We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Ranked #107 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with 26 students on a school trip to Amsterdam we were so pleased with this hotel
Wonderful service front desk staff we re so efficient and friendly
Rooms wonderful v comfortable bathrooms huge
We ate breakfast and dinner and were v pleased with it
Would definitely recommend

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank ruby2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,970)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

766 - 772 of 1,970 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

Checked into this hotel for the second time, stayed for a week and everything was just lovely. First of all, we arrived at 8am which was very early for a check-in but not only did they manage to get us a room immediately, they were also very friendly and helpful! The room itself was perfect for us and at a very reasonable price. The room, sheets and toilet were all very clean too. Housekeeping staff does a really good job in keeping everything spic and span.
- The reception staff are not only friendly and knowledgeable, they try their best to accommodate to your needs. They have a wide range of brochures and maps for tourists and first time travelers. You may also rent a bike from the reception.
- Room was very clean, toilet had hot powerful showers all day long and they offer daily room service.
- Location is convenient as it is located just beside Sloterdijk station which takes about 10 minutes to the Centraal station. The hotel is located at a very peaceful neighbourhood (mostly offices around) so by 6pm everything is just peaceful so it's awesome for light sleepers.
- At about 5 euros they offer a decent breakfast with bread, ham, cheese, coffee, tea etc. Nothing too fancy though.
Overall, a very pleasant stay and HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. Would return, definitely. Hope this helps.
Cheers.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yunloong C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

We'd like to thank you for your kind comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you indeed again in Amsterdam!
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I stayed here for one night. From Amsterdam centraal you can take train to amsterdam sloterdijk. It cost you 2.6 euro per person (when you buy the tickets at counter-probably it will be cheaper if you buy at ticket machine). The hotel is just next to the sloterdijk station. From there as well, you can take metro to places of attraction. The room was nice, clean and tidy. The bed is nice and really comfort. When your flight or train is later than checkout time, you can still stayed at their cafe with free wifi or if you intent to walk around, you can leave your luggage at their luggage room which is very systematic. You can also cook at their guest kitchen. Except their counter service, everything was perfect. Recommended to all.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azura d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

We'd like to thank you for your kind comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you indeed again in Amsterdam!
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Hotel was very nice and clean.
Very good location (1 bus or train to town. Takes around 15-20min to get there)
You won't find any pubs around if you like go out before sleep you have to travel by bus/train.
I tried to have few drinks downstairs but I was waiting with other travellers around 15-20min before someone came to the bar.

Room Tip: make sure you are having locker with you if you sharing a bedroom. It's hard to buy it around th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank as03021987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you soon again in Amsterdam.
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night on an impromptu trip to Amsterdam.
Location is good- next to Sloterdijk station which is 10 mins from Schipol and 5 from Amsterdam Central on NS intercity.
Check in was very very slow. 2 people on the desk and not a huge influx of guests, yet I was waiting there for at least 10 minutes before being served.
I was in room 108. It was very warm and the temperature control did little. No furnishing to speak of, an uncomfortable bed and a thin and rough duvet.
Ensuite was odd. Huge space but decorated like a school toilet! Shower was a hole in the middle of the cold slippy tiled floor.
Overall I wouldnt recommend the hotel, yes it is cheap but even so, it isnt good value. To compare- it is considerably lower quality than a Travelodge, for a higher price.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank AlexJ262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you very much for your review, we appreciate your feedback in order to improve our services.
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Very good place to stay in. Me and my mates went to Amsterdam to celebrate my mates bday last week. Fantastic connection via train to the city centre, very nice staff, friendly and kind.
Definitely would come back!
Recommended!

Room Tip: 525, brilliant view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

We'd like to thank you for your kind comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you indeed again in Amsterdam!
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The hotel is located very near to Slotterdijk Metro and Train Station (3 minutes walk), where easy to get train towards Amsterdam Centraal every a couple minutes. The surrounding atmosphere is quite comfortable and quiet. The room is simple and clean. The hotel staffs are always busy with visitors, so it is quite difficult to ask some helps. The internet connection is always going slow (stuck) after 8 pm. Generally, it is okay and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pahala_Silalahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you soon again in Amsterdam.
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Blue Square
#164 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,010 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#65 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,973 reviews
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
#154 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,936 reviews
Volkshotel
#39 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Address: Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $68 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and atmosphere of the hotelThe new MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West offers a very special atmosphere for your stay: people of all different ages and origins meet here in an unusually relaxed international atmosphere. They communicate with one another, relax, work or simply take a peaceful break. Opening July 2012.Unique aspects of the hotelWe have a breath of Amsterdam flair in store for you here, with distinctive art in the lobby. With a nod to the Old Masters, details from the great works of the golden age of painting are located throughout the hotel. The 232 comfortable non-smoker rooms offer an own bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer as well as a television and air conditioning. The hotel boasts spacious public areas such as lobby, bar and guest kitchen, in which use of W-LAN is free of charge. Our lavish all-you-can-eat-and-drink breakfast buffet gives you the ideal start to your day and is available at a small extra fee. Cars can be parked in the hotel underground garage, also at a charge.Location of the hotel, surrounding area and sightsThe MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West lies in the corridor between city centre and Schiphol Airport, directly by the Sloterdijk transport hub. From here it is just a 5-minute ride with the urban railway to Centraal Station at the heart of the Old Town and ten minutes to Schiphol Airport, with Utrecht less than an hour away by train. Whether you want to travel round the canals, visit the Rijksmuseum, stroll through the flower market, have a stopover in a coffee shop or complete a business appointment, the Dutch metropolis receives its guests with welcoming openness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing