower rooms that were ensuite.

The first major disappointment I had with the room was that the top bunk bed's bedsheets were not laid and was merely folded and placed on the bed. It is obviously difficult to lay the bedsheets for the top deck and it simply suggests that the housekeeping staff were too lazy and could not be bothered to do it. Even basic hostels would have laid the bedsheets for the guests, and this is simply unacceptable for a hotel. The top deck was also missing a bath towel, which was not replaced the next day and we had to request for one from the reception. Note also that none of our towels were changed over the course of 4 nights, and the only housekeeping done was pretty much folding our blankets.

Apart from the poor housekeeping, everything else was fine. The shower was good with hot water readily available and the toilet was clean. There was a television with many channels (including English ones) available and hangers as well. We did not have breakfast at the hotel, but it looked like it was the standard buffet spread. Travelling to Amsterdam Central was easy as well since it was simply one train station away (~5 minute), or alternatively there is a tram that goes there in about 10 minutes as well.

I would recommend this hotel as the rooms and location were good for its price, but do note that the housekeeping may not be up to par with what you would expect from a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharingan90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it.
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I stayed here during my recent trip to amsterdam. i was travelling solo and had booked a single room for myself. the room was extremely clean and warm. It was a bit small but compact with everything that you need conveniently located in the room. Meininger has a 24 hour front desk with very helpful staff. while leaving i had a really early morning train, the staff helped with my luggage till the train station (very rare in europe). Breakfast was an all you can eat buffet which was filling with enough choices. the only downer is that this hostel is a little far off from the city. it is right next to the train station however the GVB pass is not applicable on the sprinter trains and hence you had to buy a ticket every time. GVB has a bus which you can take from near the hostel with a decent frequency. Also there were not too many restaurants around in case you came back late and needed to have dinner etc
apart from that the hostel was very good

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pooh_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam!
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We found this hostel to be very clean, fairly cheap and with good access to the city centre. If we returned to Amsterdam, we would definitely stay here again and we have recommended it to everyone we know who is going to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beckie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam!
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Just got back from a group trip .Hotel gave us all we needed . easy access from airport . just a 15 min train ride and very close to the train station. Although there are no shops or bars nearby the trains run until 1 am and just 4.20 euros gets you a return train ticket into Amsterdam Central station with trains running every 3 mins or so.
The hotel does have a little of a hostel feel as it is very popular with groups of young people. Having said that it is very modern and spotlessly clean.and was quite with not much noice made by other guests all were very well behaved. Rooms are adequate with hair-dryer and complimentary toiletries. and very very clean . with comfy beds. Breakfast of 5.90 euro's pp was excellent value with good choice continental style.

Only gripe was the 2 nights we spent there the bar was closed between 4pm to 11 pm so we could not even get a cup of coffee when we returned after a busy day and evening in the city. No coffee making facilities in the room. You can use the kitchen kettle at the bar so take your own coffee/tea etc.,
all in all though perfect for our 14 strong group of 40/50 yrs olds. would definatley use again.

Room Tip: we were on the side of the train track but noise is minimal .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank dennymac287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam!
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

A great hostel with everything you need nearby. Tram service is brilliant and regularly running.

Great value for money, very clean rooms, friendly staff and not too far from the city centre. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you indeed again in Amsterdam!
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#138 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 813 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#76 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#302 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Volkshotel
#43 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 874 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#119 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Property: MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Address: Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and atmosphere of the hotelThe new MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West offers a very special atmosphere for your stay: people of all different ages and origins meet here in an unusually relaxed international atmosphere. They communicate with one another, relax, work or simply take a peaceful break. Opening July 2012.Unique aspects of the hotelWe have a breath of Amsterdam flair in store for you here, with distinctive art in the lobby. With a nod to the Old Masters, details from the great works of the golden age of painting are located throughout the hotel. The 232 comfortable non-smoker rooms offer an own bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer as well as a television and air conditioning. The hotel boasts spacious public areas such as lobby, bar and guest kitchen, in which use of W-LAN is free of charge. Our lavish all-you-can-eat-and-drink breakfast buffet gives you the ideal start to your day and is available at a small extra fee. Cars can be parked in the hotel underground garage, also at a charge.Location of the hotel, surrounding area and sightsThe MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West lies in the corridor between city centre and Schiphol Airport, directly by the Sloterdijk transport hub. From here it is just a 5-minute ride with the urban railway to Centraal Station at the heart of the Old Town and ten minutes to Schiphol Airport, with Utrecht less than an hour away by train. Whether you want to travel round the canals, visit the Rijksmuseum, stroll through the flower market, have a stopover in a coffee shop or complete a business appointment, the Dutch metropolis receives its guests with welcoming openness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing